We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Regent Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Glen Rothay Hotel(Rydal)(Great Value!)
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langdale Hotel(Ambleside)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$186
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$214
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fisherbeck(Ambleside)
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Ambleside)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,295)
Filter reviews
1,295 results
Traveler rating
923
273
69
17
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
273
69
17
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssail loftuntil nooncourtyard roomhewitt familysteak nightlate breakfastlovely hotelthe main hotelwaterhead baysuperior roomcar parklake districtbreakfast is serveda stones throwview of the lakeboth nightsnight break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,026 - 1,031 of 1,295 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for a two night break in this hotel. We know the location very well having visited Ambleside and Bowness-on-Windermere many times over the years. We were pleasantly surprised with the hotel (and the other hotel reviewed by us here where we stayed the following weekend).

The great and good points:
• Superb location close to the waterfront of Windermere
• Restyled reception and bar to very high standard
• Superb rooms available across the courtyard which felt very private
• Warm, friendly and welcoming staff - we would like to single out Kiri who excelled in every respect
• Great food and service in the restaurant and bar
• Stylish, well appointed bedroom
• Gorgeous fluffy towels and bathrobes
• Very comfortable bed
• Bottled water in the room
• Wi-Fi in the room

The not so good points:
• Although tea and coffee making possible in the room, only instant coffee provided
• The provided toiletries were not of a particularly high standard
• There was an awful smell to the napkins both at breakfast and dinner - this could be a storage problem or an issue with the laundering company, but was very noticeable
• Like someone else mentioned, room 43 smelled a little musty

Overall a great hotel, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very nice, they do not have a lake view but feel very secluded
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinfff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review we really appreciate your feedback and we have taken all your comments on board and we are glad that overall you felt The Regent was a great hotel and in a great location.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I was given three nights as a 60th Birthday gift, which I took a year later.
We had a wonderful long weekend stay, the food was excellent, and the location and service outstanding.

The room was modern and had plenty of facilities, tea and coffee making, bottled water, and biscuits all freely available.

The Hotel is not cheap, but is good value for the area in which it is located, I would definitely go again and look forward to doing so next year.

Room Tip: Try to obtain a room away from the main road, overlooking the enclosed courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duncanmoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, Front Office Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Sir, Thank your for your lovely review. We are all pleased that you enjoyed our hospitality and that you enjoyed our restaurant and facilities. We hope you will visit us again next Birthday!Thank you again and kind regards
Richard & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Having peviously come here and been impressed we decided to return a year later for a few days in June. Very modern, clean and well presented this hotel is situated in a beautiful area and we have to admit this is one of the best hotels we have been to. A note to add is that the food is superb with a lot of choice at dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Karl, Thank you for visiting us again at The Regent Hotel this Summer. Again we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your trouble in writting this lovely review.
Hope we see you again next Summer, thanks again and kind regards
Andrew & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Welcomed into a lovely reception area staff could not have been more helpfull,booked a graden
room which we were shown to well set out everything you require spotless only down point slight musty / damp smell when entering room (43).
Great food and so many choices for breakfast which is served up till noon great if you like a lie in.
Great location short walk to ambleside and only 5 mins from pier were you can catch ferry enjoyed 30 min trip to boness and return.
Again my thanks to all the staff who could not do enough to make your stay enjoyable after many trips to the lakes we have found a great hotel, staff and location will definately return when next in the lakes

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Dear Cumbernauld13, Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments it means so much to all the team.
It will stop raining soon! Then we can all dry out!
Thank you again and we all look forward to welcoming you back to The Regent soon
Kind regards
Andrew & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

small hotel, room very clean and well serviced, pleasant helpful staff, great location across the road from the lake, food very nice albeit it expensive- as is everywhere in this area, although choice on menu could be improved. But not a big problem, breakfast superb. Cd slot in television and hotel had a good selection of dvds which we could have -free of charge.
Hotel was quiet at night, and any music played in restaurant or lounge was always low background which was perfect (and unusual in this noisy world)
have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a bath ask for it -all rooms do not have bath, some are shower only (although the shower is good).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2012

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and it is really good to hear that you enjoyed The Regent Hotel finding it cosy and quiet especially enjoying the food and the great choice of complimentary CD's!!

The best form of advertising is when somebody recommends you so thank you for that kind comment and hopefully we will see you again.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews