We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor comments and stayed one night on bed and breakfast.
Easy to find and very central for all Lake District attractions. Checking in was pleasant and quick and partner's bag carried to the room by staff. We booked a table for dinner again based on reviews on here.
Our first floor room had a very nice view of the lake overlooking the main road which we thought might be noisy but in fact was very quiet and did not disturb us at all. The room was well laid out with everything you need and a large shower in the spotlessly clean bathroom.
The hotel was warm which was good as the outside temperature was around zero and we had a drink in the bar before going through for dinner. I had Lakeland Lamb and my partner had the Braised Blade of Beef. Both were excellent and tasty. We are small eaters so did not choose a starter but those being served around us looked very appetising.
Breakfast was served in the dining room from 8 till 12 (that must be a record!). Again the service and choice was well above average and we can highly recommend both the hotel and the food for Lake District visitors. We would have no hesitation in returning.

Room Tip: Room 7 has a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WakefieldYorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We like pleasant suprises and we are delighted that the Regent suprised you and that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully we will see you again when you visit Ambleside.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    253
    63
    17
    13
See reviews for
155
814
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Tastefully decorated and welcoming staff greeted us for our one night stay. The room was comfortable with modern en suite and fabulous view over the lake and the jetty. AMazing breakfast and evening meal was good value for money. Would go back on our next Lake District visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurnedgeSaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
“Relaxing hotel great food good location” it doesn't get much better than this thankyou for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked for 2 nights for special birthday treat. Thought I had booked a suite through booking.com but when we arrived, I was slightly disappointed when we got a superior garden room. These rooms are great but just not quite what we wanted.

We had room 42 which is the middle one but it has a room above which can be quite noisy. Steven on reception was more than happy to move us to room 40 (no room above this one). But......I stewed over the room all night and finally in the morning spoke with Karen on reception who advised that you cannot book suites with anyone except through the hotel,. She handed me the keys to Latterbarrow suite and YES this was what we were hoping. Well done Regent for excellent customer service and massive hearty breakfasts. We will come back and book direct, thanks for making my birthday treat so special.

Room Tip: Book direct with hotel to ensure you get the room you want Latterbarrow suite for families - room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minkymum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are delighted that you especially enjoyed Latterbarrow one of our suites and we look foward to welcoming you back again next time you visit Ambleside.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend with our 2 dogs in a courtyard room. Hotel was lovely and rooms modern and clean. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and was a huge bonus that it was served untill 12. We also stayed and ate in the restaurant in the evening, food was delicious and beautifully presented. The location is excellent and is just metres from Windermere lake. If i had to pick a small negative, the rooms are quite small, we had a double and single bed in a small area. This would not stop us staying again, would reccommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindseyAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are delighted that you had a great weekend with us enjoying all that The Regent has to offer, we will pass on your kind comments to all concerned and we look forward to welcoming you back when you visit Ambleside again.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed with my wife and dog over the weekend , food excellent , best breakfast for ages, staff the friendliest , had fortune to meet the owners and son / manager so friendly they bought toast for the dog ! I have travelled all over the world and have rarely experienced such nice people this showed through to all the guests that weekend who were equally friendly .
We will be back for sure .
Graham Janand Dude the dog

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
What a lovely kind review we are so pleased that you had a good time with us and we will certainly pass on your extremely complimentary comments to everyone, thankyou.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently stayed for two nights at The Regent Hotel on their special dinner/bed & breakfast basis. We could use one word to describe our experience - faultless! Our room was a good size and although the bathroom was small it did include a bath with shower over which I had requested. The staff were friendly, attentive and professional. The food deserves a special mention, beautifully presented and a choice for every diet, the breakfast was superb and our choices for the evening meal were absolutely delicious, the crisp white table linen and sparkling glasses added to the dining experience. The hotel came recommended to us by friends and we certainly weren't disappointed. We would hope to return to The Regent when next visiting the area. Thank you for
making our stay so special.

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic room in the main hotel which was perfect for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystarrynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience with us at The Regent and we look foward to welcoming you back when you visit Ambleside sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have been going to this hotel every winter for nearly twenty years and the Hewitt family never fail to improve on their already very high standards. Ideally situated for a short walk into Ambleside or more strenuous trek close by, and with Lake Windemere on the doorstep, location is everything!
Food is always glorious and wines, especially if you let Andrew choose for you, are always the best. Modern decor in a traditional hotel where you are made to feel special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank forgel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, Owner at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
It was great to see you at the weekend. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighted you enjoyed your special weekend with us once again and that you enjoyed my wine recommendations.Thank you for bringing your special French aperitief 'Suze' for us to try . We will all look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary in 2014.
Best regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.7 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
3.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel and Spa
Langdale Hotel and Spa
#7 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing