We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
469
128
31
9
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
469
128
31
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden roomfiltered waterspa bathporridgelake districtsmoked haddockmr and mrscar parkbreakfast menubreakfast was excellentbreakfast staffhigh standardfamily roomlovely bathroomself cateringa lovely staysingle room
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 639 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2015 via mobile

We were lucky to stay in one of the newer rooms attached to the hotel. Tastefully decorated, lovely bathroom, the only criticism would be the bed mattress was a bit hard and the bed could have been bigger, but these are only minor. Breakfast was excellent, local produce, tasty and great service. Our friends were in the main hotel, the rooms were more old fashioned, and the shower small, but they seemed to be satisfied. Only 5 minute walk to the centre of Ambleside, it's a good location with parking.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Moray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is much appreciated.

The Garden Rooms are particularly popular, I think because of the space that they provide and the outside seating is a plus point. We find that the weather only has to be dry for folks to take advantage...not even warm or sunny...dry will do.

Our beds are made in Cumbria by Sealy and are all king size. We have long since realised though that we are all used to something different at home and we each have our own preferences. So I do apologise if this wasn't yours.

We do however hope you will think of us again should you be planning another trip to the English Lake District. We would certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

With kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2015

It's a bit more expensive than some B&Bs but you get what you pay for. The staff are friendly and attentive, the rooms are a nice size and well decorated and maintained. The breakfast is waitress served and of a high quality. We'll be back next time we visit Ambleside.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Johncobham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

Thank you very much indeed for your very kind review. It is much appreciated.

We do try very hard indeed to provide a consistently high standard of service, cleanliness and a hearty breakfast which cannot be achieved without cost so as you said, and we trust was the case, that "You got what you paid for".
Our staff, we feel, are incredibly good at what they do and we certainly could not do this without them.

Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you back to The Fisherbeck when you next plan a trip to the Lake District.
With kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015

Just got back for our usual 4 night September visit, As always the location and the staff were excellent and our usual Garden Room preference didn't disappoint. We had the added bonus of the weather being well in our favour. No matter how much time we have spent at this location there is always something new to see and places to visit. The breakfasts have always been excellent and the continental breakfast served in our room on our last day exceeded our expectations.

Well worth staying there and the owners are always willing to assist you with any queries one may have. Thanks to all for yet another enjoyable visit. See you next June.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hazel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

Dear Mr & Mrs D.

Thank you so much for writing your review. We do so very much look forward to your visit each year and we know how much you enjoy staying in room 14, but all the Garden Rooms are very popular.

Glad you enjoyed breakfast in your room on the last morning. You might want to do that again in June.

Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next year.
All the very best.
Gill & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at The Fisherbeck for 2 nights (Friday and Saturday) Free parking at the front but spaces at a premium. Very friendly welcome and lovely room. Staff all very professional and friendly. Amazing view from the rooms private balcony. Breakfast was of a high standard with a lot of variety. Brilliant location, 5 minutes drive to Lake Windermere to the left of the hotel and 5 minutes drive to the centre of Ambleside to the right of the hotel. Would definitely stay again. Highly recommend :-)

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank MarcRedfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2015

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated. We do try to do a good job but it makes all the difference when people tell us. Our staff particularly appreciate gusts comments and we could not do this without them.

We do have wonderful views of the surrounding fells from all of our front facing rooms. We have been a part of this building now for 36 years and we never tire of it. The balcony rooms in particular are very popular. A bit of outside private space is always a bonus and especially enjoyable during recent weather conditions.

With thanks again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2015 via mobile

The service is excellent .
Breakfast menu is extensive and waitress service . Your preferred type of milk is placed on the table . Nothing is too much trouble .
Lovely lounge with views of the fells and reasonably priced drinks from the bar £4.20 for a large glass of wine .
They do not serve meals other than breakfast but sandwiches and either a smoked salmon or cheese platter are available . Again reasonable prices at £4.50 for sandwiches and £9 for a salmon platter .
Bed very comfortable .
Shower lovely.
Wifi ( free ) available throughout hotel . Some guests reported weak signal in their rooms .
I would recommend a room with a balcony at the front .
Will definitely go again .

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank ChorleyWiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fisherbeck, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2015

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate it.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your weekend away and we would very much like to welcome you back to The Fisherbeck if you are planning another trip to The Lake Disttrict.

Kind regards
Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews