We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a night with our dog at this extremely modern hotel. The service was exellent. Welcomed with a friendly greeting for us both and our dog. Dogbowl provided in the room. All staff were great. We chose to eat breakfast in the bar area instead of the resteraunt as that allowed us to have the dog with us instead of leaving her in the room. Would recommend highly to all the dog lovers out there, and everyone else too And the location across the road from lake Windermere is perfect. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay. We will return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Regent we will pass on your kind comments about great service to the staff and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again sometime.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    257
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
835
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I have just spent two nights here with our 1 year old son. Hotel was lovely. We arrived early, but the room was ready so were able to check in, which was great. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were in room 1 in the main hotel. Travel cot had been set up in the room for our son, along with bedding which is unusual in our experience and very welcome as we had a car full with everything else he needed! Despite the cot, there was still plenty of room. Decor was modern and of a good standard. We had a bath with shower over, which was perfect for us.

We have been to Ambleside several times, so knew where the hotel was located, right on Lake Windermere and about 10 mins walk from the town. Lovely location and parking was plentiful.

We had dinner in the bar area the first night, which was good. It was very quiet, which was perfect for us with a toddler who wanted to explore!

Breakfast was fantastic! Love the fact that they serve until 12pm! We we're put in an area off the main room, so weren't too self conscious about our son being noisy. Great choice of breakfast options - definitely something to suit everyone.

Overall we had a lovely break and would definitely return to the hotel. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and happy to accommodate our son. And the great weather we were lucky enough to have topped it off!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank welshbexh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate the feedback and it sounds like you and your toddler had an enjoyable stay with us, thank you.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Cost Data : Prebooked GBP 324 for 3 nights B+B (Fri/Sat/Sun) incl breakfast.

To be honest, this is a bit more expensive than we normally budget for, but we needed to be close to Ambleside on this particular weekend date, and a search of Trip Advisor indicated this to be a not untypical price for a hotel in this area at this time - only hostels or B+B being cheaper, and even they seemed to be 60-70 pounds a night. We were not disappointed.

We had Room 7 which has a side view over the lake, and was very tastefully decorated with modern bathroom suite (shower only - some rooms do have baths if you want one). Clean room and comfy beds. Nice touches (thick pile carpet, plenty of pillows, teapot + cups instead of mugs) which while not deal breakers, add to the overall impression that there is attention to detail here. There is definitely a 'family run' feel to the place which creates a very friendly atmosphere. It took us approx 15 minutes to walk into Ambleside town centre as this hotel is at Waters Edge which as the name implies, is close to the lake itself (a 1 minute walk away). Plenty of on-site car parking (free).

Breakfast - WOW - what can I say. Excellent choice and the hot dishes are freshly prepared - no overcooked eggs and greasy bacon at this establishment. I was impressed that breakfast is served up to 12.00 o'clock midday. If you're on a walking holiday, the breakfast will set you up for the day.

To summarise, maybe not the cheapest hotel we've stayed in, but impressed by the attention to detail. A lovely place to spend the weekend. Will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room/ room with bath (as opposed to shower) if this is important to you as not al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hauxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
It sounds like you had a good time with us at the Regent Hotel especially enjoying the breakfast thank you, we appreciate you writing a review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Had a fantastic weekend break at this stunning hotel. We were greeted by a very helpful and welcoming reception team. All the staff were extremely professional and nothing was too much trouble. The food, service and accommodation was to the highest standard. Cannot find fault with the lovely hotel. Would highly recommend staying here and we are looking forward to returning in May. thank you so much for wonderful weekend. Special thanks to Lucy on reception. See you again soon. Best wishes from Lisa and Andy x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heatherma3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
'Simply Wonderful' it really does not get much better than this, thank you and we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Another great trip to the lakes at the regent, my partner booked this as a birthday present. Great hotel, friendly and kind staff, breakfast brilliant and loads of it!, and you can have it till 12 so you can be lazy and stay in bed. Meals in the restaurant are superb and the bar area after dinner is quiet and comfortable. The only drawback this time is we forgot to ask for a room with a bath, as its whats needed after a long day in the fells!. this will not stop us returning to this great hotel again. We like to visit them at least twice a year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front by the road are quite noisy and if fell walking and you prefer a bath and shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review, we are delighted that you had another enjoyable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We've not been to The Regent for a few years and decided to go back as we had enjoyed it in the past. We were not disappointed. The breakfast was as great as we remembered, something for everyone. And as it's served 'til 12 you don't need to get up just because the chef says so. We also ate in the restaurant at night and this too was fantastic.
We really enjoyed watching the wild Roe Deer from our room, but not sure if this can be guaranteed.
The staff were as friendly and as helpful as ever, nothing is too much trouble. Full marks to this family run hotel that seems to look after its staff as well as its customers. Yep we remembered some and they remembered us too.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob2006Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
We were delighted to see you back at The Regent again and pleased to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us, hopefully you won't leave so long next time before we see you again

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,663 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
533 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing