We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WANT TO GO BACK”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
MARLOW
1 review
“WANT TO GO BACK”
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Had a great time at the Langdale. Fantastic room in the new wing with stream running out the back. Modern room with everything you could want including robes to chill in. Shower was fantastic especially to wake you inthe morning. Breakfast was first class with muffins to take away for a morning coffee break/snack whilst on a walk. Want to try self catering blocks next time we are up in that part of the country. Pub just up the road which is well worth trying after a long journey!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAROLMarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    404
    169
    63
    40
See reviews for
251
853
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel, we had looked at it as a potential wedding venue (we decided on Loch Lomond) but promised ourselves we would return to visit again as we were so impressed with it. The location and grounds are beautiful and the leisure facilities are good. On our last visit, a weekend away for my birthday, we stayed in one of the new luxury rooms and the room was gorgeous, air bath for 2 and massive, comfortable bed. We loved it so much we requested it again this time. Unfortunately something seems to have changed with the management of the hotel as we can see a marked difference from the last time we visited. We paid £250 per night for this luxury room and so were more than disapointed when, on returning to the room after a days walking, found that housekeeping had not provided new towels or toiletries and that the glasses and champagne flutes in the room were still dirty from the previous day. We are not untidy people and only ask for towells to be changed when necessary but despite being left on the floor for changing, ours had simply been rehung on the rails. When my husband complained the housekeeper told him they hod been changed - they still has some of my mascara on from the previous day and were not just damp but wet!
We did eventually get new towells and toiletries but the service in this hotel is not what it has been in the past and the breakfast staff are not as attentive, helpful or friendly - we had to ask for our butter to be changed as it looked like it had been dropped in the floor - (covered in dirt and fluff) and also had to try and catch someones attention for tea and toast when this had been offered when we were seated the previous day.
All in all, I love the rooms and the location and grounds of this hotel but felt it was very much let down this time by staff who could not be bothered to provide anything approaching the level of service you would expect for the prices they charge. I would also agree with previous comments that drinks in the hotel bars are extortionate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday17049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed one night in the Langdale during a torrential downpour. The Fellside room was very quiet, comfortable and clean with a great bath and shower. Just beware when parking here - the spaces are very small and when turning into one of them my husband crunched the car on a large rock which was part of the landscaping. Due to the rain we stayed in and used the pool and spa area which was fantastic. We found the reception and breakfast staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I stayed at the Langdale Hotel for a long weekend. The hotel is located a few miles outside Ambleside and from a walkers perspective, it's perfect. Hotel facilities are excellent and the swimming pool and spa facilities are great.

The only thing that the hotel needs to focus on is customer service. At breakfast staff removed plates, before food had been finished, I didn't even get the chance to say I hadn't finished. When I asked staff if they could ask the chef to make some more eggs (as they'd run out) I was treated with a grunt and churlish look. I also ordered breakfast to my room (order night before), the wrong breakfast was delivered in the morning.

In general, I would agree with other reviewers of this hotel. Some of the staff seem to require better customer training and improve their communication with hotel customers.

Nice hotel, great location...need to sharpen up their customer service!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OverSeaOverLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

oh how I agree with Leeds-Hopper. we were guests at the same wedding,it was a 2 night stay, beautiful grounds and hotel, good breakfast. We had a wonderful time celebrating our friends wedding but oh dear customer service is not their strong point. When our main course was brought out at the wedding reception, a woman, I assume was the manager, shouted "I said not yet" to the waiters and as we sat with knife and fork in hand, the food was picked up again and whipped away! One guest who was a vegan didnt even get a main course until his partner had to ask the chef, who said "what do you want me to make him", he eventually got the same dish he'd had for his starter. staff were unpleasent to the point of rudeness. such a shame and really lets the hotel down.

The bar prices were ridiculous, you know and expect to pay more for drinks in a hotel bar but these were so wildly inconsistent, we paid £4.80 more for the same 2 drinks we got 30mins previously, we asked for a price list and the guy just shrugged his shoulders. we were not the only ones. some guests got so fed up with it they went to their rooms and brought their own drinks down, and I cant say I blame them, it only encorouges that behaviour when they dont get their prices right.

the wedding and location were perfect but Id suggest anyone thinking of getting married there makes absolutely sure their are plenty of price lists on the bars. And insist their staff go on a few customer service courses! in fact hire yourown wedding co-ordinator to oversee EVERYTHING!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Enjoyed another great weekend at the Langdale Hotel.
The rooms are wonderful, great facilities, the staff very helpful and the food fabulous.
Stunning location thats worth every penny, if its cheap and cheerful your looking for .......look elswhere.................. this is One of the best !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent the weekend at the Langdale for a family wedding so first the good stuff. lovely hotel, fantastic grounds, rooms amazing (we stayed in one of the luxury rooms and my son and his mate stayed in one of the Fellside rooms) and food was lovely.
But all the good points are soured by the really surly staff - from the reception desk (it was a wedding so a smile and a few good wishes wouldnt have hurt Im sure) to the waiting staff who ignored my son when he came down to breakfast on his own, to the staff on duty at the wedding reception. Miserable and often rude. But the biggest issue most of the guests had was the bizarre pricing structure at the various bars in the hotel. There was no bar tarrif anywhere (not sure this is a legal requirement?) and the difference in drinks between bars varied by up to 200%. One bar staff member provided a glass of soda water for free - and then an hour later charged £2.10?! One guest was charged £17 for ONE glass of wine. One guest paid around £6 for a vodka and coke whihc strangely enough came WITHOUT the vodka, a pint of lager in one bar was £2 dearer than another bar, one guest was presented with a £250 bar bill on check out but wasnt provided with an itemised bill, one elderly guest was charged for a latte in his room - he doesnt even drink coffee and so it goes on. The General Manager was abrupt and the receptionsists on check out couldnt even be bothered to look at you never mind smile. This is a 3 star hotel in the Lakes not a 5 star hotel in Dubai! I guess return customers are not the target group for this hotel but they do really need to look at how they treat customers. Some of the wedding guests stayed in nearby B&Bs, which were a fraction of the cost and afforded their guests a much higher level of customer service. Guess whihc place we will be staying at in future and recommending to friends? It wont be the Langdale!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leeds.hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Property: Langdale Hotel
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing