We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Brathay Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brathay Hall
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect for the price.”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Brathay is a bit basic but gets 5 stars because it delivers what it says it does. Basic extremely clean accommodation for a good price. We were in a group with some of us staying in the more expensive Scafell rooms, which are bright, spacious an modern but not luxurious. They are worth the extra bit of money. Others stayed in the manor house rooms which are much more basic but a step up from a hostel. However they were so cheap one can't complain since they are clean and very serviceable. The breakfasts are very good. Spend the extra £15 a night and stay in a Scafell room. The views are incredible.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natholian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
30
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Myself and my partner stayed for two nights at Brathay Hall in one of the Wansfell rooms. We arrived into Windermere without a car and found it very easy to get a bus to Ambleside and walk from there.

Brathay Hall provide laminated routes for walks that start from the Hall in the rooms which we made use of, and we walked into Ambleside in the evening for dinner, which was quick and relatively easy, but you MUST take a torch!!

The room was huge and the view fantastic, breakfast was great buffet fare which kept us going until dinner. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our bathroom looked like it had seen better days but it was spotlessly clean and the shower was amazing.

The only downside was that the windows in our room were single glazed so we were woken up by youngsters outside in the morning. However apart from that and the breakfast ending at 9.30am (I like a long lie in on the weekend) everything was great, better than expected.

I would def. go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahsberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for a night. It was a charming spot, near a lake and surrounded by gardens and woodland. Our room was very big and comfortable with amazing views of the countryside and a big toilet. It was kind of a little apartment and very private, so ideal for a trip with friends or an independent couple who doesn't mind to have their rooms looking fancy. The beds were excellent and the furniture beautiful, very good value for the space and environs you get! Breakfast and shower were great too. So, in short, if you don't need wallpaper in your room and you don't mind being in a community centre (Brathay Trust) this is a great spot.

Room Tip: Not too easy to find as there are no signs and Ambleside is a one-way street maze... watch ou for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia_Dub83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came across this place by chance, was working up in Newcastle and had promised my wife who was travelling with me to chill out for a couple of days so had planned on nipping over to the Lake District, but it was a last minute decision and right smack bang in the middle of half term holidays. So all usual haunts around the lake district were, fully booked or did the usual ramp up the prices type nonsense, anyway scanning around booking.com I came across this place. Have to say I was a bit sceptical due to the low price (for rooms of this type). Well what a surprise.. firstly this place would not be for everybody. Brathay Hall aka Brathay Trust is a charity with the mission to improve the life chances of children and young people. So its kind of an adventure training, outward bound and leadership facility which caters for all kinds of youngsters but also does some corporate events too. So the Main Hall rooms and breakfast.dinning area has more of a youth hostel feel about it. However there are some chalets which are annexed and its there I had my Superior room booked I am sure there are other less well apportioned rooms too, really friendly staff and very helpful, also damn fine breakfast included in the price which would easily of cost a bomb in nearby Ambleside. The Superior Rooms are Scandinavian Chalets with two lower and two upper rooms in each chalet. The quality is very good, plenty of space and a great shower, We were lucky enough to have a room where you could just make out windermere, (Brathay is more north west of the lake, so not all rooms will see the lake if that's important to you), last time I stayed in the region I paid 220 quid for what was a fantastic room. This place was not as exclusive, but achieved equal levels of customer satisfaction for me and my wife. in fact I think I have found a little gem. suits me as its is so peaceful spacious comfortable and the revenue from your stay is helping to finance the trusts primary objective... its a win win for me!!!

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonesontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
560 reviews
211 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here one night, and wished we'd stayed longer. It is a little difficult to find, as the "hotel" is not marked as such - you drive in to Brathay Trust, which helps disadvantaged children, and in the summer, no doubt there will be groups of them staying alongside you, but in Februrary, there were lots of rooms available for guests. We stayed in the Scafell rooms, the big wooden Scandinavian looking lodges, each with four rooms. Each room is absolutely brand new, huge, and decorated superbly. Wonderful bed, huge bathroom, spotlessly clean, pretty much the best appointed room I have ever stayed in, and with a view over the fields to Lake WIndermere. It was like a country house hotel where no expense had been spared. But the price for a double room for a night ? £75. Even if it doubled in the summer, you wouldn't feel shortchanged. Some places in Ambleside were £150 in February and would have had nowhere near the space or the view. Unbelievable value.

It was a 20 minute walk in to Ambleside, but surely thats nothing to most people who are here for the mountains and the walking. Or a £5 taxi ride. Or maybe like us, you just prefer being out of the town with such a wonderful view. Did I mention the view? Maybe it might be lacking hotel-like things like a trouser press, or a gym, but be honest, how many times do you actually use them ? It has a bar , and breakfast was included, and while it was a buffet breakfast, it was hot tasty and replenished often, bacon eggs mushrooms (proper fried not boiled) beans toast cereals, everythign you could want. We wished we'd stayed for the second night of our trip, absolutely perfect and just the most amazing value.

Room Tip: The Scafell rooms in the external lodges are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

although it is diffcult to find - when you'll get there, everything's forgiven... really nice rooms and views. breakfast is nice aswell. bed is really comfy. walk to Ambleside takes only 20-25min where you can find almost everything you need and enjoy beautiful Ambleside. i can recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool,Merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I would recommend a stay at Brathay Hall to anyone. The grounds are beautiful. Our Scafell room in one of the Scandinavian lodges felt far more luxurious than we had dreamed of, based on the bargain price we paid. The staff are friendly and helpful. Location is absolutely ideal, only a short distance from fabulous Windemere, Ambleside and Hawkshead. We will definitely be visiting again soon. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,622 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
1,351 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
519 reviews
4.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brathay Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brathay Hall

Property: Brathay Hall
Address: Brathay, Ambleside LA22 0HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brathay Hall is the residential training centre of Brathay Trust, the national charity that inspires young people to become successful, confident and responsible citizens. Set in 360 acres of mature woodland and rolling pastures, at the head of Windermere, the imposing Georgian country house offers B&B accommodation suitable for all the family. The Hall is set in its own grounds on the north shore of Windermere, with beautiful views of the lake. The site offers a variety of accommodation, with something to suit all pockets from single en-suite through to luxury lodges with King size beds, seating area and good sized bathrooms. All rooms are en-suite, with colour television, tea and coffee making facilities. The Loughrigg rooms are all single en-suite and are detached from the main building, with their own parking area; Helvellyn rooms are en-suite, and can be either singles or twinned, and are situated in the main Hall; the Scafell rooms are our latest addition and take the form of luxury lodges, again detached from the main building; all are en-suite; and feature picture windows with stunning views of the Cumbrian hills. Breakfast is served from 8am – 9am in our dining room, where you can gaze out across the grounds at the beautiful lake and hills, truly an inspiring start to the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Brathay Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hall Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing