We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful weekend”
Review of Wanslea Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wanslea Guesthouse
Ranked #19 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful weekend”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

A great stay in a welcoming and warm environment only 5 minutes from town centre.
Great breakfasts which set us up for the day's walking.
Would definitely recommend!!!
We spent 2 nights in very comfortable themed room. It was spotlessly clean with a bright bathroom with a whirly bath.
There were plenty of goodies on the tea tray to warm us up after walking and a good sized tv to view.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    78
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
323
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at Wanslea for a long weekend at the end of September - the guest house is perfectly located for exploring the local area and the owner (Richard) and his daughter (Stephanie) were both very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the rock & roll room, which was perfectly clean and comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic and the ideal start to a long day of hiking! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Wanslea is a great base from which to explore the local area.

The bedroom was a good size, well furnished, very clean & very comfortable.

Breakfast each day was served promptly & was delicious with a good range of options.

Richard, the manager, was friendly, courteous and helpful.

I would highly recommend Wanslea.

Room Tip: We stayed in the four-poster bed room, which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in a double ensuite room for 3 nights during half term hols. Spotlessly clean room with a lovely comfortable bed. Great breakfast all cooked fresh and plenty to choose from. Great location within easy walking distance of town centre. Great value for money. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends.
Thanks to Richard & Steph.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mish13-03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed in the Arabian room. Enjoyed the stars! Lovely hot water for the spa bath and a very comfortable bed.
Wonderful views from the windows from the room, and a great central location.
The breakfast was fantastic and a great choice was available. I was able to choose a variance on the full English.
The staff were really friendly and attentive. Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogz75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booked 2 nights in the African themed room as a break from work. The room was lovely and spotlessly clean, the bed was so comfortable and the spa bath great. The gentleman who owned the b&b did everything he could to make the stay stress free. Breakfast was lovely all cooked fresh and you could have whatever you wanted. Great rates. Great location.
Would definitely stay again and would definitely recommend to friends.

Room Tip: take comfortable walking shoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa42girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Short stay en route to Scotland, great location, clean and welcoming b&b, great value for money. Breakfast was lovely and plenty of it. Stayed in the Africa room, spa bath was really relaxing after full days walking. Would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
1.8 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wanslea Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanslea Guesthouse

Property: Wanslea Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wanslea Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Wanslea Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanslea Guesthouse Hotel Ambleside
Wanslea Guesthouse Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing