We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service over and above!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambleside Tavern

Ambleside Tavern
Ranked #45 of 117 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Description: Our aim is to provide a friendly, welcoming atmosphere, with high standards of service. We put a real emphasis on catering for all of our customers needs, including being child and dog friendly, as well as providing free wi-fi and sky sports. We also have a wide selection of: casks; premium lagers; premium spirits and an expanding wine menu. Our weekend nightlife is very popular with locals and tourists alike, consisting of live music and a late night disco. Our food menu has something for everyone, ranging from gormet burgers, speciality baguettes and pub classics.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Service over and above!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent weekend in Ambleside area - had lovely evening meal here but discovered that outdoor jacket had been left behind when we returned home!
Made contact with the manager and jacket was promptly returned to us within two days.
Thank You!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GPH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    95
    35
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“lovely!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

quick stop at this pub for a bite to eat while out in the lakes...

Menu was simple with no fussing (always a bonus!)..i had a lovely mexican style burger which was really really nice!

my partner had fish and chips which again was of excellent quality,

would recommend this pub definitely!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amyscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Much appreciated meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We arrived in Ambleside at 8:45 PM, looking for a place to eat, and not knowing that the restaurants closed at 9:00 PM. The only place that would take an order was the Ambleside Tavern. We had tasty sandwiches and chips. Thank you to the staff that recognized two hungry travelers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MSUSpartansmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Food lets this pub down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stopped to have lunch in this pub. The dog was welcomed and the interior was smart and welcoming. The drinks were good, with a selection of ales. Sadly the food we chose was not good. The cheese and onion panini was made with pickled onions which overwhelmed the cheese both in taste and quantity. This was only saved by adding a portion of chunky chips to the order.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paleandinteretsing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricki L, Manager at Ambleside Tavern, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
the menu does state that, its cheese and "balsamic onions". which mean pickled onions. if i remember rightly. there was also 3 other meals on this table, which i presume were satisfactory as they are not mentioned. our staff also do check backs and dont remember any complaints regarding the ciabatta. none the less we apologise that you didnt enjoy it. but noted that you were happy with the drinks selection and dog friendliness which is pleasing news!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable food if you are on a budget”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We ate here one evening during our stay in Ambleside. The food was generally pretty decent (one exception was that they served a cheeseboard at back-of-the-fridge temperatures), but suffers by comparison to all the quality restaurants nearby.

If price is your main criteria then you can add a star or two to my review - they seem to have a permanent deal if you order two main courses. The upstairs seating area was more akin to a cafe, but balancing this, they had some decent ales on tap downstairs.

So nothing wrong with the place, but there are lots of better food options available albeit at a higher price. Didn't stay there long enough to be able to comment on it as a pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EvilTwinSelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricki L, Manager at Ambleside Tavern, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
we believe that, ambleside is an expensive enough place, with accomadation and the price of other things in and around the village. so we do try to make our food reasonably priced, and we think for the price the quality is very high!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambleside Tavern also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Ambleside Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing