We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a great find”
other travelers have booked this property
Birch Cottage from walk to Wansfell, nestled on outskirts of Ambleside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Birch Cottage from walk to Wansfell, nestled on outskirts of Ambleside
Bed area of large double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Birch Cottage from walk to Wansfell, nestled on outskirts of Ambleside
Bed area of large double room
Extra seating area of large double room
Spacious bathroom [has separate shower cubicle not seen in photo]
Fireplace
view from cottage
garden
view from cottage
welcoming front door
garden
welcoming front door
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
foulds196...
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a great find ”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just arrived back home after spending a few much needed days away in the lakes, birch cottage made our break all the more relaxing, parking for our car with great views. The cottage is clean & comfortable & suited out needs perfectly. The owner made the booking process stress free & was extremely helpful. The cottage had every thing we needed & the wifi was an added bonus. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this cottage to family & friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
123Pal
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing start to weekend”
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Unfortunately we had a disappointing start to our weekend in Ambleside. The cottage was available from 3pm - we arrived at 5:30pm to find bags of rubbish in the middle of the kitchen, leaves and general debris on the floor and the beds not made in one of the bedrooms. We called the owner who contacted the cleaner who said she was on her way but had a traffic issue. We had driven through the Lake District that day and neither the satnav nor the radio had warned us of any major traffic issue that would cause a delay of over 2.5 hours - it was very disappointing that the cottage was left so untidy. We requested some of our money back and were offered £10 and the use of the towels that were left in the cottage. On the website towels were extra so we had brought our own anyway and never intended to use the towels so this offer was obviously unsatisfactory. After repeated texts with the owner, she refused to consider a refund - an act of goodwill should have been her first thought. A shame that the customer did not come first on this occasion.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2016
I rectified the situation within 30 minutes of being informed and did offer goodwill. However the guest asked for a lot more & threatened me with a bad review so I said to go ahead.
I have a new cleaner now
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clive r
Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rustic,Challenging,terraced cottage.”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Nice little well equipped terraced cottage with gas central heating/hot water, the only problems are the rustic steep stairs and a challenging location, situated at the top of two very steep hills which you need to be very healthy to walk back from the town centre after a meal & a drink. Also an awkward driveway & parking arrangement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good bed,Shower,Heating and Gas Fire.
Liked least: Steep stairs, steep walk up hills from town.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie G
Alicante, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Why isn't this 5 star?”
Reviewed July 9, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The position is perfect - a beautiful situation just on the edge of Ambleside. Less than a 10-minute walk (with moderate incline) to the centre with all its pubs, restaurants and shops.
The cottage is a comfortable size, and the small garden, a few yards from the cottage is well-maintained.
This would warrant 5 stars with a few improvements - fresher bedding, matching, uncracked crockery, clearer access to the dustbins, and a washing machine!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy F
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming cottage but in need of refurbishment”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This 2 bedroom cottage has a historical charm with lovely period features, such as the large cast iron bathtub, cottage doors, fire place. The master bedroom, on the 2nd floor, offers a view towards the hills, sheep farm and gardens. It is also relatively spacious and clean. However, the internal decor and furnishing is somewhat a let-down and requires further attention to detail.

I believe that there is a fine balance between preserving original / historical features and a décor that is looking rather tired / dilapidated and neglected. For example, the carpet flooring is showing many signs of wear and tear. The two sofas, kitchen appliances (such as the toaster and gas cooker), pots and pans and crockery looked as though they belong to the local council tip or car boot sale. The mattress was relatively firm and bed linen (such as the pillow and duvet covers) are full of bobbles / pills which can be uncomfortable when rubbing against your face and skin whilst sleeping.

There are also other key and important matters for any travellers wish to stay at this cottage:

1. Electric shower – The electric shower, in the rather cramped shower enclosure, is relatively temperamental. If you decide to switch off and re-switch on the device during your shower, it is ‘IMPORTANT’ that you turn the shower nozzle away from you as ‘pure hot water’ may come out before your ideal temperature is reached. I was unfortunate to have been scalded by hot water before I could react to turn the nozzle away. So my advice is to anyone is to leave the device on until you have finished using it.

2. Car parking – Although there is to some degree an ‘allocated parking’ space directly in front of the cottage, the parking area is predominantly a shared pedestrian walkway into other neighbouring cottages (no. 10 and 9). Also, cottage no. 7 has a right to park their vehicle in front of their cottage. Therefore this would meant that you need to ask the occupant from no. 7 to move their vehicle every time you leave or return with your car. We were fortunate not to have experienced this during our stay but the visitor / guest books suggest others have experienced such issue.

3. Location – The cottage is located within walking distance to the town of Ambleside and cir. 10 mins (walking) to Tesco Express (your nearest convenient store). However, the cottage is located on a steep hill and may be an issue for families with small children (such as prams) and the elderly or disabled travellers. To illustrate the steepness, you would need to drive your car up the hill in 2nd gear.

4. Hot water – The hot water is pre-programmed to switch on between 7 – 9.30am, 4.30 – 10.30pm plus 20 mins during the day and there is no option to manually operate them if required outside of these hours. Also, given the size of the hot water tank, this is only sufficient for a single bath and shower. The next person would need to wait (cir. 20 - 30 mins) for the water tank to fill up and heated to a sufficiently warmth.

In overall and considering all the short comings, I would not be recommended any travellers to stay in this cottage in its current state. However with some refurbishment, I do believe that this cottage has the potential to offer the charm and comfortable stay that many of the other cottages have. You do not have to look far for an example (such as cottage no. 10).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMissus...
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“My birthday present to my hubby :)”
Reviewed October 11, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Birch Cottage for my husband's birthday. It was very reasonably priced for the area and some real pluses included being able to park right outside and could walk into Ambleside, saving lots of hassle with parking etc. The cottage was cosy and beautifully clean. It had everything we needed to be able to cook for ourselves as that keeps the costs down. The view from the little garden in front was awesome and we sat there for tea and cake at the end of a busy day. We were ideally located for exploring the Lake District and one of the days we bought a family bus ticket for £32 which we used to go to Grasemere and then onto Windermere, where we walked up Orrest Head before availing back over Lake Windermere to Ambleside, included in the bus ticket. Fantastic weekend that we will remember for years to come and would love to go again!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing