We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really 4 star”
Review of Brathay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brathay Lodge
Ranked #33 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not really 4 star”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We booked a weekend here for the xmas lights turn on after seeing good reviews on here. We booked the best double room at the top of the house.As far as I could tell the only thing that made it a 'superior' room was the fact that it had a DVD player, not really what you need for a weekend in the lakes !! The first problem was the room, especially bathroom, had a very fusty damp smell. Even though it was quite chilly we needed the bedroom window wide open the whole weekend. The company we booked through failed to inform us it was only a continental breakfast, now the choice for a continental breakfast was good. but come on people are away for a weekend, break out the bacon and eggs !!. And why are the biscuits on ration ?? 2 people in a room, 1 packet of biscuits on the tea tray !! that and a hole and badly worn room carpet is why I dont think its really a 4 star !, its clean, its pleasent, its not cheap and if it is sooo nice surely the owners would live there!!! Oh and finally....the jacuzi bath....very relaxing, until the next door room use theirs, then its like you are in a cement mixer !

Room Tip: always take the cheapest room available, all you get if you pay more is a load of twisting stairs an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    71
    25
    8
    0
See reviews for
52
151
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile


Hi just to say what a great hotel. Warm friendly. Pet friendly really nice helpfull staff great to come back to after a day. Of walking we found it cosy. Relaxining and. A gteat continental breakfast. Great. Choice i was with my hubbie and dog dexter. And. We will. Be back as soon as work allows. Real gem of a find the area speaks for itsself
Karen. Motherwell

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 943quickbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This very welcomimg family run hotel is ideally situated with Windermere Lake a short stroll away, and on the edge of Ambleside village centre. The rooms are very comfortable with jacuzzi bath, tea & coffee etc. flat screen modern tv plus our room had a dvd, with a selection of films available from reception at no extra charge. Breakfast was served in the main building, continental / buffet style but with plenty of choice. All in all an excellent hotel, we will return.

Room Tip: Room 5 is ideal for a couple, with private entrance to the side of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

recently stayed at the Brathay Lodge on a voucher deal. Ideally situated on the road into Ambleside town centre so easy access to shops, bars and restaurants. Our room was at the back of the property so nice and quiet.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Room was a good size and clean; the bed was comfortable.
The bathroom was larger than the average.
Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice: muffins, lovely fresh crumpets and croissants. Thick cut bread for toast as well as cereals, fruit and yoghurts. If things ran out they were quickly replenished.
Car parking on site.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onelifeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked through KGB deals so good price for what we got. Our pet friendly room was excellent, no steps ground floor with hardwood flooring which we welcomed after our muddy walk. Room spacious only gripe was jacuzzi didn't work on our bath and mattresses were very hard. Location spot on only a couple mins walk to centre of Ambleside and loads of walks from the nearby church. Even though breakfast was continental there was plenty of choice. Would come back if we found another deal

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodyubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here through a KGB voucher and wasn't disappointed. Room was really nice and homely. Continental breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Location was also perfect for walks and eating out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed on Saturday and Sunday night with wife and baby.
Room spacious and very cosy despite chilly weather. Very clean.
We asked for an ice bucket so we could keep an emergency bottle cool over night in case baby woke up. Instead they kindly offered us a mini fridge.
Staff very helpful can continental breakfast buffet was great.
Have given sleep quality 3 out of 5 as the matress was a bit firm for my liking - just a personal thing.
Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acha_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.3 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
541 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#44 of 103 in Ambleside
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#17 of 103 in Ambleside
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hillsdale in Ambleside
Hillsdale in Ambleside
#10 of 103 in Ambleside
612 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#41 of 103 in Ambleside
206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#6 of 103 in Ambleside
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brathay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brathay Lodge

Property: Brathay Lodge
Address: Rothay Road | Cumbria, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brathay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run Ambleside bed and breakfast offers free on-site parking, free Wi-Fi, and bedrooms with a spa bath, shower and king-size beds. There are scenic views over Wansfell and Loughrigg. Brathay Lodge was built around 1890 and is very well located for walkers, mountain bikers and golfers visiting the Lake District. Ambleside has many restaurants and bars offering different types of cuisine. Rooms at Brathay Lodge are spread over 4 floors, with access using stairs. Some rooms have Lakeland views and balconies. Fair trade tea and coffee with biscuits are available in the rooms whilst all bathrooms have luxurious spa baths with shower over. A continental buffet breakfast is served each morning in the warmly decorated dining room overlooking the garden. The bed and breakfast is close to the centre of Ambleside and scenic walks. Lake Windermere is about 10 minutes' walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brathay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brathay Hotel Ambleside
Brathay Lodge Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing