We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“self catering lodge”
Review of Langdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Langdale Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“self catering lodge”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Stayed in Elterwater Barn in Jan 2012 - self catering unit. We are frequent visitors to the Langdale estate lodges and usually have a great time, however on this occasion the holiday was a disappointment. The Barn has only been partly re furbished and whilst the bathrooms are updated (and very nice), the rest of the unit is old and tired and in need of modernisation. Good point was that it was very clean and as usual the Langdale housekeeping staff does a very good job. The décor is dated rustic pine circa 1980s - unlike a lot of the lodges which are reasonably modern.
When we arrived at 7pm on the Saturday, the place was absolutely freezing with the heating completely off (it was minus 10 outside) and as there was absolutely no response to the numerous calls we made to reception we ended up re setting the heating system ourselves. When the phone was finally answered a spare heater was delivered later that night as it was so cold we could not get warm at all.
As this is an old stone building it took hours to get warm which was really upsetting after a 9 hour drive to get there – reception were not really interested in our complaint. During the week we had continual problems with the heating cutting out and from reading the lodge log book this is a common problem. The other main problem was that there were mice - and they were getting into the lounge from a vent in the wall– in fact we saw them when they ran along the back of the sofa. Again we called reception and a number of old fashioned barbaric traps appeared on the lounge floor – ideal for standing on or a nightmare if you had young children – and presumably for us to clear up the dead mice. We immediately phoned reception again to complain and asked for humane traps – however none were forthcoming. It was also explained to us that this was a rural area and that mice are common – we live in the Highland of Scotland in a very rural area and did not buy this at all – efficient pest control is a necessary task. Other niggles were that the heating in the shower room was broken so it was very cold in that room and the hot water in the lodge did not actually get more than warm until we called maintence.
We visit Langdale 2/3 times per year (for the past 8 years) renting or exchanging and have always been happy but on this visit the service from the front desk over the weekend was very poor (if the phone was answered at all) and overall we were not impressed with the barn – it is very pretty and detached, set apart from the rest of the resort but there is a reasonable amount of road noise in the main bedroom and bathroom and it was just not up to standard. If you are booking in the summer months be aware it sits next to the tennis courts and there will be noise from tennis players. Overall as it is a traditional stone building it can be very dark, unlike a lot of the lodges which are quite light due to large windows.
Overall a disappointing stay, previous visits to the main estate and Elterwater Hall itself were much better. Customer service was poor. It would not put us off visiting Langdale as it is a great location for walking; however we would not book the barn again unless it has been upgraded

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vicki1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    405
    169
    63
    40
See reviews for
251
855
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Just spent a couple of nights at the Langdale hotel. Great value travel zoo offer of dinner bed and breakfast. Comfortable room, good food and a great pool and spa. There was some building work going on but the hotel compensated for this with additional vouchers and it didn't distract from our visit. The langdale valley is stunning even in the rain and the hotel makes a great base for walking plus a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacManchesterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Stayed for two nights on a travelzoo offer.Lovely room and great bathroom. Very clean and with everything that you need for a short stay. Breakfasts were great with lots of choices. Preferred Wainwrights to The Terrace for dinner but great value deal and absolutely no cause for complaint at all. Great location with lots of options for walks straight from the hotel. Would love to return but would prefer to wait until building work on site is completed. Although the hotel offered a £20 voucher to compensate for the inconvenience, the noise was quite loud from the building site in the room that we were in and if you wanted to be in your room during the day for a rest, it would have been very intrusive - luckily we were out all day enjoying the wonderful surroundings. The Britannia Inn is worth a visit or two also - great place. Fantastic location and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I have been visiting this 'resort' for a number of years as my parents have a timeshare on the site and this option allows use of the facilities in the hotel. The hotel is of the same standard as the timeshare facilities. I have always found the hotel rooms to be clean, very comfortable, spacious and relatively quiet. You wont find fabulous lake views here but you will find what I think is a hidden gem if you venture beyond the usual places to stay in this area of the Lake District. I think a lot of people do come back here time and again having found it as it is still in a beautiful setting, good for walks in the area.
We love Hobsons bar for a drink and this has also has a small yet really good menu in a lovely setting.
The spa is always also clean and never seems crowded, although there are definetely better times to use it as a lot of customers do stay here with children so it can get busy.
We stayed in the main hotel in one of the signature rooms (room 101) which is slightly smaller than the rooms in the annex buildings but is still of the same high quality.
Our only slight critisism is that reception staff can sometimes be a little slow to see you - but that is the only thing we could think of to add here.
We look forward to seeing the extension to the hotel next year .. Brimstone... be aware that there are building works which the hotel will make you aware of when you book but they didnt bother us at all.

Room Tip: The fellside rooms are a special treat....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsjoannecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We stayed at this ‘hotel’ for a couple of nights as a quick getaway. I use the hotel phrase loosely as I found it bizarre to not be in the main hotel site and a short walk to breakfast etc. it rainedd the time we were there, so obviously made more of an impact on us.

Like everyone else on here, it is a great location for walking and relaxing. Our room was fine and did the job for 2 nights. Excellent shower which certainly helped to invigorate after all the walking. I liked the Kendal mint cake on the pillow!

Spa is ok, not much to it, small-ish pool and some quite unfriendly swimmers in there who seem to splash their way around the lanes. Breakfast very good, definitely helped to set us up for the day. Orange juice tasted a bit weird though – but there was pretty else. Really good quality bacon and sausages!

The set up for wainrights is a bit strange. If you go, do take your torch and do be prepared to wait. We waited and waited and gave up in the end, heading back to the hotel for something to eat. Food in the terrace was ok, just let down by the surroundings and lack of atmosphere. We didn’t fancy purdys because the menu didn’t do anything for us (we were restricted somewhat being pregnant and vegetarian) and price seemed way more than it should be for a restaurant that didn’t have the best quality tables, design etc. we opted for ambleside and had a good meal there instead.

I can’t really say too much about the staff as we had very little to do with them. No complaints, but nothing comes to memory as being out of the ordinary either.

Be careful on those windy roads, it really is in the middle of nowhere!

Would I recommend it – yes, I think I would. Not sure it is 4 star, but we enjoyed our time and it certainly flew by!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyWearne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Terrific deal through Travelzoo, £198 B&B & Evening meal. Quality accomodation and great breakfast. Staff are this hotels big asset! Bathroom decor a little dark and the set menu good value but repeated next day. We will certainlyn look out to stray again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

A 4 night break on a deal of £79 B&B for the room which was extremely good value as it included use of the excellent spa. The spa is well laid out and easy to use with helpfull staff, most of the time there was only a couple of people in the pool as this was outside of the school holidays.

We had a signiture room which was large enough and with an extremely powerfull shower, however there were a couple of minor issues. We found hair and a hair band left on a chair and the basin taps had been plumbed so the hot and cold taps were on the wrong side, a minor point but not right if you are of poor sight or right for a 4 star. To be fair the staff immediatley responded and the room was cleaned whilst we were out and maintenance looked at the taps. The room was a ground floor and had to have heavy nets as a footpath passed the window, not a problem to us .

Breakfast in Purdys was supurb and a credit to the kitchen and waiting staff, , fresh good quality served via a buffet with staff around to assist if required. In previous reviews people have complained about having to go to the main building for breakfast, really this is not a problem and is just across the car park, no worries

We had been warned of the current building work by the hotel before our stay and had been given a small value voucher to spend as compensation, The site is well screened and managed but the noise of the machinery was far worse than expected. It was difficult to get away from it at times and no chance of resting in our room which was on the ground floor opposite the site. Parking was a bit tight in some places.

The location is very good situated in the Langdasle valley, you could park the car and not move it enjoying endless walking the Langdales offer. The reception staff were helpfull by providing us with maps of local walks. Wainwrights pub is good within a 3 min walk and because it is part of the hotel you can charge drinks and food to your room. In elterwater which is still only a 3 min walk is the Brittania inn which also serves fine ale and good food. Both pubs are priced about the same. The prices are a little higher than you may find elswhere but I suppose Langdale does command a premium.

Overall an excellent place to stay, my issuses are minor and should not be a deal breaker. Find a deal, have a walk, a swim, sauna ,dinner and wine,,, lovely. yes I would definatley stay here again on a deal out of season.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
3.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
8.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
9.4 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,051 reviews
9.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdale Hotel

Property: Langdale Hotel
Address: Langdale Estate, Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Family Hotel in Ambleside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Langdale Hotel offers a choice of high quality 4-star bedrooms in a variety of styles. All the 56 rooms include Sealy beds manufactured locally in Wigton, Cumbria made up with the finest Egyptian cotton linen, down filled duvets and luxurious finishing touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Langdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdale Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing