We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not quite as good as last time”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but not quite as good as last time”
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay here having found it by luck last year. Maybe we were just lucky last year as it was exceptional. This year the room we were given was quite a bit smaller than the one we had last time. The schools were still on holiday and the place was very busy. This meant facilities were at times stretched such as parking and the spa. Parking wasn't helped by ignorant guests who took up two spaces with their "Chelsea tractors" and one one occasion we were told to use one of te disabled bays a long way from our accommodation block which meant having to lug our luggage as well. The spa was popular, and as it was full we were told to take a seat in the nearby bar and the assistant would come and get us when there was room however she finished her shift and went home without telling the next shift that people were waiting which was somewhat inconsiderate. Otherwise the resort is great. Rooms and facilities are kept clean and tidy and the staff were polite and friendly. The nearby Wainwright's pub is great for pub grub with a good choice of beers. Would recommend The Langdale and stay there again but would look to go during school term time when things may be a bit 'quieter'.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    404
    169
    63
    40
See reviews for
251
853
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in one of their "Ultimate" rooms for a long weekend in November 2011 and were not disappointed. Beautiful surroundings. Excellent food. If you are stressed out go for a massage or a swim. Feeling energetic then the Langdale Fells are waiting for you. Huge surprise when turned on the water for a relaxing bath, the water appears from the ceiling.. It is supposed to do that..... That is why there is no bath taps to get your toes stuck in! Cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, treat yourself to one of their Ultimate Rooms but book well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in Jan. the location is beautiful and you could get away with not leaving the estate at all for 2 days! There is building work going on but it didn't bother us and we were given £20 to spend in one of the 4 places to eat.
Our room, unfortunately was pokey. It was also full of tables and chairs that didn't really fit and made going to the loo in the night a bit tricky!! Our bed was rock hard too which no one else seems to have mentioned so it may just be room 102!
The food in wainwrights was very good, very 'pubby' though, which we liked but if you don't like dogs where you dine then give it a miss.
Spa was very good, changing areas large and clean.
Limited parking.
Overall it is a lovely hotel but if I stay again I will be insisting on one of the larger signature rooms that are priced the same as the one we were in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrybella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Absolutely loved it. The staff in the main hotel and restaurant were amazingly helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was very, very good. The spa was really nice with a big pool and nice facilities. The room was gorgeous, and even though we probably had one of their lower price rooms there was nothing basic about it and it included a jacuzzi bath which was a very nice to have. The breakfast was included in the price and was reeeallly nice with a huge range on offer. We had a short stay for our Anniversary and went on local walks, and there's a nice pub a few minutes walk away too and other Lakes attractions etc. a short drive/cycle away or you can obviously walk there if you have more time. It's a great base whether for walking, exploring the Lakes area, or just to stay and relax as with two bars, a restaurant, very nice rooms and a pleasant environment you don't have to go elsewhere if you don't want to. We'll defintely want to go back again.
Considering for the same price we had recently stayed in standard (i.e very basic) room in a City based Jury's Inn, with no parking, no breakfast, no spa, no room facilities, indifferent staff, makes the Langdale extremely good value.

Room Tip: Its in the countryside but in a sort of valley so the views are nice but limited, but then you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmhuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We really loved our stay in The Langdale Hotel, everything was perfect. The location is amazing well away from the Town its great for getting away from it all and just relaxing. Food was superb and the service was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here with my partner in November for a birthday surprise (from him to me) - when we arrived at the hotel, I was delighted - it is known for being one of the best in the area and I already knew about it. My partner had booked one of the very best rooms with a roll-top bath that filled from the ceiling (pretty cool) which cost £250 a night. The reason I know how much it cost, despite it supposedly being a surprise, was that the indiscreet female receptionist announced very loudly that the total cost would be £500 in front of other guests - I thought this was very unprofessional and the fact that my partner was asked to pay upfront, not usually common-practice in hotels of this standard.

The room was also not ready - which was disappointing given that we'd arrived after first check-in time. We were asked to take a seat in the residents lounge, which I likened to an old people's home. It was cold, dark and certainly unwelcoming. We were taken to our room after about 15 minutes having not been offered a drink or refreshment (or apology).

The room was really great and we slept so well. The massage in the spa was superb! Two hours of bliss and I felt so relaxed afterwards. The breakfasts were great and had everything we needed. The only other comment would be that the on-site pub was disappointing - the lamb shank was not great. Overall, a good stay but completely let down by the unprofessionalism of the female receptionist on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a three night stay at the Langdale. We booked using a Facebook deal so got a great rate - £79 per night bed and breakfast.

We stayed in a fellside signature room which was nicely decorated and a good size. Particularly liked the entrance area which was handy for muddy boots. Bathroom was clean but dated and the shower was a waste of time. It did however have an air bath.

We enjoyed eating in Wainwrights and the buffet breakfast was great. Unfortunately, Purdey's was a let down - fine, but not fine dining. Food was ok but not the quality we were expecting and service was poor. We will probably stay at the Langdale again but won't be rushing back to the restaurant.

Had a wonderful treatment in the spa before I left - one of the best I've had.

Generally lovely and would visit again on a deal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrswigglemunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
3.4 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Property: Langdale Hotel
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing