We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have asked for anything more!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Ranked #11 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
“We couldn't have asked for anything more!”
Reviewed June 26, 2009

Through the wind and the rain, George and Ann couldn't have been more friendly, warm and welcoming. The rooms were gorgeously decorated with every need catered for, and the location was superb, closely situated to all the local amenities and walks (with grateful thanks to George for all his helpful suggestions and advice!).

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    64
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
41
482
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Loved this bed and breakfast. It is right in the centre of Ambleside within a minutes walk to loads of cafes, a park with crazy golf, tennis courts, boules etc and 2 independant cinemas. Within 5 minutes walk there is a free secure carpark and plenty of quaint shops and pubs. (The Queen's Hotel do a great 3 course meal for £9.95) George and Ann, who run Hillsdale, are lovely and cheerful and very efficient. They do a gorgeous cooked breakfast, including a veggie option, as well as fruit, cereals and toast which lasted us through to dinner time and was included in the price. Our room was clean and modern and had a view of the hills. Would definitely recommend it. Really enjoyed our holiday and hope to go back again soon. Alison and family :) x

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovin-the-Lakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2009

The Hillsdale offers beautifully modern, very clean and cozy rooms with fantastic views, but that's just the beginning... George and Anne are the most welcoming, helpful and informative hosts with nothing too much trouble. Breakfast is delicious with an excellent choice - the perfect start to a long days walking, cycling or just exploring the beautiful countryside in and around Ambleside. And, on top of all this, you can spend a relaxing day at a local leisure club free of charge - facilities include pool, jacuzzi, hot tub, sauna and steam room, plus discount in the excellent restaurant at the club overlooking Lake Windermere.

Thanks for an excellent stay.

Carolyn & Damien

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damehephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Had great weekend staying at Hillsdale. Great location in Ambleside, lovely modern room, lovely breakfast and great service. The leisure club with its outdoor hot tub was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestEndTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2009

We stayed for 4 nights in March 2009 and got a very warm welcome. We are regulars, having stayed at Hillsdale about 5 or 6 times now and George and Ann are very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast is really good - there is a good selection with a full English breakfast and/or cereal and plenty of toast, filter coffee, tea, orange juice etc.

Rooms are really cosy with flat-screen televisions in them and all en-suite.

The B&B is also in a brilliant location - right in the centre of Ambleside with great restauants and pubs all around and close to many walks.

We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Me, my Girlfriend and our 5 year old Daughter have recently returned from a fantastic stay at Hillsdale. George gave us all a great welcome when we arrived late Friday evening. The room was lovely with modern decor with a fantastic view.

The snow had fallen the day before and it was very cold out, but fortunately the good heating, comfortable beds and cozy atmosphere made it a pleasant stay.

Breakfast the following morning was great! Smaller options were available but we all went for a generous full English breakfast with stacks of Tea & Toast! George and Ann served this up lightening quick.

George is very knowledgeable on the surrounding area and was happy to make walking route suggestions for us to suit our little girl.

We'd recommend this place to anyone, which is exactly what we did... Whilst leaving the B&B one morning a couple were in the street looking at the different places available to stay. We recommended Hillsdale, the next morning they were eating breakfast with us.

We've only stayed in a few different places in the lakes but this one has definitely came out on top. Our next visit we'll be staying back at Hillsdale!

  • Liked — Staff Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Spuduliker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

This was an amazing stay me and my boyfriend went on friday till sunday there are loads of stuff to do, we went to keswick for the day on saturday lovely drive down.
We also went to the christamas lights on the saturday and watched brill fireworks. also you get free passes to the leisure club just out of ambelside there a 6ft swimming pool, jaccuzi, and hottub, inbetween the changeing rooms was a power shower, suna, steamroom, plunge pool witch was fab. i would reccomend this b&b to anyone, its a must go and see.
The oweners george and ann are really friendly and helpfull, they made are stay delightfull.
thankyou hannah and nick x

  • Liked — friendly staff, gr8t food, leisure club, atmosphire
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vernxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.0 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale in Ambleside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale in Ambleside

Property: Hillsdale in Ambleside
Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillsdale in Ambleside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Visit Britain 4*Bed and Breakfast property, with free off-road parking for each room, is conveniently situated in Ambleside town centre in the very heart of the English Lake District, Wainwright's Walking Country. The beautiful waters of Windermere, Rydal and Grasmere are within easy walking distance as are the historic homes of Wordsworth, Ruskin and Beatrix Potter. Each room has been individually styled - as the B&B has been created from an original Lakeland Stone townhouse, so typical of Ambleside, no room is the same shape or size, but we hope that each one is as comfortable, attractive and pleasing as the next! All rooms have either a double or king sized bed, newly refurbished en-suite shower room and flat screen TV. Hospitality trays, hairdryers, wine glasses and corkscrew come as standard. Free wi-fi is available. Prices include a selection of breakfast choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hillsdale in Ambleside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale In Ambleside Hotel Ambleside
Hillsdale In Ambleside Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing