We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place to stay”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I recently stayed here for a course with work and the setting was wonderful. You can walk in the grounds, the staff accommodated our requests to take our sessions outdoors and the spa pool is large and while we were there it was very quiet.

The rooms are spacious and peaceful, set in grounds within walking distance of footpaths to the hills and a nearby village. We spotted a woodpecker on an evening walk.

Staff were friendly and accommodating, a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeozCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,402)
There are newer reviews for Langdale Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed here weekend just gone and loved it! The rooms were gorgeous very clean and modern, with TV on the wall, alarm clock with ipod/iphone docking station and the bed was really comfy. The bathroom was a wet room and had plenty of useful toiletries and also robes. The surrounding areas were stunning and Ambleside town centre was 5 minutes away. The location was very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast was really tasty we had full English breakfast and it was really nice, however you could also have fruit, yogurts,cereal etc... The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our only snag was that the drinks were a little expensive, however don't let this out you off! We will definitely be coming again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely spot in the middle of woods, staff were extremely helpful. Expensive for a one night stop but made a nice change from stopping near the motorway. Didn't have time to use the spa but it looked fine. The good weather helped as we enjoyed a short walk around the grounds and to the neighbouring village. Beautiful drive up the valley but be warned if you keep going over the hills the road gets steep and narrow, good fun though! Would love to have a longer stay in good weather.

Room Tip: Do not arrive after 10 as restaurant closes unless you stop for supplies, Ambleside is the nearest p...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louforart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Spent two nights with mother for 80th. Not suitable. The hotel facilities were lovely ideal for active family. I don't know what the majority of rooms were like but when I mentioned our room-179- you could here the sound of stifled laughter. The room was lovely but very dark and so you couldn't see to unpack, find anything or put on makeup. The energy saving bulbs had to be on all the time but were very dim. The only window looked out at a slate wall 2ft away, a high banking and the main thoroughfare. The window had to have a net curtain to stop people seeing in but we pulled it up and left the door open to catch the natural light. The room wasn't airconditioned so the window had to be left open which meant you were awake in the early hours and also felt that someone could easily climb in. Too many frills which totally contradicted the eco-ethos. Why would you want to switch the shower on from the bedroom but not be able to see to use it.Huge disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in room 179. The rooms aren't referred to as having a view. Ask for a room that is...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwynneth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been coming up to the Lakes for 20+ years and have stayed many times at Lagdale.

The accomodation was as excellent as ever, with many new additions (new kitchens / bathrooms etc)

There is also the new hotel which looks very good, and our friends were actually staying in it, and said it was very good. Lots to do in and around the estate, The Brittania pub as good as ever, Wainwrights was ok, but no where near as good as previous years I am afraid.

All in all a good time

Room Tip: Book early for the Brittania
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I visited here in may 2010 where my wife and I got engaged.

We stopped in one of their three exclusive rooms, and it was just incredible! Two baths in the bedroom where the water filled from the ceiling. It certainly had the wow factor and made for the perfect surprise for my partner.

The food and service at the hotel was great, and the Langdale valley is beautiful.

I would definitely like to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave6186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I only spent one night here with my partner in January this year, but it was a really lovely place. We had booked through an online agent and paid them directly, but there appeared to be some confusion on check in as we were being asked to provide them with proof of the booking (thought this would have been done automatically on booking through the agent).

Anyway, the room and bathroom were large and modern. Plenty of storage space in the wardrobe, and it was handy to have a porch/hall area to store wellies etc. We went to Wainwright's pub around the corner for dinner and drinks, which was very pleasant. Breakfast was of a good variety and the pool area was also very nice.

I would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $164 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing