We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault anything!”
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #21 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Could not fault anything!”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just got back from a two night stay at the Old Vicarage, we had a great time, our room number 8 which has two rooms, a single bed for our three year old and a kingsize in our room. The bathroom has a walk in shower and seperate Jacuzzi bath, well decorated and modern. The tv has a built in dvd player which was great for our son. The pool, jacuzzi, sauna were alL excellent. we had a great time, I have read some of the negative reviews, ie pool to cold, water in the jacuzzi to high, To exspensive. Really!

There we several couples with dogs, they made no noise and were no threat to our three year old.

We will be back for sure, as we could not fault anything.

Room Tip: Room 8 two rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    77
    11
    9
    11
See reviews for
89
231
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited in mid January after seeing reviews on TripAdvisor. When we arrived we were greated by a jolly gentleman stocking up the coal supplies for the fire as it had been a crisp night previously and they were expecting the same that night! We were shown up to to our room by one of the ladies who then offered us a pot of tea in the front room when we were ready. Our room was exeptional. Very tidy, very well presented and with what looked like a newly fitted bathroom. We couldnt have asked for more! There was also a handy mini fridge that we could use for our own drinks etc. In our room there was a dvd and video player. Lots of book cases full of titles to choose from in the hall ways so if you were bored you had plenty to choose from.

We only stayed the one night but from what we saw we were very impressed and will be staying here again some time.

One little note however, the car park is a little tight. Dont let this put you off, more of a heads-up!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton le Moors, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just got back from a six night stay at The Old Vicarage Ambleside. On arrival we were greeted by a charming member of staff who offered us a fresh pot of coffee and biscuits. We found the room of a very high standard, with everything you need including a spa bath, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, TV with DVD player and even a vhs player. There is also a great selection of films to go at. We found the staff at the hotel to be friendly and very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble, they will even provide plates etc if you want to bring a take away back and eat it in the comfort of your room. If you are a dog owner you can take your dog free of charge. After reading some reviews on trip adviser I find it difficult to believe some of the comments that some people have made, especially the ones that are made twelve months after the visit. I have never written a review before but I (we) find it unfair that such a well run business should be criticized by picky rude people. Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so perfect. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms are of high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Albert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had yet another good time here so very warm and cosy in the hotel Ben had a ball went out every day the weather was not bad at all. In the pool and hot tub every day just to unwind perfect cant wait till next time thank you all at the old vicarage .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Firstly on the property : stunning place lovely rooms and pool, the owners or staff, I found them a little odd and yes maybe a tad rude, complaining about us asking for a coffee then going for a swim as they walked off and didn't say they were bringing one out, as I said earlier loved the place but it doesn't warrant the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Weekends away at the old Vic at the end of Jan are a regular feature in our walking program. Its hard to beat the friendly atmosphere, log fires, spacious well equipped bedrooms, hearty breakfasts, pool, hot tub and sauna facilities. This venue is ideal in its situation in the heart of ambleside whilst being in secluded beautiful grounds of its own. We keep coming back here year in year out were already booked for next year and can not find anywhere to match the value for money and excellent service we receive. Would highly recommend the vicarage as a venue for a trip to the lakes.

Room Tip: Room No.3, spacious twin with seating area, large bathroom and stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to The Old Vicarage in Ambleside. We decided to go up to the lakes for a days walking with our dog Alf quite last minute so only booked a day or two earlier. We were asked when we were thinking of arriving and then our room would be ready for us. We arrived about midday and our room was ready. We were actually up graded to a great room which was set out over 2 floors with a cute spiral staircase between the bathroom and small living area and the lovely bedroom with a huge bed.

Everything was lovely and clean; whirlpool bath, wonderful power shower, selection of DVDs and videos, bathrobes and slippers, tea, coffee and kettle. There is also a small swimming pool in the hotel, sauna and hot tub which was great to use after a long walk. Just put your bathrobe on and walk down to it. I had it all to myself! It's was very relaxing!

The Old Vicarage is suituated in a wonderful location just off the main high street with private parking. There are lots of tea rooms, restaurants and a couple of pubs all within walking distance.

We asked for maps for walks and were given lots to choose from varying in length, time and terrain. We went for a 2 hour walk following the map that was given to us. Alf had a ball :)

Breakfast in the morning was great. Lots if choice including fry up, veggie fry up, eggs Benedict (was yummy) poached eggs on toast etc etc. It was all delicious.

We shall be returning to The Old Vicarage soon- thank you for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedford_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 103 in Ambleside
92 reviews
3.9 mi away
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Hawkshead
227 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#48 of 103 in Ambleside
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Vicarage Road, Ambleside LA22 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel Ambleside
Old Vicarage Ambleside
The Old Vicarage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing