We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, lovely location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, lovely location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in rooms in the main hotel building. They were comfy, cosy and had easy access to the lake and town centre. The staff were very friendly and breakfast was delicious. We would recommend staying here if you are in Ambleside as its a good base for exploring the lakes.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
" Friendly staff, lovely location.” thank you for this brilliant review it makes all the work worthwhile and we really appreciate the feedback.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    253
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
155
813
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ideally located, just a short walk from the shore of Lake Windermere - The Regent has beautiful rooms, and food to make you not want to go home. We paid for Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal - and really did not want to eat much the rest of the day. The Bar Menu also looks tasty, but we did not need it because we were treated to three courses of deliciousness that left us feeling satisfied and full at the end the meal.

The room was a Courtyard Room - and though not branded as the 'luxury' rooms (which were over the carpark in the 'Garden Rooms') we found the rooms roomy, warm, and very well appointed. We were delighted to find that they were not only near the carpark (making it easy to lug our cases into the room) but were also a stones-throw from the main hotel restaurant where we eat breakfast and dinner. The beds had an especially thick mattress - which made them REALLY comfortable, and though hotel would be happy to change them (for people with allergies) we found the down duvet both light and really warm at the same time. A touch more luxury - my only wonder is why only 3* I've stayed at 4* that had rooms that couldn't be said to be any better than here!

The staff were friendly and made us feel at home. Overall, we would be really happy to come back another time.

We were in the hotel for a week, starting 15th September.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review we are delighted that you had such a good time with us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back when you visit Ambleside.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

my wife and have just spent 3 nights break we thoroughly enjoyed our break. We can honestly say this is the first time that we have stayed anywhere that we would like to go back to. The service from all the team, reception, bar and restaurant was first class at all times. The food was both well presented and of excellent quality and the variety was superb. We are really looking forward to arranging another break and staying at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
It's great when you can find a place that lives up to expectations so that you can enjoy your days away and we are delighted that you found that at The Regent Hotel. Thank you for you kind comments and we hopefully we will see you again when you visit Ambleside.

Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishburn, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very nice hotel in convenient location near the ferry pier and only 5 minutes walk into centre
of Ambleside. We had a garden room which was separate from the main hotel and was very comfortable. We ate dinner in the restaurant the first evening and the food was quite good as was the service. Breakfast was served from 7-12 and were also very good albeit the waiter had a problem with speaking English so ordering could be a challenge - think Manuel from Fawlty Towers - fortunately his female colleague corrected his mistakes as quick as he was producing them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We were welcomed by a friendly receptionist and shown to our room which was a decent size and very clean.

On our first evening we dined in the restaurant and were very pleased with the food, stunning starter and the blade of beef was delicious. The second evening we had the bar food which was again very good, fresh, tasty and piping hot. The breakfast is too lovely. You really cannot grumble about anything.

What made the weekend for us was the attentive staff, everyone is so friendly and helpful. Especially Darryn, he is an absolute credit to the owners and it would not be the same place without him. If I was running a hotel in the Lakes I would be tempted to try and poach him :) We have stayed in 5 star hotels that do not have this level of service or food!

All in all fab stay and we will come back for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsRow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
'Perfect Weekend Break' it really does not get much better than this thank you, we will pass on your very kind comments to Darryn, I am sure he will be delighted!!

Hopefully we will see you again when you visit Ambleside.


Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our first time at this family owned hotel just outside of Ambleside but close to the Northern end of Lake Windermere. We had booked for 4 nights b&b but ate in the hotel restaurant 3 nights out of 4 as the food was very good. Reasonable prices both in the restaurant and bar with a good selection of wines at remarkably good prices. As we booked only a few days before we were in an upper floor courtyard room with a shower. The best shower we have ever had in a hotel! Rooms and all public areas were spotless. Special mention for the staff Darren the South African bar/manager and Neomi Spanish waitress but honestly staff were brilliant. Breakfast served from 8 am to noon is epic, red hot and all very tasty. Well done the owners, we know how hard it is to keep such high standards. We will be returning.

Room Tip: There are some suites which we were unable to view but the staff said they are great and very popula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaunrfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your great review it's really good to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us makes all the hard work worthwhile,

I will pass on your kind comments to all the staff, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great family suite with the kids having their own bunk beds in a separate room, which made our stay very comfortable. The location is fabulous. Parking is convenient right behind the hotel. My parents unfortunately got the attic room opposite us which was not as nice as ours especially as you had to shower on your knees in the bath due to the slope of the ceiling. Service and food was good especially breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your review on TA. I am delighted that you and your family had a great stay with us.
Your parents bathroom did not have a shower due to the lack of height above the bath. We have installed hand spray for people to rinse their hair. I am sorry about any confusion.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you all back again soon.
Kind regards
Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing