We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“return visit”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 26, 2012

this is our 3rd visit to ambleside and our second to the fisherbeck, and we were not disappointed. We were reminded of why we chose to come back to this superior bed and breakfast, a warm welcome, hearty breakfasts, stylish and comfortable, close to town, ample parking. The selection that is available for breakfast is quite simply amazing, so much so that it has to be put into 1st, 2nd and 3rd courses!!! You wont need to eat again until evening! The room we had this time was smart, warm with a stunning view and balcony. The Fisherbeck also offers self cattering if thats your thing. Our host couldnt do enough to make our stay, once again, relaxing, memorable,comfortable. Yes, we will be back!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Gosh. When I re-read your review to send my response I started to wonder if someone had engaged you to do our PR. I think you covered just about everything anyone needed to know, and in such glowing terms. Thank you.

We are just please you enjoyed your stay and all was as it should be. We do hope you will think of us again if you are planning a trip to the Lake District and trust we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

382 - 388 of 570 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at the Fisherbeck with my parents for a 2 night break in July and found it to be excellent accomodation for our needs. We went for two of the garden rooms, as they are located out front and have only a few steps and no stairs to get to them (easier for the less mobile - it's quite hard to find a room in Ambleside with little or no stairs, so these rooms were great!). I didn't see the rooms in the main hotel so can't comment on them, but these rooms are pretty new and are decorated to a high standard and are very clean. Very smart new bathroom. On booking, the lady I spoke to was very helpful. Likewise, during our stay my mum said that she had a few chats with the owners and they were very friendly - they were especially helpful in catering for my mum's special dietary needs, so thankyou to them for this extra service, it made my parents feel very welcome and at home.

Breakfast was excellent, lots of food all served to you at the table, very relaxing.

The hotel is also not far to walk to both the village centre or to the lake. It is also opposite the Log House restaurant, which is handy.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tommo5434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate it.

The Garden Rooms really are excellent for those who are not as mobile as they would like to be but we also find the most popular with walkers who like to be able to kick their boots off at their own front door.

We have found over recent years just how many people have special dietary requirements and with just a very little bit of planning it really isn't too difficult to cater for most cases. Glad we could help.

Thanks again & kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just back from a great three night stay at the Fisherbeck after an excellent stay two years ago.
Nice clean room with modern facilities and a big bed, and a spotless bathroom with spa bath.
Cracking breakfast with so much to choose from, but make sure you try the porridge with some whiskey-soaked raisins.
Nice friendly staff and a convenient location a short walk into the main town. Also easy access to the main path up Wandsfell and just a short shlep through the park to get up Loughrigg.
One suggestion - that others have also mentioned - is to have some background music at breakfast. At times can feel a little 'doctor's waiting room'. But it's a tiny issue and the Fisherbeck is easily one of our favourite places to stay in the Lake District.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bigsharpteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review. We really do appreciate peoples' comments and take on board as much as we can. We have discussed music at breakfast on many occasions. Some folks love it, some don't. I think the debate will continue.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fisherbeck in the future we trust.

Kind regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We booked a family room for 3, and the room was very clean and certainly didnt disappoing, the room was tidied daily and did seem to off been recentley refurbished, the staff at breakfast time couldnt do enough,very friendly and polite.
The Breakfast was absoultey amazing, there was everything you could ask for and more
The Speaical Herb & onion Scone with Bacon and porched egg, was by far outstanding.
The Fisherbeck is excellantly situated with a 5 min walk into ambleside and opposite The Log House and the garden centre, good parking and very easy to locate

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your very kind review of your stay with us.

We do think it is important that no matter how long your stay is, that your room should be as clean and well looked after as when you arrived.

And thank you for your comments about breakfast. The herb scones are certainly very popular. We use a Jamie recipe which never seems to fail!!!

We do hope it will not be too long before we can welcome you back to The Fisherbeck again.

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Found this hotel via Trip Advisor and it certainly did not disappoint. Our room was spotlessly clean, the towels were changed/room tidied daily and did appear to have recently been refurbished. We were very pleased with the size of the room and the bathroom was nice and contemporary. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. One constructive criticism; could do with some gentle background music in the breakfast room. All in all, a most enjoyable stay and would certainly recommend The Fisherbeck.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RainyBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am not sure which room you stayed in but the vast majority of our rooms have been refurbished relatively recently.

Music in the dining room during breakfast is a constant debate...some what it, others not...what to do!!!!!

Thank you again, and despite the lack of background music during breakfast, we do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a family room for the three of us.After booking in we found the room to be quite small especially the double bed was very small.In the bathroom the bath panel was cracked with a strategically placed towel trying to cover it up, the sink was also cracked. The towels were small and just one small tube of shower gel between the 3 of us we took our own but the website made a point of mentioning the toiletries. The ladies on reception were friendly and helpful but the male proprietor was fairly ignorant bordering on rude even ignoring me after I had wished him a good morning.Our first visit to the lakes it's a lovely place just a shame we stayed here really.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forest1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Oh dear. We really did not get it right for you did we, and for that we extend our most sincere apologies. Raymond has absolutely no recollection of the incident and I can assure you that is not his usual manor in dealing with our guests...who are of great value to us.

I did mention on your arrival that a burst water pipe under your room floor had been repaired just that morning and that together with a number of very serious maintenance issues arose all at one time certainly distracted us. But that is no excuse and we should have remained professional under all circumstances.

The room you had is descibed as having one double bed and one single bed, which will have been re-iterated in your confirmation letter. There is not a king size bed in that room.This family room has served our guests well for a number of years and whilst not an overly large room many of our guests return to it time & time again. But expectations are changing and in 12 months time, becuse we already have so many reservations for the coming season, it will become a double room with twin beds or super king size bed to suit individual requirements. In the meantime however, as winter approaches and we close for refurbishments the sink and bath panel are already ordered for replacement, bath sheets will be in every room and toiletries will flow in abundance...just ask if you wish for more.

If by any chance we could tempt you back why not try our very large family room which in one weeks time will undergo a complete refurbishment.

We really do appreciate your comments. If there are things we are not doing well we need to know about it.

Regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I , our daughter, her husband and son (14) have just spent four delightful days at this self-catering bungalow, belonging to Fisher Beck . Its position, at the end of a cul de sac, on the hillside above the hotel, is superb, with wonderful views in all directions, down to the town or up to the distant Langdales.We arrived to find spotlessly clean accommodation with good-sized towels provided, immaculate bed-linen and nice little touches such as a flowering plant on the dining table and nice toiletries in both the modern bathrooms. It was beautifully warm, too ! Raymond, the hotel owner was extremely helpful, first guiding us to the property and later returning promptly to attend to a partially-blocked basin.The shower in one of the bathrooms was the best "power shower" we've experienced, by the way ! Cooking facilities were very good, with a generous number of spotless pans etc. The men appreciated the WiFi and the dockingstation/radio . A TV in each of the three bedrooms as well as the living room was an unexpected luxury. We were able to sit in the little conservatory to enjoy the scenery over coffee and, if it had been summer, could have sat out in the small garden with its table and six chairs or even enjoyed using the BBQ . Generally, it was an ideal venue for a small family get-together and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Optimist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GillianLane, Owner at The Fisherbeck, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write your review with regard to your stay at Mill Rigg, one of our three self-catering holiday homes.

This property had been my father's home and we were so taken by its position and views that we just could not let it go. My husband hopes to retire there one day.

I think that having such wonderful views, plenty of private parking and a decent sized garden to enjoy a little alfresco living in the warmer months make it a lovely holiday property.

Thank you again and we are so very glad you enjoyed your short break. We do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Mill Rigg in the not too distant future.

Regards

Gillian Lane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,427 reviews
0.4 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $105 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing