We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Third visit”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel three times we will definitely be staying again. Lovely rooms, good food & fantastic friendly enthusiastic staff. Good location by the lake & the ferries. Breakfast is served until 12 so no need to set your alarm. Plenty of walks directly from the hotel so leave your car & enjoy the surroundings.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are larger & very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sutty_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Third visit, that is fantastic and the best form of advertising you can get!! we look forward to welcoming you back for the fourth time.

Thankyou Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    259
    66
    17
    13
See reviews for
164
848
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed in the garden suite and was really impressed with the location as it was separate from the main body of the hotel creating quite a romantic feel. Immaculately clean, modern and well furnished throughout. The hotel also presented in the same way. Food was amazing and the staff were outstanding. Great place to go.

Room Tip: would suggest the garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It's great to hear that you had a good time with us at The Regent enjoying our Superior Garden Rooms which are very popular.

If you would like to visit us again please look on the website for our best available rates.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

As normal for the Regent, great food, great wine, great service, great room, the team are always smiling and seem to be happy, The breakfast! I challange anyone to say that they could not find anything they wanted on the menu, we loved that it is served late into the morning, no need to jump up early and rush down.

Room Tip: Room 1 is large with all you might need, however look out of the window and you can only see up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
It's so good to hear that you had a great time with us at The Regent Hotel and everthing lived upto your expectations, thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here between Christmas and new year 2012. Staff very friendly, nice room, very clean, good views of the lake. Stayed on the top floor in a family room which was fairly spacious. Would definitely return. Had a lovely time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in a garden room for 2 nights including new years eve. Our room was lovely - immaculately clean with everything you would need . So comfortable and quiet. Just a few paces away from the main building and even though it was windy and raining one evening this did not bother us. Plenty of car parking space.

Staff were welcoming and really friendly and efficient. Nice areas to sit and have drinks. The restaurant is very tastefully decorated however some tables for 2 were a little close to each other. The evening meal was excellent with a nice choice of dishes. More courses were added for new years eve. Breakfast till 12 - brilliant. The best cooked breakfast we have ever had.

We loved it here and could not fault anything. A lovely relaxing time after Christmas. We look forward to our next visit .

The hotel is only 2 minutes walk away from lake Windermere for a stroll or boat trips on the lake. There is also a small park on the edge of the lake to sit and relax.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluetwo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
“Excellent in every way” it really doesn't get much better than this, it makes all the hard work worthwhile, thankyou. We are delighted that you had a fantastic New Year with us and we look forward to seeing you again at The Regent.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights for my partners 30th birthday and were extremely pleased.
The room was a little on the small side, but well presented and perfect for what we needed. The breakfast and evening meals were superb, with a lovely team of waiting staff, and also a nice little bar area. For something different the HUGE pub over the road is lovely, especially in the sun when you can enjoy the garden and the going on of the harbour.

The location cannot be faulted directly in front of Lake Windermere, what more could you want in a location. Ideal area to stay on its own, but also a great base for the rest of the lakes area, and suited us perfectly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gstaraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, it's good to get such positive feedback as the team really try hard to ensure that all our guests have a great experience when they stop with us at The Regent.

Hopefully we will beable to welcome you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator Moor
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Room was comfortable and nicely decorated, only had a bath and no shower which was a little odd but managed fine as we were only there for one night. The room next door had a shower so maybe not all like this. The staff were brilliant and made us very welcome. We had dinner, bed and breakfast and the food & drink was fantastic. Hotel is also quite nicely placed as it is a little walk out of town but right by the lake. Will definitely consider stopping again or just going to the restaurant if we're passing through.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Well it sounds from your review that you were not disappointed with your last minute stop at The Regent, we really appreciate your kind comments which we will pass onto the staff and certainly the chef!!

Thankyou.

Andrew Hewitt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,673 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,383 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rothay Manor Hotel
Rothay Manor Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ambleside
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Property: The Regent Hotel
Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#4 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing