We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a property which thinks its a hotel, but in fact it's a pretentious bed and breakfast. We would not recommend it to anyone who is used to hotel accommodation. There is no help with luggage when you book in and very little attention to guest requirements.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for writing your review.

I have learnt over the many years we have been here at The Fisherbeck that we don't please everybody all the time despite our best efforts. Our front of house staff are trained to ask everybody who checks in if they would like assistance with their luggage and I would say that this is done almost always so I do pass on my most sincere apologies if you slipped through the net. It will certainly be a subject we will address at our next training meeting.

Your comments have been noted and action will be taken.
Thank you again.
Kind regards
Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    109
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
356
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

What can I say what a lovely hotel in fantastic location few minutes too the central of ambleside and few minutes too the pier if u like a boat trip.

The staff are very attentive to your every need they cant do enough for you the rooms are very homely comfortable and the spa bath is excellent after a good walk on the fells. The breakfasts are fabulous ( especially the cheese scone special ) all in all a fantastic 2 night stay with the wife for our anniversary we will be back this year sometime a big thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniepaul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you had an enjoyable anniversary weekend. No doubt this fantastic weather we have had recently added to the overall experience.

Thanks also for your comments with regard to breakfast and the staff. We do pass your comments along and they are very much appreciated. Rachel, our wonderful manager is the queen of scones, but if you want to try them at home it is a Jamie Oliver recipe!!!!

All the very best & kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

As soon as we pulled into the car park we were greeted by Ray who let my husband park his car, (his prized possession) in his space . Apon checking in we were asked if we had any special dietary requirements, which I have so I had a fantastic breakfast including gluten free sausages, bread and almond milk. The choice is amazing and the staff very attentive. We booked the last room available (17) which had a comfortable kingsize bed and jacuzzi bath which I am very disappointed I didn't have time to use. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your very kind review. It really is appreciated.

We have found over the last few years that more & more people are developing food allergies so we try to be relatively prepared keeping gluten free bread & sausages available all the time and most of the time soya milk. Fortunately in this instance, although we did not have almond milk to hand our manager was able to get some in Kendal on her way to work, so we were able to save the day.

And believe it or not I, like you, have not ever used one of our spa baths. I really should do when we get a little quieter in the winter months.

Thank you again.

All the very best

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a great time at the Fisherbeck. Hotel is spotless and staff are very friendly and attentive. Brilliant family room - lots of space - the beds weren't just crammed in! Good position just outside the village - both lake and shops within easy walking distance. Breakfast was delicious. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackien1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your very complimentary review and we appreciate you taking the time to write it.

The larger of our two family rooms, which is the one that you booked, was newly refurbished earlier this year and I do think that one of the best things about it though is its size. There is a king size bed and 2 single beds with a good amount of walking space between each so it certainly doesn't seem claustrophobic. And although it is a walk up to the second floor you certainly benefit from the good views towards Loughrigg Fell & the Langdales in the distance.

Thank you again and enjoy your summer. Let's hope this good weather lasts for at least as long as the children are on school holiday.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just spent a lovely three nights in this very pleasant hotel & can't fault anything from the setting to the fab rooms along with the very tasty breakfast & the attention to detail from the waitresses.
We felt very comfortable & relaxed from the moment we arrived & will definitely go back for another visit when we are in the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelstaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write your review and we are more than pleased that you had an enjoyable weekend break with us. No doubt the fabulous weather that we have enjoyed recently was a part of the overall enjoyment.

Thank you again and we do hope we will be able to welcome you back if you are planning a return trip to Ambleside.

All the very best

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel was chosen because I insist on a bath to ease the aching legs after a day on the fells. Good choice, the spa bath was a delight! I also slept like a log in the super comfy beds. Breakfast was delicious and the service was excellent. Hospitality in this hotel is excellent and that counts for a lot. Given the opportunity we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyB242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated and we are just so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I absolutely agree that there is nothing better than a bath at the end of a days walking, and the spa just adds that little touch of luxury.

Rachel our manager, Raymond & myself between us cook breakfast every morning so we appreciate your comments very much. But we couldn't do it without our wonderful team of young ladies who look after everybody in the dining room.

Thank you again and we do hope you will think of us again if you plan a return trip to the Lake District.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I satyed at the Fisherbeck for two nights. The room was lovely and modern and clan, but at the back of the hotel on the second floor. As a result the room was quite small (the tiniest ensuite) with no view and very poor wifi, although we did get good wifi downstairs in the communal areas. The gap under the door was a good inch, meaning there was a lot of noise from the corridor outside - not that it was noisy as such, but I did feel that anyone outside could hear EVERY word we said in the room! The bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was delicious, and all of the staff were extremely friendly and attentive. Location wise, the Fisherbeck is perfect - a five minute walk into town, and five minutes to the lake. In general, Ambleside is the perfect base for a trip to the Lake Disctict, being centrally located and busy without being over commercialised.
I would definitely recommend the Fisherbeck, but if I were to stay again would probably try a different room.

Room Tip: Our room (6) was a little small with no view, so request a room on the first floor or at the front o...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank donna3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is very much appreciated and we are pleased that you had an enjoyable time with us.

Room 6 is one of our standard economy rooms so unfortunately you don't get the views that are just absolutely fabulous from the front facing rooms. One of our visitors today has just said that in the 15 years he has been staying with us he has never seen it so clear.

And we are indeed blessed with our very convenient location being just about half way between the lake to the south and shops and restaurants to the north. Both are a very easy relatively level stroll away.

Have a great summer and we do hope you will think of us again if you are planning a return trip to Ambleside.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,189 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,371 reviews
1.7 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing