We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillsdale in Ambleside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Ranked #5 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights just after the Easter bank holiday. We were greated with a really warm welcome from George. This B&B is lovely, rooms are really cozy and very clean with wonderful views. George and Lindsey are great hosts, George advises on any walks guests may be interested in and Lindsey on places to eat. Breakfast was lovely and set us ip for the day. We usually try and get upto Ambleside at least twice a year and will definitely be staying here again!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are really pleased to see that your stay at Hillsdale was a good one. We just wanted to say a big THANK YOU to you for taking the time to post such a positive review on here for us. We would love to see you again some time - George and Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    61
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
450
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for only one night in April, we stayed in room 8 which was right at the top of the house. The room was very clean and well appointed. Shower worked well and the decor was to a high standard throughout the establishment. Breakfast in the morning was of a good standard and you could request whatever cooked breakfast you prefered. Also a small selection of cereals/fruit/yogurts. There was also fresh tea/coffee made to order and orange juice available. The B&B is conveniently located for all the shops/pubs/restaurants in Ambleside and the proprieter was very helpful giving directions/suggesting things to do. Off road parking is available, although a 5 min walk from the property itself. Elderly guests may struggle with the stairs as there are no rooms on the ground floor. Our stay was reasonably priced for the level of service/accommodation recieved. Overall a very clean/modern B&B right in the heart of Ambleside. Perfect for couples looking for a relaxing break in the lakes. I would definatly reccomend 'Hillsdale' to a friend/family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank exploding_drummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
It is a real pleasure to see the lovely feedback you have given here on Trip Advisor. We just wanted to say how grateful we are to you for taking the time to do this. Many Thanks! It was a pleasure to meet you George and Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the first moment our hosts made us very welcome. The room, decor and cleanliness were all first rate. A really good breakfast set us up for the day and the excellent location was close to great restaurants and pubs. There are superb walks from Ambleside itself enabling you to take advantage of the free parking provided by the guest house. Definitely a ten out of ten!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaySki7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Wow! Many thanks for writing such a lovely review for us on here and for all your lovely comments. It was lovely to have you stay with us and hope you will return to stay again some time. Thanks again - George and Lindsey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March, the whole place is spotlessly clean. The rooms are done to a very high standard. The breakfasts are lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We will definately be going for a return visit. The off road parking is very good. We would definately recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for posting such great comments on here for us. We are delighted to see that you had such a good time staying with us and would love you to return some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for a snowy weekend (in March!) The room was big and really nicely presented. George and Lindsay were really friendly and the breakfast was delicious. We will certainly be booking again. The off road parking was great too.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1- it has a king size bed and the bay window at the front. It was a lovely room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_umfre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We would just like to say thank you so much for your great review and positive feedback on here. Reviews such as this make our job so rewarding. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed for one night at the Hillsdale and we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we stepped foot through the door. It is a great location and parking was included, which makes life easier! Our room was lovely and cozy and the en-suite bathroom albeit small, was modern and very clean. The breakfast was excellent. Altogether, a very enjoyable night and would definitely recommend this to anyone! I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kerry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We are really pleased that you had such a good time staying with us at Hillsdale and just want to say a big thank you to you for posting such a lovely Review for us. We hope you will come to stay with us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here for just one night. Wished we could have stayed longer. Excellent location, all restaurants and pubs etc within a few minutes walk. The room was spotlessly clean, with modern furniture and comfortable bed. Would definately recommend this B&B and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HillsdaleAmbleside, Owner at Hillsdale in Ambleside, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Just to say a big THANK YOU for your lovely comments on here! It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we would be delighted to see you again if you do make a return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#8 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.3 mi away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale in Ambleside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale in Ambleside

Property: Hillsdale in Ambleside
Address: Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hillsdale in Ambleside 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming Visit Britain 4*Bed and Breakfast property, with free off-road parking for each room, is conveniently situated in Ambleside town centre in the very heart of the English Lake District, Wainwright's Walking Country. The beautiful waters of Windermere, Rydal and Grasmere are within easy walking distance as are the historic homes of Wordsworth, Ruskin and Beatrix Potter. Each room has been individually styled - as the B&B has been created from an original Lakeland Stone townhouse, so typical of Ambleside, no room is the same shape or size, but we hope that each one is as comfortable, attractive and pleasing as the next! All rooms have either a double or king sized bed, newly refurbished en-suite shower room and flat screen TV. Hospitality trays, hairdryers, wine glasses and corkscrew come as standard. Free wi-fi is available. Prices include a selection of breakfast choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hillsdale in Ambleside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale In Ambleside Hotel Ambleside
Hillsdale In Ambleside Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing