We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location if you have a dog close to the park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Gables Guest House
Ranked #48 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“good location if you have a dog close to the park”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

been to quite a number of B&B's in Ambleside would say this is average. Room ok however no chair near mirror to dry hair had to kneel on the floor as lead from hairdryer not longer enough if stood up. No heating in bathroom and a little chilly however great to be able to have a bath after a decent walk, Another thing about the room no windows to open and lots of condensation,. However this wouldnt put me off staying here again. Food really nice.

Room Tip: as we had a dog we had a pet friendly room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deblufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
30
108
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I decided to book a couple of nights in the lakes to do a bit of walking and get out with my camera. Looking for a single room to avoid paying over the odds as a solo traveller was tricky but I stumbled on The Gables which turned out to be exactly what I needed. The guest house is tucked down a side street away from the main centre but within very easy walking distance i.e. 5mins and this suited me perfectly to be close to the action without having to put up with any noise.

The room was very small but that was fine for a solo traveller. It was always warm and cosy, spotlessly clean with a single bed, a little TV above the bed, a desk, tea and coffee facilities, a wardrobe and a private ensuite.

Breakfast had a good selection with a small buffet of cold items and then a la carte hot items.

Overall an excellent guest house which I'd definitely stay in again. The 1 mark down is purely for the fact that I found £50 a night to be pretty high for a single room (but then everywhere in the lakes is like that).

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank donnalovescheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Very welcoming and friendly guest house.right in the village so near all the shops and cinema.Clean and warm. and they served large breakfasts. They were helpful with printed routes for walking in the area

Room Tip: If you have elderly people ther is no lift but there are ground floor rooms. they also take well beh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2012

stayed there in November for 1 night, however, just wanted to share that its been a convenient stress free stay. the room was great and clean and very warm (really appreciated since it was freezing outside!) with a lovely full english in the morning. would definitely recommend and would stay again, great location too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at this guest house, the rooms are lovely and clean and the staff are very warm and friendly and make you feel really welcome, the breakfast was lovely and the stff in the breakfast area are nice also, the only thing I would say is breakfast could be a little later and longer as it is only from 8.30-9.15, good if you are good at getting up early, not so good if you go out the night before... excellent guest house though all the same and we would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_Marie_79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stay:- 24 Oct - 27 Oct 2012.
Just spent 3 days bed and breakfast at The Gables at Ambleside. First off the guest house is ideally place on the south edge of the town with easy walking access into the town. Just 15 minutes walk to the south is Lake Windermere. The double room I had was bright and clean and the bed linen/douvet spotless. All very nice even though the en-suite was a little dated.
Breakfast was great! Juices, grapefruit, peaches, prunes all on offer. Numerous cerials on offer followed by a very well prepared English breakfast of eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, mushrooms, hash brown and black pudding. Enough to keep my wife and I going all day without needing lunch.
The staff were very sociable and helpful - service with a smile!
I highly recommend this B&B and will certainly stay here again.
Steve Machin from Stafford

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelFletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed one night at the Gables, hoped to stay longer but local triathalon had all rooms booked. Great location, minutes walk into the main street, lovely views of the hills and park.The rooms were modern, bright and spotless. Breakfast great. Staff extremely helpful in providing directions and onlin sites for accommodation searches for our ongoing journey. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.0 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Cambridge Villas
3 Cambridge Villas
#63 of 103 in Ambleside
112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#38 of 103 in Ambleside
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
3.8 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gables Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gables Guest House

Property: The Gables Guest House
Address: Church Walk, Ambleside LA22 9DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gables Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Gables Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gables Guest House Hotel Ambleside
The Gables Guest House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing