We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Vicarage
Nearby Hotels
Brathay Lodge(Ambleside)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$212
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Regent Hotel(Ambleside)
$141
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake House(Ambleside)
$145
$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$174
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wateredge Inn(Ambleside)
$165
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yewfield Bed & Breakfast(Hawkshead)(Great Value!)
$117
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveler rating
336
89
12
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
336
89
12
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitesauna and hot tubswimming poolrothay parkice machinerobes and slippersdog ownersplates and cutleryon arrivaltea and biscuitsadded bonusmini fridgedressing gownsdog friendly hotelreal bonushearty breakfastlounge area
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 458 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Firstly on the property : stunning place lovely rooms and pool, the owners or staff, I found them a little odd and yes maybe a tad rude, complaining about us asking for a coffee then going for a swim as they walked off and didn't say they were bringing one out, as I said earlier loved the place but it doesn't warrant the price.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Weekends away at the old Vic at the end of Jan are a regular feature in our walking program. Its hard to beat the friendly atmosphere, log fires, spacious well equipped bedrooms, hearty breakfasts, pool, hot tub and sauna facilities. This venue is ideal in its situation in the heart of ambleside whilst being in secluded beautiful grounds of its own. We keep coming back here year in year out were already booked for next year and can not find anywhere to match the value for money and excellent service we receive. Would highly recommend the vicarage as a venue for a trip to the lakes.

Room Tip: Room No.3, spacious twin with seating area, large bathroom and stunning views.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have just returned from a trip to The Old Vicarage in Ambleside. We decided to go up to the lakes for a days walking with our dog Alf quite last minute so only booked a day or two earlier. We were asked when we were thinking of arriving and then our room would be ready for us. We arrived about midday and our room was ready. We were actually up graded to a great room which was set out over 2 floors with a cute spiral staircase between the bathroom and small living area and the lovely bedroom with a huge bed.

Everything was lovely and clean; whirlpool bath, wonderful power shower, selection of DVDs and videos, bathrobes and slippers, tea, coffee and kettle. There is also a small swimming pool in the hotel, sauna and hot tub which was great to use after a long walk. Just put your bathrobe on and walk down to it. I had it all to myself! It's was very relaxing!

The Old Vicarage is suituated in a wonderful location just off the main high street with private parking. There are lots of tea rooms, restaurants and a couple of pubs all within walking distance.

We asked for maps for walks and were given lots to choose from varying in length, time and terrain. We went for a 2 hour walk following the map that was given to us. Alf had a ball :)

Breakfast in the morning was great. Lots if choice including fry up, veggie fry up, eggs Benedict (was yummy) poached eggs on toast etc etc. It was all delicious.

We shall be returning to The Old Vicarage soon- thank you for a wonderful visit!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bedford_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked at last minute as a treat for our anniversary for a night in the garden suite. The suite was fantastic,had everything we needed and more. The outdoor deck area was an unexpected bonus and despite the rain and sleet we still spent time outside enjoying the view. Bathroom is brilliant with a whirlpool tub and a double shower,just what we needed to warm up after a walk. Arrived to find out we also had use of a swimming pool,hot tub and sauna as well at no extra charge which was a real bonus. Breakfast was spot on with plenty of choice and staff where really friendly and helpful. Already booked again to come back and keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DannyBirtwistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is our 2nd visit in 3 months and we are looking to visit again in April.
The Old Vicarage is a beautiful well maintained family run establishment. The owners take great pride in their home/business and as a result this reflects on the great service they provide.
You are encouraged to make the place home during your stay.
We stayed in the Garden Suite on this times visit and room 1 on our previous visit. Both rooms were very different in their own unique way but equally stunning and comfortable.
The house itself is very beautiful and you would never know from the outside that it has been extended.
The pool area is lovely and it is very relaxing, wih space to sit and read or chill out if you so wished.
The lounge area is huge and there is a log fire in there too. We pulled the settee in front of the fire and had our pjs on while listening to a bit of music and having a drink. Bliss!
All in all The Old Vicarage is a stunning little piece of the lakes and I would encourage everyone I know who is visiting the lakes to stay there.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandynSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews