We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fantastic Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Bluntisham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Another Fantastic Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from another fantastic stay at the Fisherbeck. This time we had my parents with us. As ever the greeting we had from all the staff was excellent. Both rooms were very good with great views of the fells and the breakfasts were incredible. As an added bonus the weather was stunning too which can be unusual for this part of the country. In all it was a fantastic break and we are already looking forward to another return visit soon.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyandJayBracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    105
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
59
343
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

Young couple for 3 night walking break; good location , parking was a hassle and on arrival staff not hospitable, we had no tour of building, were not made aware of details such as housekeeping times, check out times etc. From looking online the expectations of the room were greater than the room we got; at the back of the building against a road with regular traffic and passers by,also glass bottles collected for recycling at 6.50am.
Were not made to feel comfortable by staff, luckily we were able to walk in to Ambleside rather than spending excessive amount of time in hotel.
Understandably for price paid expectations were not ridiculously high, but were still not met.
Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amberhcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic stay at the Fisherbeck. The staff including the breakfast ladies were excellent and the breakfast was wonderful. We did a long crag walk and asked that the breakfast flapjacks were wrapped for lunch. They were as good as lembas for the walk. Would definitely recommend for anyone wanting to stay in Ambleside - great parking too!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJSS501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Just returned from our 4th stay at the Fisherbeck and the standard is every bit as high as the first. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. The room was lovely with a comfortable bed and white fluffy towels. The breakfast is outstanding with plenty of locally sourced well cooked food. The service is excellent. The Lite Bite menu is excellent with a good choice of toasties, cheeseboards, desserts and teas and coffees. The hotel is in an excellent location-
10 minutes from the town centre and 10-15 minutes from the pier. Raymond and Gillian, the owners, and their staff go out of their way to make a very enjoyable stay for their guests. We would have no hesitation in recommending The Fisherbeck to our friends and family and will certainly return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AyrshreMonachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We go to Ambleside often but have never stayed at the Fisherbeck before, having searched online for a family room for four we chose this hotel, largely based on reviews. On arrival the proprietor gave us a warm welcome and showed us to room 19 at the top of the house, there was an enormous picture window with fabulous views over the mountains, he explained how everything worked and took the time to explain what to do if we wanted towels changing or more filtered water etc.. And what time breakfast was. He then offered to help with our bags. The weekend we stayed the hotel was fully booked but staff made you feel as if you were the only guest. The room was spotlessly clean with a large double bed and two full size single beds, all had fantastic mattresses and we're very comfortable. The breakfast menu at the Fisherbeck was extensive and between the four of us we tried out most combinations. The waiting staff were faultless attentive and friendly, the whole event ran like a well oiled machine. We all agreed that they were some of the best breakfasts we had eaten . Little touches like cloth napkins and good quality tea and coffee, locally produced food and beautiful preserves. We stayed on a 3 nights for the price of two which made it good value. There are many great walks direct from the hotel and staff are happy to advise you of these. We also used the hotels passes for Langdale spa swimming pool, Raymond the proprietor very helpfully drew me a map and talked me through how to get there, despite being incredibly busy. On checking out from the Fisherbeck we were told if we wanted to leave the car in the car park that would be fine. The most important thing for me when staying away from home are comfort, cleanliness and service, this hotel has that and way more. On route home the hotel actually rang me to tell me I had left something behind and offered to post it the following day. All in all a fantastic hotel which I would highly recommend .

Room Tip: Room 19 for a family of four was perfect, with views to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

From first arriving at the Fisherbeck you get the feeling of being welcomed, everyone is really helpful.
Stayed in lovely spacious ground floor room, en-suite bathroom with both bath and shower and after a hard walk in the hills is great.
Breakfast to die for with a large selection on offer plus some tasty specials.
A couple of minutes walk sees you in the town for a selection of good pubs and restaurants (Dodds a must)
Thanks again for another lovely weekend.
Mike & Alison

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

A recent reviewer stated the Fisherbeck had no '"Wow." That is not surprising. It is tradional with all the touches that speak of extra value. Service is at the fore and the Breakfasts are very high quality. Warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the Fisherbeck has polite, welcoming staff who go out of their way to help, in our experience. Great value for money and with free parking and quiet location near the centre it is an ideal base.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kandersteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing