We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great value”
Review of The Regent Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2011

I've stayed at the regent a number of times over the last few years and have always found it a lovely place. Staff and management are friendly and yet efficient, food is really good, not overly fancy but good quality ingredients, well cooked and rooms are comfortable. We always have a courtyard room which doesn't have much view but is comfortable, clean and attractive and is also very handy for late night walkies with the dog! One more thing, the hotel is always beautifully decorated for Christmas during December, well worth a pre Christmas lakeland shopping trip. The hotel is quite small and family run and doesn't really specialise in things like 24 hour room service and late night entertainment, but it is perfect for a quality, relaxing, friendly break.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank escalator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2011

Thanks for your great review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you stay with us on a regular basis and hopefully we will see you nearer Christmas when the hotel is all festive!!

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,273 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2011

Me & my husband stayed for two nights in the Sail Loft room. The balcony over looks the Lake at Waterhead Bay, the room was spotless clean & plenty of space with a very modern bathroom with a jacuzzi bath. The breakfast is the best we've ever had! The food in the restaurant was excellent & not over priced. The staff are very friendly & efficient, overall a great place to stay only a short walk to Ambleside town.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdllwy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

Wow! what a great review, we do appreciate you taking the time to write such generous comments and pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Sail Loft and all that it has to offer.

Hopefully we we will see you again sometime in the future, Thanks again.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed at the Regent Hotel for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. From the minute we arrived we found the service excellent, the staff were very helpful and gave us all the information we would need for our stay. We stay in the Sail Loft which was lovely, it was so nicely decorated and had everything in the room that you could possibly want and need. We liked the seating area at the top of the stairs/entrance to our room; the view straight on to the lake was wonderful. We were staying bed & breakfast and I must say that the menu choice for breakfast was amazing there was so much to choose from and the quality was extremely good. Again the staff were very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I would recommend the hotel and when I next visit the lakes I will definitely stay at the Regent Hotel

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FJH16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thanks for your great review, It's good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Regent Hotel and the Sail Loft was perfect for your Wedding Anniversary.

We appreciate your kind comments about the staff, we will pass these onto them and we look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights from Sunday 7th August and loved the Hotel. The decor was excellent and the service superb. The staff were very efficient and friendly and the food was very good. We stayed in one of the suites which we loved. The location is great and is only a stones throw from the lake and a short walk from Ambleside. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayBratton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate your lovely comments and I'm please you liked our Latterbarrow Suite with the lovely lake view from the lounge. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Regent, and thanks again.
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Well for a start, the weather was not the best to say the least. The pleasing thing is that after a day taking in the glory of the area you arrive back at a well presented Hotel, the "sail room" where we stayed was fantastic, own private enterence and was very cosy and romantic to say the least.. Tip, take your ipod.... there is a docking station in the room and the sound it produces is fantastic...... shame the management cannot guarantee the weather.

i would like to thank the young gentleman whom insisted to carry luggage to the room.... sorry i cannot remember his name.....

To improve.........a complimentry drinks fridge wiuld have made the stay far more pleasurable, wouldnt have had to stock too much, just be a nice touch.

Bad things..... none that can think of, well that the hotel could remedy anyway..... it was a guest at breakfast whom annoyed the living daylights out of me with his jumper tied round his neck, talking like he owned half of the lakes ordering Champaign breakfast and letting everybody know about it..... ithought what a ****** ! and was not the only guest whom thought that, just this i will say it !!!!!!!!

thankyou for a pleasant stay....highly recommended, great location.....thankyou !!!!!!!!

Oh, for the men, if you dont get any browny points from the Mrs for booking this hotel.....she should be have come with the ****** mentioned earlier !!!!!!!!!!!

Andy & Kirstie

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RUDYW1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2011

Thank you for your great review, I am very please you enjoyed your recent stay with us in The Sail Loft. I am sorry we couldn't organise better weather for you! We will try harder next time! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

I would just like to point out for reference that the two photo's posted in this review are not of The Sail Loft or The Regent Hotel. Thank you again.
Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Recently booked a saturday night at the hotel. Booked over the phone and although I felt the £155 per room a bit pricey, when I looked at the photo's thought it would be worth it. I feel the pictures on the website don't actually reflect the rooms, obviously not the one we were given. I was told that we could book in at 12 but when we arrived there was a little confusion, however it was sorted quickly and we were shown our garden room, actually it was a room that looked out to the car park. No one explained where breakfast was to be served or location of pool but we found out anyway by generally having a look around.

The room was quite big with a little seating area on the balcony overlooking the car park bathroom I felt was a little small the jacuzzi bath was good, plenty of hot water and nice white fluffy dressing gowns but the seal around the bath needs fixing and no facecloths, good supply of toiletries. The bed is comfy and there is a couch in the room, but a little low for my husband so he sat on the bed.

The pool is very small and was locked when I went to have a look, the girl on the desk opened it and gave me 2 towels(free of charge) but wouldn't give me the key code, if it closes come and get me she said. The changing area is a cupboard, not very comfortable and glad there was only my husband and I as it wouldn't be comfortable for more than a few people.

The breakfast is excellent and the staff helpful, it is quiet in the morning but not being the shy type asked for more coffee and toast and the girls responded quickly and politely.

Chose the hotel for its location near the bay and wanted to park the car and leave it which we did. Although the hotel offers food and there is a pub across the road we opted for good old fashioned fish and chips from the chippy near the pier, excellent and cost £6 each, we sat and watched the swimmers, a night swim by long distance swimmers was taking place
chatted to people and watched the world go by.

I suppose I was expecting a little more for the money I paid in terms of luxury and think next time I will check out more thoroughly what you get for your money. Have stayed in the lakes many times and can get same quality for half the price but perhaps not as close to the bay

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiverpoolIra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

We are surprized to hear that you were not completely satisfied with the Garden room that you booked for Saturday night, these rooms are very popular and have a regular clientele that visit on numerous occasions, you must appreciate that you booked a Saturday night for one night in August hence the higher price.

Our pool is locked for health and safety reasons, but we are more than happy to let anybody in at anytime and give them towels as we do need to know who is in the pool.

I believe when you checked in at 12 o'clock that the receptionist quickly had the room checked for you and that you could occupy the room straight away, the slight hesitation is because people don't have to vacate until 11am and we were just checking the room was ready for you as our normal check-in time is 3pm.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and hopefully you will visit us again at the Regent Hotel sometime in the future.

Andre Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed in a Garden room for 9 nights.
The room was very good and enjoyed blacony especially as covered so could stay out in rain. The breakfasts were excellent, good choice, and the evening meals were good value for money. Service was very good, tried room service which was quick and efficient.
The hotel location is fantastic being near the lake and Watrehead being a pleasant place to start any trip, for anywhere in the Lake District.
We throughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay here again when we revisit the lakes.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms looked the best although the garden is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentLakes, General Manager at The Regent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Regent Hotel.

It sounds like you had a great time enjoying all the facilites and all the activities available from the door, including your own private balcony.

We appreciate your comments about the hearty breakfast which we serve from 8am to 12 noon and dinner which you felt was good value for money and we look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

Andrew Hewitt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
0.8 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,767 reviews
3.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Tebay Services Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Langdale Chase Hotel
Langdale Chase Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regent Hotel

Address: Waterhead Bay, Ambleside LA22 0ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $131 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regent Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Windermere, The Regent Hotel is one of the Lake District's premier hotels. Just minutes from all the picturesque villages of Ambleside, Grasmere,Windermere,Hawkshead and Coniston this family-run hotel is an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area. The Regent Hotel offers a wide range of facilities for guests including cosy bar serving great bar food and local beers all day. An elegent restaurant serving fresh locally sourced food including Lamb, shrimps and Fellbred beef. Plus our superb Late Breakfast is served until 12noon everday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Regent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Ambleside
Ambleside Regent
The Regent Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing