We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well Appointed”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay . Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay .
Bedroom with king size bed
Exterior
Alfresco dining
Blue bells
Cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Curiosity...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed April 1, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

jacuzzi not very good, broken steps in garden, bed and sofa very uncomfortable, will not be going back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 3, 2017
Thank you for your review customer satisfaction is very important to us .
The king size bed is new top of the range Sealy memory foam mattress .
We will be happy to look into your other remarks .
Many thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane K
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well Appointed”
Reviewed March 22, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Perfect in every way, location, superbly equipped kitchen, beautiful lounge , comfy sofa, jacuzzi bath, lovely bathroom, soft bed. Great place to unwind and have a short break, we took our 2 whippets ,and had a lovely time. We will go back very soon and stay for lomger.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey P
1 review
“Lipuk”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our stay was fantastic! The cottage was everything we wanted, so cozy and warm. The facilities were great it was a real home from home. The grounds were lovely with some improvements to the grounds being made. A five minute car trip into Ambleside made it a rural retreat with close convience to shops etc... Thank you for a wonderful stay we will return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulWrigh...
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good and Bad stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here for my wife birthday and liz gave us the right instruction and found it easy, we where a little disappointed at the front off cottage as we thought in the picture was the front, plus on the Friday watching the tractors getting close to car.
But once we got into the cottage it wasn't great but nice warm soon as we put heating on bed was nice and soft and liked the spa bath even the wife like it ,lovely view to the lake.
Walked in garden and nearly tripped as step are broken and wet.

The only faults where the traffic had problems turning left also the toaster was broken .
good having free washing machine and dryer

Don't know if we will return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 20, 2017
Thank you Paul and Heather for your review we do appreciate your comments and hope that Heather had a great birthday and enjoyed the bottle of wine we left to help you celebrate .
The local landscape contractors were just finishing a job in the grounds upon your arrival at 3.00pm overlapping your stay by an hour which wasn't intended but unfortunately necessary to finish we do appreciate your cooperation for this.
Thank you for bringing to our attention the toaster we will replace this .
It would be lovely to see you both again in the future not forgetting your doggies too ..
Many thanks Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“11 year anniversary”
Reviewed February 19, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Booked this romantic cottage for me and my wife's 11year anniversary. The view from the cottage are stunning with lots of wild life around and a nature trail right on the door step. The cottage inside is nicely decorated and feels like a home from home after a nice long walk it was nice to relax in the jacuzzi. At night it's realy silent and peaceful in the morning it was nice to wake up with birds tweeting. The cottage is in the right location for Ambleside town center and to jump on the boats to Windermere can not wait to book to go again Liz was very helpful with leaflets on things to do and places to eat thank you Liz for making r anniversary amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
I am really pleased you had such a wonderful stay it was a pleasure to have you both .
Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cassiebuk
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful little cottage which surpassed our expectations. It's modern and clean with plenty of space for a perfect couples retreat - pictures don't do it justice. No wi-fi or signal but TV had lots of choice and let's face it - get out into the spectacular lakes, come back to a gorgeous jacuzzi bath and out again for dinner in Ambleside or Windermere. What more could you want.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2017
Thank you for your kind review the lakes is such a beautiful tranquil place and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Dove Cot . Hope to see you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris a
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed January 18, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely place to stay.
The jacuzzi bath is awesome.
The pics don't do it justice it's bigger than it looks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing