We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit ... and we'll be back”
Review of The Fisherbeck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fisherbeck
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
South Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third visit ... and we'll be back”
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Another great stay here.

Good central location for visiting other lakeland areas.

Accommodation, breakfast and staff are faultless. You won't be disappointed here.

For great evening food eat at the Log House (opposite the hotel). We also had a lovely meal at the Glass House. You won't need to eat midday - but maybe cake at Lucy's is tempting!

We stayed in Room 14, which is very comfortable with a seating area and lovely bathroom.

Thanks Gillian (great scrambled eggs!), Raymond (that 12 yr old malt was good!) and all of the friendly staff. See you again soon we hope.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset_Maid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    109
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
61
349
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Stayed here with my wife and her parents for 3 nights.
Was made to feel welcome from the start.
Our room was quite small, but laid out so well it never felt cramped and the fantastic shower was just what was needed after a day on the fells. On top of that the room was always spotlessly cleaned.
The breakfast is certainly a substantial affair and all excellently cooked and prepared ( try the porridge with the whisky sultanas) we did not require lunch any day, after the breakfast. between the 4 of us we worked our way through the menu and none of the dishes disappointed.
The owners and the staff were all very friendly and incredibly hard working.
Its a 5 - 10 minute walk into Ambleside and the same to the Lake, and very easy to find .
All in a great place to stay in the Lakes

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxandmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester. UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

We have just returned from our second trip to The Fisherbeck. I am pleased to say that the service and quality has not changed.
We stayed in room 14 which is a garden room. The bathroom was huge and even though the hotel seemed to be fully booked, there was always hot water.
The breakfast was more than enough to keep us all going till the night time.
As per other reviewers, I wish we could help ourselves to juice and cereals, as this would save time.
It is only a short walk into the town, here you will find a wide range of pubs and places to eat.
Greggs is handy if you want to grab a quick snack during the day.
Royal Oak is a brilliant pub with real ales ect...
We ate at the Jade Garden, Ambles and the Priest Hole during our stay, which are all only about a 10 min walk from the hotel.
As usual Ambles is brilliant valve at only £16.95 for three courses, all local food and you must try the sticky toffee pudding.
Jade Garden was also good valve with very good service. I though the Priest Hole was ok but slightly over priced and the service was slow. There was another party having a 50th Birthday, we felt as they were local they were being served first and we felt slightly like second classed. I would not return to the Priest Hole.
Another good tip, leave your car at the hotel and catch the river boat into Bowness, as parking in Windermere is a pain. You get great views from the boat and the captain points out places of interest.
If you are not dieting you have to try the gingerbread from Grasmere.
We have already book for next year, to go to Ambleside. Nothing against the Fisherbeck we are going to try another B&B, we just fancy a change.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Comfortable single room, brilliant value in this off season. Possibly best breakfast anywhere. Though would have liked kippers as option.
Excellent service, friendly owners. Well situated, right by bus stop, short walk to town and restaurants etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexman_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

This was our first stay at the Fisherbeck, we chose the hotel partly based on Tripadvisor reviews and can understand why people rate it so highly.

Our room (12) was fantastic, lovely big bed, comfy leather armchairs and a bathroom that was amazing! The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and the huge bath and shower were brilliant, the shower in particular was great. The staff were all very friendly and as other reviewers have commented the breakfasts are amazing (porridge with whiskey, who would have thought of that!!). It was a shame that more guests didn't seem to use the cosy lounge area and although the hotel only has a small bar it was well stocked. We will return to the Fisherbeck and would recommend it to others looking for a quiet and cosy place to stay in Ambleside.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unofficialholidayrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2010

What a find!. After being disappointed by the Ambleside Lodge the Tourist Office found us Fisherbeck. The Manager and staff were so friendly and informative. The room was clean, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was incredible. Proper porridge served with sultanas, syrup and whiskey cream. Smoked haddock with scrambled eggs - such a delight. You could choose what you wanted and not just be served with the standard english breakfast. A HUGE 5 STAR RATING. Thankyou hosts for your hospitality.


A

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1961sue43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

Good refurbed room and clean but toilet shower area small. Breakfast choices and service very efficient and full English very good indeed. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnboy1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
3.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fisherbeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fisherbeck

Property: The Fisherbeck
Address: Old Lake Road, Ambleside LA22 0DH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fisherbeck 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE FISHERBECK. When you are away from home you want to be comfortable, so why not relax on our luxury leather sofas, enjoy a glass of wine, cool beer, cappuccino or latte, perhaps with a little something from our light bite menu. And then sleep easy in one of our individually designed bedrooms, some with fantastic views, balcony, spa bath or king size bed.If you are looking for a truly hearty well cooked breakfast, for several years we have been the recipients of the Good Breakfast Award. We make our own muesli, granola, breakfast muffins and rum butter. Eggs are collected direct from the farm for absolute freshness. Award winning bacon, sausage and black pudding are sourced locally and our smoked haddock and salmon are some of the finest in the north of England, all cooked for you personally. If you want to be well located with really great views of Loughrigg Fell and onwards to the Langdale Pikes, an easy stroll to shops, restaurants and the lake, we really are perfectly located in Ambleside right in the heart of The Lake District. Our 18 bedrooms are all en-suite and three feature balconies overlooking magnificent Lakeland views opposite. Supremely comfortable, the rooms are equipped with all the facilities you need for a luxurious stay in the heart of this most beautiful area. Our sheltered garden provides a tranquill place to relax and admire the glorious panoramic view of the Langdale Pikes, Wansfell and Loughrigg Fell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Fisherbeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
Fisherbeck Hotel Ambleside
The Fisherbeck Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing