We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay . Bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
44 reviews
Kitchen with full size fridge and freezer dishwasher and microwave . Everything for your stay .
Bedroom with king size bed
Exterior
Alfresco dining
Blue bells
Cosy nights in
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
mrjayjayj...
Lomdon
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Beautifully refurbished to a very high standard and in a very peaceful location just outside of Ambleside. Plenty of parking. The kitchen is very well stocked with utensils. The front room is very spacious and comfortable. The jacuzzi bath is a great luxury after a hard day hiking. The bedroom is spacious with a very comfortable bed.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveTub
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Cottage and Location”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My Wife and Myself spent a lovely couple of nights at the Dove Cot at the start of April. The cottage is in a good location just a mile or so in one direction to Ambleside and a similar distance in the other direction to Skelwith Bridge. The cottage itself is very well decorated and very well looked after, with all amenities required for a good break for two. The garden was also very nice to spend sometime in and with its location next to the river has some good views.
Location wise it is very central to make visits to other lakes such as Grasmere and Ulswater as well as Windermere being on its doorstep.
The only downside for us is that we could only spend 2 nights at the cottage and will look to visit again for longer in the future.
Thanks to the Dove Cot for a highly enjoyable stay....

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauraaime...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing week with lovely owners and cottage”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Having just got home yesterday from The Dove Cot, I would recommend it to everyone. The owner was very lovely and understanding during the booking process and helped me by explaining everything clearly with prompt responses.

The cottage itself was gorgeous and had a great view from the garden which you cant even see in the photos. Some lovely walks right by the cottage and near enough to towns on rainy days.

Thanks again for a great week.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregstoke
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy and romantic hideaway”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our stay at this property and couldn't recommend it highly enough to anyone. The location is perfect for exploring the majority of places in the south lakes, but a car is really essential as walking to Ambleside would be quite treacherous in the dark especially as a lot of the road has no pavement. The bedroom was very spacious with plentiful wardrobe space and drawers, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The cooking facilities are fab and are quite modern. The lounge had a very comfortable sofa, good tv and the lighting in the whole cottage was superb. The double Jacuzzi bath was most welcome each evening after walking many a mile around this picturesque area. My small gripes that could be improved on would be
1. a pair of scissors and a working can opener (petty i know but its a bugger when you got no scissors and the can opener doesnt work)
2. a small instruction manual wouldn't go a miss with regard to the dishwasher (not sure if it works properly) and the heating (water) though we worked this out.
3. Maybe installation of internet (for an extra £10 week)
4. A book to write in so you can recommend places for sightseeing, eating and drinking for new visitors to the cottage and area.
5. A note about the outside washing machine and tumble dryers.
Finally please be aware that if you need to keep in touch with people (family or work) that quite often we got no service on our mobile networks (Vodafone, Orange and T Mobile) which can often be a problem to some but was very welcome for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We got what we saw in the photos
Liked least: No internet
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AllyMiche...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

This cottage was faultless! We couldn't have wanted for anymore out of our trip. Everything you could possibly need had been thought about, down to pots, pans and utensils. The view of the private pond out the patio doors was beautiful and we even got to feed a few ducks :-) The location of the cottage was perfect, we felt like we were hidden away in the middle of the lakes, however we were 10minutes away from the beautiful Ambleside, so getting around wasn't a problem.

We will 100% be staying again. Thankyou for a lovely holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning cottage itself
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maltomlin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from a short break at the cottage and it couldn't have been better. It is so well equipped and in a beautiful location.

The owner was super helpful and we will certainly stay again.........didn't want to come home.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewed February 23, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
4
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing