We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Break”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Break”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We went for a short break just to relax and certainly weren't disappointed. The hotel staff are excellent and the setting for the hotel is also great. I was a bit concerned about the building work going on when we were there but there really wasn't a problem with noise or any inconvenience.
the room was nice and clean with a big comfy bed and nice bedding,it seemed to us to be fairly newly decorated. On the down side, the shower had less power than a childs watering can and certainly used less water. Another down side was the tropical shower in the spa not working and the pool was a bit cold for my liking. We had a meal in the spa restaurant which was very nice and quite reasonable as was Wainwrights Inn (take a big torch to find your way there though) and I liked the buffet breakfast, plenty of choice and all hot and freshly stocked up, tons of fruit cereal and pastries as well. Hobsons bar and the open log fire is a nice comfy place for a drink after a hard days walking (or even floating around the pool and bublbing around the hot tub).
All this along with some fantastic scenery and great walks on the doorstep we'd definately recommend this as a good short getaway.

Room Tip: We stayed in Fellside 140 and the shower was terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farbeque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    402
    169
    63
    40
See reviews for
250
848
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for two evenings before moving onto our lodge in December.

As a whole our trip was very enjoyable, there are many positive aspects to the Langdale Hotel. Firstly the location is amazing, you literally can begin your walks from the doorstep; secondly we thought the selection of food provided by the two on-site restraunts this year was superior to previous years. The Terrace in particular seems to have stepped up its game and the lamb salad is highly recommended. We also enjoyed the selection of wines and real ales available in Hobson's bar. Finally the facilities onsite such as the spa and swimming pool are fabulous, particularly if you're visiting during the colder months when the weather's not always great for outdoor activities.

For a 4 star hotel I feel the facilities are great. The only slight niggle we had is with the service at breakfast, a couple of items on the menu come with an extra supplement charge which I do not feel is warrented. The breakfast service also seemed quite disjointed when ordering items and the fluidity which you see in other hotels wasn't quite there.

Despite this we had a very enjoyable time we thought the size of the room was decent for the price which we paid and the facilities particularly the on-site swimming pool, gym and spa were fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ljsow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I booked the Langdale Hotel & Spa over the internet about 2 months ago as a surprise for our 1st Anniversary at the end of November. Then I started to read the reviews. With the human brain designed to focus on the negative, the half dozen or so of reviews in the "terrible" category weighed far more heavily on my mind than the few hundred very good or excellent reviews and I wondered it I had made the right choice. Fortunately, I had. We arrived on Tuesday evening and were asked to pay the balance, which is a bit strange, but given the far flung nature of some of the rooms, probably an understandable precaution for the hotel.
We were allocated a Fellside room which is in a separate area from the main part of the hotel in what seems to be a relatively new block. The room was spacious, the bed enormous and all the linen and towels of excellent quality and cleanliness, The room had a big wide entrance hall for changing in and out of walking gear, a drying cupboard and a door to the bedroom so that all the smelly wet gear that you might end up with after a walk could be shut away. A large umbrella was provided. As someone who first went to the Lake District when the facilities consisted of a muddy field, a chemical toilet and a tap all of this was bliss.

The room was quiet with no noise fro adjacent rooms coming through and both sides were occupied. The bathroom clean. If I had to put together a few niggles they would be the funny way the central heating seem to operate; coming on at 4 in the morning and being off at six in the evening, the ill fitting windows that allowed a draught in (it was -2 degrees overnight) and a weak shower.

The breakfast was good despite being a buffet that other people have complained about. The food was always hot and being regularly replenished. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner but had one meal at Wainrights Pub and a second impromptu meal at Hobsons Bar. Wainrights is trying too hard to be an authentic Cumbrian inn and it sort of fails because it try's too hard. When I read reviews that describe "hearty pub grub" it usually means a triumph of quantity over quality and so it was. The food arrived with indecent haste - fish & chips and a baked potato - and wasn't up to much, the baked potato was barely warm. The beer was good though and not unreasonable in price. Hobsons Bar was different again. Quite and refined, and, surprisingly, with a decent hand pulled beer, the service let it down a bit with the slowness but when the fish and chips arrived (we like fish and chips!) it was as good as the best chippies in Yorkshire. A large piece of fresh haddock in a crisp, deep golden batter that was obviously freshly cooked. We shared it and it was delicious. We made a point of telling the waiter that we had enjoyed it so much more than the same dish served at Wainrights

The pool and spa are excellent. The pool was a a couple of degrees colder than normal because of the drop in temperature that happened at the end of November but the whole place was clean and well maintained. One of the main reasons for choosing the Langdale was the pool; my wife loves to swim and likes to wear thong or G-string bikini's when she does. She felt completely at home in pool at the Langdale and it was, for her, the highlight of the holiday. For me it was getting our boots on the snow at the top of Harrison Stickle but that's another story.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerBeerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been visiting since the '90s and have seen Langdale go from good, to OK, back to good and very good with various natural changes of Chef and Manager over the years.

The current Management and Chef are right on the button and have gone to 4 Stars and no less than 2 Food Rosettes, IMHO both well earned and now no less than Excellent

Extraordinary location right in the middle of Langdale, most incredible "Brownfield redevelopment" of an old 19th century gunpowder works which has kept all the old canals (boats didn't make the sparks that horses and carts would have done.)

If you want a great room, "all the stuff" Spa, Hairdressers, Massage, Posh Restaurant, Real Ale Pub, everyday restaurant, and the hills right on your doorstep. Park up and never need your car for a week if you are up for a decent walk to Grasmere, Ambleside, Langdale Pikes, Windermere; even Bowfell and Crinkle Crags if you are hard enough !

Room Tip: No lifts but some rooms are ground floor for easy access. Feature rooms are not cheap but have WOW f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahamnairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed for only one night while meeting friends in the area. This is a superb hotel situated in one of the most picturesque valleys in the Lake District yet ideally located for Ambleside and Windermere. The accommodation and service by the staff was simply first class. Our room was spacious and well equipped to the highest standard with such extras as an iron and ironing board. The bath-room was to an equal standard. Breakfast was plentiful and catered for all palates. No-one would leave hungry from that dining hall. Sadly we did not find the time to enjoy the spa but without a doubt we will visit again, next time for a considerably longer stay. Initially I had thought that the tariff for one night bed and breakfast was excessive at £175, but this place is a prime example of the saying "you get what you pay for". On the down side there is construction building work going on , on-site and we had difficulty with parking as the place seemed to be full - even in November. All things considered I recommend The Langdale to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClouseauDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Langdale hotel and spa is a superb retreat in celestial settings which also has access to other tourist attractions or simply breathtaking walks in fine English Fresh Air. Take your pick of relaxing in the spa after a hard days walking, dining in purdeys restaurant or taking a stroll down to Wainwrights Pub for some hearty cumbrian ale and pub grub. A must for the active or the romantics

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREGandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Me and my boyfriend came here for a short break ar Christmas time.
The rooms were simple and modern, very cosy with a HUGE bed!
The only complaint would be that there was a slight bump in the middle of the bed, but thats only if im being really picky! Lovely clean bathroom also.
The pool was great and the jacuzzi was so fine!! Beautiful pool are and the sauna and steam room were a huge bonus! The changing rooms were also really nice and modern.
We only had breakfast at the restaurant which was very nice and great selection.
The bar areas are really cosy and comfortable, slightly expensive but still great.
I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Property: Langdale Hotel
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing