We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here with husband and our dog in a courtyard room. Superb hotel, arrived early and we asked if we park the car to go for a walk. We were advised the room was ready and we could access. The room was spotless, beautifully decorated and with everything that you could need. The courtyard room was perfect with having our dog with us, we could access the room directly from the car park. It is fantastic to be able to take our dog to such a lovely hotel.

The hotel is in a great position near to the pier and ferry landing but also near to the town of Ambleside.

The breakfast was an absolute delight. The usual variety of cereals etc and an extensive menu to order from for the cooked breakfast. We both had the cooked breakfast and this was wonderful, freshly cooked to order, extremely well presented and tasted great.

Staff were all very professional and helpful.

Would definitely return and recommend to anyone wanting to stay someone that is high quality.

Many thanks to the owners and staff and hopefully we will return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We are delighted that you found the Regent Hotel to be superb, thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review and we look forward to seeing you sometime in the future.

Kind Regards

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    256
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
161
823
15
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a lovely hotel. Only a nice 10/15 minute walk to town centre. Food was good and breakfasts were incredible. Room well appointed and extremely clean.

Wouldn't hesitate recommending. Ask for a room with a view of the lake.

Lovely hotel staff, pleasant and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: One overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and kind comments, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed in the Regent for 3 nights. I'll start with the good parts:

The rooms are clean (we were in the courtyard, where you can have dogs, but there were virtually no signs that dogs were ever in the rooms).
The location is flawless, perfectly situated near the main entrance to Ambleside (¬10 min walk) or a quick 5 min drive to the water sports center.
The breakfasts are filling and come with a decent range of foods.

Unfortunately, the bads rather outweigh the goods.

Though the hotel has wifi, you cannot access it in the courtyard rooms. You have to go into the bar to get access to it.
The service in the restaurant is attrocious. There is virtually no break between courses, dishes are removed almost as soon as you take the last bite, so you're still chewing as they take your plate away. It all felt very rushed - we had to several times tell them that we weren't ready to order dessert as we were enjoying our wine. They've crossed the line between attentive and annoying.
The walls in the rooms are incredibly thin; we could every single thing that the people in the room said to each other, and they weren't talking particularly loud. At 7am when their children woke up, this became especially annoying.

Perhaps we're judging it harshly because we tend to stay in 5* hotels, but we were very disappointed; it felt like it had the potentialy to be great, but just kept missing it at every opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulCambridge2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Paulcambridge. Thank you for your harsh review on TA. We are disappointed to read your remarks about service. This August Bank Holiday attracted record numbers of visitors to The Lake District that basked in beautiful Sunshine all weekend. I do apologize if we were a little over exuberant at busy times, we did not mean to annoy you!
I am sorry we didn't match up to the 5* hotels you normally tend to stay at , but I do think myself and all my team were trying our very best in what was a very busy and challenging Bank Holiday Weekend.
Yours kindly
Andrew
The Regent Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Regent is situated just across from Lake Windermere and is only a 15 minutes walk from the 'bright lights' of Ambleside. Very well-situated, friendly staff, lovely room..........is that 200 characters?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonpairLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
200 hundred characters or not thank you for your excellent review it really is great to get such positive feedback.

Regards

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Andrew and Linda Walker from Scotland found this gem of a hotel some 10 years ago.We have kept going back because we can't find a better place to stay in the Lake District area.The Hewitt family have made us sooooo welcome with superb service,delicious food,advise on area and friendly all round staff.Well done "The Hewitts".I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.A guarenteed relaxing stay with all your needs catered for.Surroundings,decor and ambiance.Do yourself a favour and give it a go.

Room Tip: We have always requested rooms in main building but have used other outlying rooms for family and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review .It was great to welcome you back once again to The Regent and we are all delighted you had a great stay.
Thanks again and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kindest regards
Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We booked a 2 night break as an Anniversary treat for ourselves and what a treat it turned out to be. The Regent was a real gem

- furnishings were modern and very comfortable,

- all staff, without exception, were friendly, courteous and very helpful,

- breakfasts were excellent with quality, local ingredients and what a treat....served until 12.00!

- dinners had loads of choice, we had trouble narrowing it all down for 2 nights......could have done with staying for a week!! The food was delicious, presented well and beautifully cooked. It was lovely not to have to book a time for dinner but just go to the bar/lounge area when ready. This was far more relaxing and worked very well.

- we had an upstairs, courtyard room which was furnished nicely, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We were delighted to find a fridge in the room too.

- the position of the hotel was just perfect, we didn't have to use the car at all until we left! Lake Windermere is literally over the road along with the ferry terminals. Walks from the hotel are in abundance and Ambleside is a short stroll away.

All in all, a lovely, relaxing stay, would definitely recommend The Regent and hope to return for a winter break. A big thank you to all the staff and also for our Anniversary card.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
What a lovely review with extremely kind comments, thank you we are delighted that you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Excellent location for access to the lakes – as canoeist we were able to launch from the quay side which was literally 20m across the road. We paid an extra £10 to keep the room open until 14:00 so hit the lake after breakfast (which starts at 08:00). Upon request they also changed the towels in the rooms, so when we came back off the lake they were there waiting. Overall great location (Ambleside is also a nice 10 min walk away too). Great location with parking- good shower and friendly staff (even when we were soaked and in all our canoe gear collecting the key).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwertyFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
What a cracking review, it's wonderful when somebody appreciates everything you do for them, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
1.9 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing