We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield England
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at the Regent and I have to say it was an excellent Hotel. Stand out items, the Staff at reception were superb, very friendly, polite and helpful. The breafasts were really good, great choice, smashing full english. The room was good (not great) no view but apart from this couldn't be faulted. Nice location a few meters from the Lake and a 10 minute walk from Ambleside.

All in all a good place to stay at.

Room Tip: I think they welcome Dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyreman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, I have to say Reception will be delighted and we will pass on your kind comments to rest of the team.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    821
    256
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
824
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

This hotel has proved above and beyond exceptional. We arrived by chance having booked a caravan (which we left as it was filthy) - we were passing and asked if any rooms. I don't want to leave. The lady on reception was outstanding and has done nothing but help. Rooms are exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
We are delighted that we could help with your 'crisis' and that you enjoyed your stay with ,we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This may well be the best review I've ever given as I am toiling to find anything to complain about. We got lost (our fault) and arrived frazzled and the very charming and friendly redhead at reception smoothed our ruffled feathers with a lovely welcome. We had a garden room (huge and very nice with a comfortable bed and we slept like logs both nights), used the bar (ok prices and nice and cozy) and ate in the restaurant the 2nd night (fine dining, good value for money). The service throughout was excellent especially at reception (same person) and at breakfast (everyone but especially the very friendly blonde lady who explained what was available). Vast choice of hot dishes at breakfast, you could easily stay a week and not repeat! The hotel is slightly outsite Ambleside but is only a 15 minute walk away (done by me as a fat, unfit 50s) so you might manage it in 10. If that is too much for you a taxi is only a few pounds or there is a funny eco bus to be found where the boats for lake trips leave from.

Room Tip: We thought the garden room was well worth paying extra for ... quiet and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
What a fantastic review our red headed Receptionist, Lucy is delighted with your very complimentary comments all the receptionist would have like to say it was them but they don't have red hair!!. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Our 4 night stay at the Regent was excellent. The hotel is a family run one as I came to know.
Its a wonderful hotel right next to the ambleside lake.
People here are very arm and always ready to help. The breakfast is simply fantastic, especially the eggs to order.
Only thing which I has a slight problem was the mattress which was OK comfort wise.

Would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Chose a room in the separate wing with flowers in the balcony. Those rooms are better and bigger, ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanishk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
“Excellent stay and wonderful people” this is lovely thank you, we will make sure your kind comments are passed onto the team at the Regent Hotel and we look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Stumbled across this little gem in 1986 when I was sent "Up North" to do some training work for my then employer NatWest Bank. Whenever I return to The Lakes I always try to rebook into The Regent and have never once been let down on Service; Rooms or Food ( i did make the mistake once of venturing further inland to another "hotel"- bad result indeed!)

The rooms have always been very well kept without any hint of lack of cleaning. The food is simply some of the best I've had in a hotel and the breakfasts are to die for. Barwise we always rack up a high bill but thats due to myself and my wife (and the volume she drinks) not the overall cost per unit.

This is a family run business and not a faceless conglomerate- if there are any problems (and I cannot think of any over the years) they will sort it.

I hope that they will return to doing Christmas and New Year breaks again- BTW the out of season 3 or 4 day breaks are superb value for money.

Certainly look to return again and again although the haul up from Bristol is quite a drive. Go- you will not be disappointed. I do feel that some of the "negative" comments on here are possibly a tad vindictive for whatever reason.............

Room Tip: Sail loft is great- all others are very clean and tidy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisJanandAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Return customer from 1986 it doesn't get any better and your coming back again that is great, we look forward to seeing you again, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We wanted a quiet few days away in a clean, friendly hotel with good food and great staff and thats just what we got. Great value for money in a great location. Staff are very friendly and really go out there way to make your stay most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 1st floor are the most spacious but all rooms are back from the main road so traffic no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Just the ticket! I like this just about sums it all up, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel with our six grown children and boyfriends to celebrate 30th wedding anniversary, so we wanted a good time with family who all travelled from afar. The hotel did not disappoint and helped in everyway they could to make this a special event .

The odd little thing like getting breakfast orders wrong was no major issue, ( with 10 orders and one table this was going to happen) the humour of staff was great and rooms were very comfortable and quite.

The whole family had a large table and private area set aside for us. Food in Resturant was wonderfull and excellent value.

I would only have one request of hotel and that is to have proper showers fitted to baths and not shower heads to bath taps. With no screen, it gets messy!

Would I go back is the real review pointer, yes I would and Thank you to the staff...

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor it's great to hear that you and your family had an enjoyable celebration with us at the Regent Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing