We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like coming home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cherry Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Garth
Ranked #99 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like coming home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My umpteenth stay at the Cherry Garth, lovely to see the same cheery faces at the desk when everywhere else in Ambleside seems to be up for sale or just sold...
Fab breakfast as always, lovely addition of fresh fruit and plenty of it, rounds of toast, nothing seems too much trouble!
Our room was smashing, clean and welcoming, the front garden was fabulous in the warm weather and we love not having to hunt out car parking because of the onsite parking.
See you next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallgreendragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    58
    49
    30
    15
See reviews for
14
133
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Cherry Garth for two nights (5/6th Aug). We found the b&b was in a great location, on the main road heading out of the village towards Windermere. Ambleside town was only a short walk away and had plenty of shops to browse round and pubs / restaurants offering a wide selection of cuisine. We stayed in room 14 on the ground floor past the reception desk. The room had a four poster bed, would recommend the frame is tighten as its a little wobbly. The decor needs a lick of paint and the bathroom needs modernising. Although there was a Jacuzzi bath it was dated and badly scratched. The sealant around the bath needs taking off and replacing as it looked as though the mouldy sealant had just been covered over several times unsuccessfully.
The breakfast menu offered a wide choice and was tasty, cooked to order and produce of a good quality.

Was it worth the money? I d say regrettably no,I have paid less for more.
4 star not sure maybe a good 3 star at the moment.

On a possitive staff really friendly and helpful.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkBradshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was extremely disappointed with the Cherry Garth. We only stayed in the standard rooms and paid £80 a night however it was not worth it. If we had stayed in one of the 'superior' rooms which I believe were around £135 a night, I would definitely have walked out. The whole place is extremely out-dated and of very poor quality. The floorboards on the top floor were so creaky, the people next door actually woke me up as it was so loud. The bathroom was awful- I didn't even bother trying to have a shower on the last day as the water pressure was pathetic. The breakfast was ok- the plates were always watery from the poached eggs which made everything else soggy. Little things like that aren't hard but make a massive difference!! Good choice of cereal and fruit juice.The worst thing about this place was the fact you have to eat your breakfast in absolute silence! It is a really strange set-up- there is no radio, music, tv etc. in the breakfast room, just the sound of other people crunching their toast and slurping their tea. In fact I couldn't stop laughing as it was just so awkward. Very very weird place- the location is god but I would definitely recommend you spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelp2917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ambleside hotels

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This is the Third time we have stayed here and I have got to say we were really disappointed the room was ok but the bathroom was poor you couldn't use the shower (low water pressure) the breakfast was truly dreadful we asked for poached eggs on toast not the biggest request, what did we get? Two tiny poached eggs on top of Two slices of less than half toasted soggy brown bread what a let down we won't be staying again!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
Thank fuggles1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just had 4 days at Cherry Garth. Had an excellent time. Breakfast was very good and we could basically choose whatever we wanted to set us up for the day. Room was clean and a good size. Plenty of on-site parking also. Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aligrimshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Cherry Garth is on the main road into the town but well back and above the road noise. Lovely welcome and nice room up in the eaves. The view was lovely. Town and lake 5 to 10 minutes walk with plenty of pubs and restaurants at hand. Amy and Viv who run the establishment are lovely and treat you like one of the family. Breakfast is cooked once asked for so there is no bulk tasteless food here. Lovely stepped gardens also a children's area, fish pond and a roaming pet rabbit. There is also off-road free parking.
A good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from spending a weekend with our dog at Cherry Garth, June 2013. The location is perfect for Lake Windermere and the ample free parking a real bonus. However everything else about Cherry Garth is a disappointment. We stayed in room 10 in the attic which I take to be one of the 4 rooms where dogs are allowed.Seemed a little foolish to allocate rooms at the top of the building for this purpose as obviously they need to be taken out first thing in the morning and last thing at night and could be most annoying for other guests. We read the information book which stated that refurbishment had been in progress since the owners had taken over. Not obvious in our room which was very old fashioned and grubby. I thought polystyrene ceiling tiles were a fire hazard and against fire regulations in a B&B! The TV so small almost impossible to view from the bed. The floorboards creaked so much we could hear the couple in the next room moving about. The bathroom is very 70's pink suite and odd tiles. Ours was a standard room and I assumed that this type would be last in line for a refurb. However, next morning in the dining room, it was obvious that the whole building needs to be completely re-vamped if they are to continue to charge top rates. Breakfast selection was good and service very quick, excellent poached eggs. I was surprised to find that the total for our 2 night stay £144 had been charged to my debit card in November 2012 for a June 2013 reservation, a little cheeky I thought. I don't think this establishment warrants 4 stars at all and we will not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
High Dale house
High Dale house
#73 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Central
Ambleside Central
#102 of 103 in Ambleside
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#36 of 103 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Garth

Property: Cherry Garth
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Garth is a 19th-century traditional Lakeland house situated in Ambleside village in the heart of the Lake District. Cherry Garth is family owned and run by sisters Amy and Viv and is superbly positioned less than five minutes walk from both the centre of Ambleside and Lake Windermere. Guests benefit from a sunny south-westerly aspect with wonderful views over the surrounding Lakeland fells. We have a large private car park at the bottom of our garden, just off the main road into Ambleside. Cherry Garth is a non-smoking house which welcomes well behaved pets. We have 11 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster, deluxe and family sized rooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities and flatscreen TV with built in DVD. The landscaped garden features level lawns, attractive sitting areas, an ornamental pond and a wide variety of mature flowering shrubs and bushes. The house and garden are floodlit each evening, allowing guests to take in the view and watch the sun setting whilst sitting outside enjoying a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Garth Hotel Ambleside
Cherry Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing