We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in central ambleside”
Review of Brantfell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brantfell House
Ranked #47 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the centrally located Brantfell house as a birthday treat. Our room and the breakfast room overlooked the park and had beautiful views to the fells. Our large double room was light and comfortable with crisp white linen, a comfortable bed and modern shower room which had a noisey fan but was very nice otherwise. Breakfast was fantastic with a huge variety of fresh local produce. The owners made us very welcome, we hope we get a chance to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newgeogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 162 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This small hotel is very well located for both the town of Ambleside and the walk to the lake. Our room was beautiful, light and with a good view over the park opposite. The bed was very comfortable and Chris and Jane obviously take great care over the furnishings. Super modern bathroom with shower. As everyone seems to note, the breakfast is wonderful and with such a choice! Parking on site is restricted but very useful to have and you are provided with on-street short term parking 'clocks' to help in the interim. The hotel 'nameplate' is a vertical flag and very artistic but maybe not so easy to spot when driving and also looking out for traffic. Going up Rothay Road, look out on the right just after passing Knott St - opposite the park. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ksdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We booked this hotel after looking around for a while on here and the main theme seemed to be a good breakfasts. So for all those who think it's too good to be true - it so isn't. The breakfasts are awesome. Anything in any combination and as much as you want.

Obviously there is more to Brantfell than the breakfasts! We had two rooms during our stay as at the last minute we had to change our plans but Jane and Chris were very understanding and managed to change it for us. The first night we had the largest room and it was lovely. Bed was comfy and the bathroom and room was so incredibly clean.

the other nights were spent in the smallest room, which we were warned was small. and yes it was but perfectly formed. it was relaxing and the décor was lovely especially the bathroom. it was perfect as a relaxing base for a busy holiday.

The staff were lovely and I got the impression that nothing would have been a hassle. Their attitude is one I have rarely experienced in the hotel industry. "it's your holiday and we want you to enjoy it" even down to the little things as there been more than two pots of milk and two tea bags in the room (there was enough for a whole week topped up each day)

A very enjoy able stay and a place I would recommend to any one. Thank you

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickyD1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

an excellent guest house that made us feel very welcome with comfortable beds with lovely pillows,a nice shower room with toiletries that are made locally,an excellent hospitality tray and a superb breakfast menu.the wifi is free but tends to be a little hit and miss as is the tv reception due I am certain to the hills surrounding Ambleside and lets face it when you are on holiday you do not really need either I will be very happy to recommend this place to friends and would be very pleased to stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Comfortable accommodations, perfect location, and the breakfast was amazing! Chris & Jane were lovely hosts. Thank you, Jane, for the recommendation to take Wrynose and Hardknott Passes to Ravenglass. Incredibly beautiful, thrilling ride, but not for the timid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aslsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely B&B in the heart of Ambleside with easy access by foot to all the local amenities including restaurants and shops. Our room, number 3, was at the front of the house with gorgeous double aspect windows and a view of the park. Although by the roadside the use of double glazing meant that it is also very quiet. The room itself was modern and airy with a recently refurbished large shower room. There was plenty of tea and coffee and a very comfortable large bed. You could not have wanted a more extensive breakfast menu, the proprietors even started early as one of us had to comminute to work some 50 minutes away. From fresh fruit, special muesli and a wonderful cooked breakfast the range was extensive and the quality very good, poached eggs were a delight. Lovely couple who were very obliging and even the cleaner was lovely and friendly. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay over in Ambleside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Brantfell as a large group and could not have been made more welcome. Immaculate and tastefully decorated modern rooms, big beds with crisp white bedding and possibly the biggest breakfast I have ever eaten.
Thank you for our lovely stay and for going out of your way to ensure we attended our family wedding without any hitches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rigmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
1.8 mi away
Briery Wood Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#18 of 103 in Ambleside
593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
Brantholme Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 103 in Ambleside
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#43 of 103 in Ambleside
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#32 of 103 in Ambleside
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantfell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantfell House

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $104 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brantfell House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brantfell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantfell House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing