We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great family cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Argyle Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Relax6819...
1 review
“Great family cottage”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed at Argyle cottage with family,cottage is traditional but has been tastefully modernised,and is warm and cosy. The 2 separate bathrooms work much better with 6 people than having one en suite.
Location is great only a short walk down hill into Ambleside village where there are plenty of shops,pubs and restaurants/coffee shops.2 nice pubs just around the corner.
Well stocked Tesco's local in village,Booths in Windermere and Keswick should you require more.
Possible to do walks from the door saves using the car.

Date of stay: January 2017
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well located, comfortable base in beautiful Lakeland”
Reviewed November 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Great location, up a bit of a hill but quick walk into the village. Check out Stockgyll Deli for tasty Eccles cakes and great pies. Book for dinner. Know how to use your car handbrake as you will need it to park outside the cottage. Check out the Beatrux Potter exhibition at the Armitt Museum.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and location
Liked least: Parking on the steep hill
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sezziebea...
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage for a peaceful stay”
Reviewed August 11, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We loved Argyle Cottage! It is beautifully presented with everything you could wish for, uncluttered and luxurious. The location is excellent, being in a quiet, "tucked away" area of the old town but only a couple of minutes walk down the hill to shops (including a good bakery and a deli - great for picking up picnic food) and places to eat. We came by train and travelled around by bus and boat and also enjoyed great walks up onto the fells straight from the cottage. The teenagers and young adults in our group loved the space in the cottage, especially the two huge bathrooms and comfortable sofa.

Date of stay: August 2016
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyW1000
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage only a few minutes walk from the centre of Ambleside”
Reviewed August 2, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This is a traditional cottage which has been modernised inside.
We loved the surprisingly spacious interior with three double bedrooms, comfortable beds, two excellent bathrooms. Great location only a few minutes walk downhill from shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the cosy sitting room and selection of DVDs and our teenage son made good use of the free wifi. Well equipped kitchen.
Limited parking by the cottage but we always found a space about twenty yards up the hill where there is level parking for around eight or so cars.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent location near all amenities
Liked least: Not being able to open windows more than a couple of inches due to safety locks; too strongly perfumed sheets/duvet/pillows!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey L
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ambleside is a wonderful base, and Argyle Cottage is a wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My wife is from England, and we used a week in the Lake District both as a personal vacation and a chance to get together with her two brothers and their respective wives. We "lucked out" in every way. First, Ambleside itself is an excellent base -- surprisingly non-touristy, though with the facilities (pubs, restaurants, grocery and other shopping) that mean you are not isolated. I would contrast it to Windemere, Bowness and Keswick, all of which are self-consciously "twee". While it is in the southern Lakes, the northern Lakes are very close, at least if you have a car. Second, Argyle Cottage is extremely comfortable and well equipped. We cannot speak too highly of how immaculately clean it was. In addition, with two full bathrooms and three double bedrooms in addition to a full kitchen and separate living room/dining area, it handled six adults with ease. Third, it is a very short walk to the town center as well as to two superb pubs. No question but that we'll be back.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and convenience
Liked least: It was a bit of a steep climb from the centre of Ambleside, but if we (all in our mid-sixties and above) could do it, you certainly can!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
28970Juli...
Bunbury
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed April 4, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Such a lovely rental, very well equipped. Beautifully decorated and well maintained. Husband loved the log fire. Stayed for the week and weather was a bit iffy at times but it was lovey walking back into Argyle cottage and relaxing by the fire. Very central to Ambleside, quite a steep walk to the cottage. Lots of walking close by without having to move the car. We did find parking up near the cottage or you can park in the car park which is close by. Lots of cafes and pubs very close. All in all a brilliant stay :)

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance
Liked least: parking
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug H
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“perfect for us”
Reviewed August 24, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is well-appointed and made for a wonderful place to vacation for us for a week. We were 5 adults and one toddler (all family). The bedrooms worked well for us and the bathrooms were luxurious. The kitchen was great with everything we needed as we ate most of our meals in. We even had guests one night for dinner and enjoyed the preparation for that. The location was perfect as we could walk to the town in less that 5 minutes and start off on longer day walks right from the cottage. We would absolutely rent Argyle cottage again if we were in the area. Would love to return.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners were so responsive to our every question and need
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.