We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice time at the old vicarage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Vicarage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Vicarage
Ranked #22 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice time at the old vicarage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is are 30th time there and can't wait to go back the hotel is so nice clean child friendly nothing to much trouble and very cosy roll on the next time

Room Tip: Disable room good plenty of room and down stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    75
    11
    9
    11
See reviews for
85
220
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Just got back from a great weekend in Ambleside staying at the Old Vicarage.
Credit where credit is due....fab B&B.
Breakfast superb...very tasty.
Rooms lovely and the whole place was welcmoming and nothing was too much trouble.
Would without doubt recomend this lovely B&B.
Added bonus were swimming pool, jacuzzi and Sauna which after a long days walk were fantstic.
Took the dog and he had a lovely stay too!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

We only stayed for one-night but you have to give credit where it is due- hence why I am writing this review.

The service that the old vicarage provided was excellent, the room was immaculate and the breakfast was spot-on. The pool was more than adequate, the sauna was toasty and jacuzzi nearly sent me to sleep! They are also very dog-friendly, with plenty of outside space to wander around in.

We are not fussy people, we just want value for money and the feeling that you have had a night away- and the Old Vicarage did just that.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GilotheGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

I was really excited about staying here after reading all the excellent reviews. In some ways it didn't quite stand up to my expectations but I have to say it excelled in others. The negatives first (and there are only a couple). The public areas are in need of refurbishment, the carpets and wallpaper are very outdated and there was a slight damp smell in a couple of places. If you can overlook that the rest is all positive. The location is great, in the heart of Ambleside yet a 2 minute walk to a great park and all walks on your doorstep. Parking is good and there a lovely garden with seating which must be great in the summer. The family who run it are extremely welcoming and helpful. They were always around without being intrusive, happy to make a tea or coffee on arrival and they even took our flasks and made coffee for us when we were heading out for the day. We stayed in the Garden Suite which was great. We had an outside decking with table and chairs which was so easy to let our dog out for a sniff around. A nice little lounge area with digital wall mounted TV, a nice bathroom with a huge jacuzzi bath and lastly up the stairs to a bedroom with a huge comfortable bed and yet another TV. All in all, ideal for us. I will say at this point that the hotel did not smell at all 'doggy' even though they are extremely dog friendly. We didn't use the pool, sauna and hot tub but took a look and we were pretty impressed with the facility and would use it if (when) we return. Breakfasts were all you needed. The tariff is at the top end but for all the positives we were happy to pay it. Would we go back? Definately. Such a great location for peacefulness, relaxing, eating out, a touch of retail therapy and most importantly for walking. Everything on the doorstep!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badderslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

booked this place at the last minute, just picked the first place we found on the net. How lucky were we, just about everything you could want for a relaxing night away. The owners were very helpful and fresh coffee on arrival was a nice touch. we had room 1 with a four poster bed which was spacious clean and well equipped. A pool, sauna and hot tub as well took the the B&B to another level, a morning swim then followed by a quality breakfast perfect. Being in there felt like being miles from anywhere but the Centre of Ambleside was at the bottom of the drive. this really is the perfect location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

Myself and my heavily pregnant wife booked this place as a last weekend of fun before our life changed forever! The owners were excellent and made us feel very welcome, including a coffee and biscuits on arrival. The place was spotless, the pool and hot tub were brilliant and they made us and our dog extremely welcome (as well as upgrading us FOC as we arrived!).

We have stayed a lot in Ambleside in a variety of establishments but this was by far our favourite and we have, and will, recommend it to our friends and family.

Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is a large, beautiful house situated just on the edge of the town center with a very friendly & helpful staff (2nd generation.) Our room was very nice with ensuite bath and a view of the garden. The sun room and sitting room were comfortable for relaxing. The Garden was beautiful and a great place to relax (if it's not raining.) The breakfast was wonderful as was the service. The hints about directions, navigability of roads, alternate routes and choices for meals were also spot on. I would highly recomend this place for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#5 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
#34 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lakes B and B
The Lakes B and B
#8 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park House Guest House
Park House Guest House
#63 of 105 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Vicarage

Property: The Old Vicarage
Address: Vicarage Road, Ambleside LA22 9DH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Vicarage 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Vicarage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Vicarage Hotel Ambleside
Old Vicarage Ambleside
The Old Vicarage Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing