We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fisherbeck
Nearby Hotels
$222
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$163
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$251
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (596)
Filter reviews
596 results
Traveler rating
434
121
31
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
434
121
31
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomspa bathwoodside cottageporridgesmoked haddocklake districtboiled eggshotel is spotlessly cleanbreakfast menubreakfast was excellentbreakfast stafffantastic breakcar parkshort walklovely loungeleave your carhigh standard
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 596 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Why do we come back?
Quality, cleanliness, superb staff and excellent value for money. We have had accommodation in the hotel and also the adjacent cottage neither of which can be faulted. Ray and Jillian are perfectionists and it shows, from the superb breakfasts efficiently served to the quality of the hotel itself. Nothing is to much trouble for them and the staff.
A big well done. Already booked for next September.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Awesome Experience!! Fisherbeck is truly a jewel in Lake District. A very cozy B&B with wonderful rooms and excellent Food. The staff is extremely helpful and always keen to assist the occupants. They serve delicious breakfast which u can always look forward too. The simple need of every day (coffee) is freshly brewed and helps kick start your day on the right note. The Ambelside village add its own charm with very good restaurants nearby that u can enjoyable a memorable dinner. Ask the staff for recommendations, they are spot on.
Definitely one of the best places that we have stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkhilLalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Having read the reviews on trip advisor I felt sure this hotel would be great and I wasn't disappointed. Our room was on the top floor and a bit difficult to reach with bags etc but the staff were very helpful and this wasn't really a problem. It was great to have such easy parking although be careful if trying to make a right turn out onto the main road as you need to edge out slightly to get a clear view.
The room was great, breakfast superb and overall we have a marvellous, relaxed stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlynhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We booked this hotel as part of our lake district honeymoon based on reviews, and were glad we did! Our room (number 20) seemed newly refurbished - modern and clean, comfy bed, and a spa bath! All very nice.
Friendly welcome when we checked in, and help/tips if needed, such as restaurant bookings.
Breakfast was superb - we really liked the choices, with a 'starter' and 'main' (we had porridge, lake full breakfast and muffins (freshly made - yum!) all were delicious! The girls serving were lovely, very polite and efficient, a credit to the hotel.
the parking was welcome - did seem to get busy with people blocked in, but since we left our reg with reception assume this works?
great location - out of the busy windermere and bowness, perfect walking distance into ambleside for food/boat cruises.
Only downside...didnt stay longer!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

My wife and I booked into the Fisherbeck on the back of the many great reviews on Tripadvisor and weren't disappointed. It is perfectly situated just 5 minutes away from Ambleside Town Centre, yet still nice and quiet. The room was clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful when asked any questions. Breakfast was superb (especially the porridge with whisky-soaked sultanas) and really helped set us up for a nice long walk around Loughrigg. We'd definitely revisit Fisherbeck on our next trip up to the Lakes!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hatfield2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews