We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and ale”

Cuckoo Brow Inn Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and ale”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Loved the roaring open fires and the fact that they let woofers in. Had a great eve sampling the ales, watching the doggies and getting extremely full on the great food and cheese board.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_North_Speaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    128
    35
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Saturday night food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great food, lovely quirky pub with old stables to sit in downstairs. An X-Box for the patrons use and lovely selection of ales

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PhilRon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staveley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely bar/dining area”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Staff were welcoming, food was good and filling (we tried their burger of the week which was a venison and rosemary burger served with cheese in a chunky bun, salad with a lovely dressing, onion rings and fabulous chunky chips for £10.95) Rioja wine at £16.95 was very good! We did have a long wait, but we were apologised to as they explained our ticket hadn't made it through to the kitchen. The bar area is lovely with a log burner in the middle and a nice country pub feel about it. We will definitely go back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The rude welcome received by the blonde bar girl put us off this place for good.”
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at around 5.30pm for drinks and an evening meal. The place was almost empty but all the tables had 'reserved' signs on them.
The bar man was explaining that we could perhaps sit in the stables area when a blonde bar girl came across and rudely said that they wouldn't serve us there or anywhere due to one chef and being booked out.
Her rude attitude was heard by another couple and we all left feeling disappointed and angry by the rotten treatment we'd received.
We never went back and wouldn't ever go either. Went to the nearby pub 'Tower Bank Arms' instead and had a fantastic night with a lovely warm atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy_Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful food and Dog friendly !
It had very nice vegetarian options which most places do not.
The desserts were delicious

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GoldilocksCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cuckoo Brow Inn Restaurant also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Cuckoo Brow Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing