We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 2 night stay, lovely room, ideal location.”
Review of Cherry Garth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cherry Garth
Ranked #100 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Great 2 night stay, lovely room, ideal location.”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, we were a bit worried and arrived at Cherry Garth not expecting much, we arrived around 2pm and we were checked in quickly and shown to our room on the second floor(room 10)and we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was lovely, a large velux window with a fantastic view of the mountains, wrought iron bed, stone feature wall, white furniture and wicker chairs & a spacious clean bathroom, teas/coffee/hot choc & ovaltine replaced everyday, even a hairdryer was in the drawer, and a powerful heater in the wardrobe if you got cold. We had to wonder if we just hit it lucky and got a 'good' room or if the people writing the bad reviews were just extremely picky, but we happened to see another couple of rooms whilst they were being cleaned and they were equally as nice as ours if not even nicer. The rest of the B&B was nice & clean, the carpets were spotless, nice furniture, the breakfast room especially was lovely, with a big fireplace, fish tank and summer-doors giving a great view of the garden where you could sit with a drink on the couch looking out. There were lots of free leaflets about Ambleside and the lakes, walking advice etc. The B&B is situated just a 5-10 minute walk from the town centre if you turn right, where you'll find lots of pubs and restaurants, or if you go left when leaving the b&b you'll reach the lakes, again in 5-10 minutes so it really is situated in the ideal spot. We left and came back to change etc several times during the day/night and I loved the feeling that you weren't in anyones way and could come and go as you pleased, I haven't felt like this in any other b&b before. The breakfast was delicious and I liked the fact they catered for vegetarians too with veggie sausages, cereals, pastries, fruits & yogurt. It was heavy snow during our trip which only added to the beauty of the area, we would love to stay at Cherry Garth again in summer, and I genuinely can't understand the bad reviews!

Room Tip: Room 10 was lovely, great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichelleMGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    58
    49
    30
    15
See reviews for
14
133
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at Cherry Garth and whilst the facilities are reasonable (breakfast v good) they are not exactly disabled friendly. I have mobility problems and told them but was on 2nd floor i.e. 2 flights of stairs. A man with 2 walking sticks was also on 2nd floor!!! Also DO NOT like the idea of dogs in bedrooms. The locatiin is brilliant and it was easy to find. We complained about our duvet cover and I think we upset the owners??? The food choices were very good the service was reasonable and would recommend it for able bodied visitors

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great pet friendly guest house. Loverly location ideal for Ambleside just minuets from village centre and lakeside, friendly welcome and service. Our room (11) right by entrance was perfect for us and 2 dogs which need regular exercise. Being close to door we did not disturb anyone going out at 6.30 to give them a run around the lake. Might add great views etc good breakfast choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manmyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

A nice little bed and breakfast.
ample free parking.
we stayed in a standard room which was fine - a little dated but we didnt mind. the only downside is that we were on the top floor and it had skylight windows and we couldnt see out.
dog friendly which was a huge bonus.
great location on the edge of the town.
would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chioggia22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoyed a March, 2 night break in Cherry Garth. Its a friendly family run guest house and its very clean, central location. Good parking and lots of nice restaurants nearby. Would definately recommend. Nice breakfast and easy to find. Back ground music would have been nice at breakfast time and the shower wasn't very powerful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bluewarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely hosts. Great location. Cosy standard room on top floor with impressive views . very clean. Good breakfast with great service could benefit with some background music at breakfast to create a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calderfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

As a regular visitor to Ambleside my husband and I were looking forward to 2 good days of hiking and restful nights. Although Cherry Garth is very well located with ample car parking, this is really the only positive comment I can make.
We had to pay for minimum 2 nights and booked a "superior" room. Room 12 had a 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath - hah! The bed was quite literally 4 posts - no curtains or canopy, just 4 wooden posts. The pillows were so hard I ended up putting the decorative cushions in the pillow cases and the springs came through the mattress preventing any sleep for either of us.
Although the room was superficially clean, it was on the ground floor and the net curtains stuck to the damp window frames.The carpet was heavily stained, as were the chairs. The whole décor was very shabby and the jacuzzi bath had huge chunks of enamel missing. There were no ceiling and wall lights and the "atmospheric" table lamps were of such dark fabric that I had to remove the shade to read in bed.
After a night without sleep we asked to be moved to another room. Room 5 in contrast was spacious and light and airy with lovely views. It still had a rather uncomfortable mattress but did at least look like someone had recently decorated. I would not have wanted to pay over £100 for it (as we were forced to).
The breakfast room was rather tired and drab, but the breakfast selection was very nice and the service was good. We did not have a cooked breakfast, but others seemed to be enjoying it.
Overall, I would not recommend this establishment. If it was advertised as a 3 star B&B with that sort of pricing, with new mattresses it would be reasonable, but it is certainly not up to the 4 star quality it charges for.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueD766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ambleside hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Diamond Lodge Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
156 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Garth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Garth

Property: Cherry Garth
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cherry Garth 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cherry Garth is a 19th-century traditional Lakeland house situated in Ambleside village in the heart of the Lake District. Cherry Garth is family owned and run by sisters Amy and Viv and is superbly positioned less than five minutes walk from both the centre of Ambleside and Lake Windermere. Guests benefit from a sunny south-westerly aspect with wonderful views over the surrounding Lakeland fells. We have a large private car park at the bottom of our garden, just off the main road into Ambleside. Cherry Garth is a non-smoking house which welcomes well behaved pets. We have 11 en-suite bedrooms including four-poster, deluxe and family sized rooms. All rooms have tea & coffee making facilities and flatscreen TV with built in DVD. The landscaped garden features level lawns, attractive sitting areas, an ornamental pond and a wide variety of mature flowering shrubs and bushes. The house and garden are floodlit each evening, allowing guests to take in the view and watch the sun setting whilst sitting outside enjoying a drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cherry Garth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Garth Hotel Ambleside
Cherry Garth Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing