We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast comfortable beds bliss”
Review of Brantfell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brantfell House
Ranked #47 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 6, 2013

an excellent guest house that made us feel very welcome with comfortable beds with lovely pillows,a nice shower room with toiletries that are made locally,an excellent hospitality tray and a superb breakfast menu.the wifi is free but tends to be a little hit and miss as is the tv reception due I am certain to the hills surrounding Ambleside and lets face it when you are on holiday you do not really need either I will be very happy to recommend this place to friends and would be very pleased to stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karenza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 164 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Comfortable accommodations, perfect location, and the breakfast was amazing! Chris & Jane were lovely hosts. Thank you, Jane, for the recommendation to take Wrynose and Hardknott Passes to Ravenglass. Incredibly beautiful, thrilling ride, but not for the timid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aslsmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Lovely B&B in the heart of Ambleside with easy access by foot to all the local amenities including restaurants and shops. Our room, number 3, was at the front of the house with gorgeous double aspect windows and a view of the park. Although by the roadside the use of double glazing meant that it is also very quiet. The room itself was modern and airy with a recently refurbished large shower room. There was plenty of tea and coffee and a very comfortable large bed. You could not have wanted a more extensive breakfast menu, the proprietors even started early as one of us had to comminute to work some 50 minutes away. From fresh fruit, special muesli and a wonderful cooked breakfast the range was extensive and the quality very good, poached eggs were a delight. Lovely couple who were very obliging and even the cleaner was lovely and friendly. Would recommend to anyone wanting to stay over in Ambleside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at Brantfell as a large group and could not have been made more welcome. Immaculate and tastefully decorated modern rooms, big beds with crisp white bedding and possibly the biggest breakfast I have ever eaten.
Thank you for our lovely stay and for going out of your way to ensure we attended our family wedding without any hitches.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rigmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took advantage of the lovely weather to visit the Lake District, and decided to stay in Ambleside for its convenience for getting to other places, and good range of restaurants. Brantfell House was lovely - extremely convenient for the town, very attractive, comfortable room and lovely breakfast. Everyone was very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Would certainly recommend to anyone and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We paid a little more to have a room which had a seating area- Room 6- which was very nice and gave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed for the weekend. Very comfortable room with lovely views, large bed and modern bathroom. Plentiful coffee and tea in the room. Location is excellent. Breakfast plentiful with a wider choice than I have ever been offered, all freshly prepared and of high quality. I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarryHBaskerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My new wife and I had planned to spend four nights at Brantfell, but on our first night, my wife became ill and we ended up having paramedics come out to see her about midnight. Chris and Jayne were amazing. They couldn't have been more helpful. They looked after us so well. We decided to cut our honeymoon short, but not before I had sampled the beautiful Brantfell breakfast. Had it not been for the unfortunate circumstances, it would have been the perfect place for our honeymoon. Brantfell is definitely one of the most welcoming places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palmo62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.7 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
494 reviews
3.1 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantfell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantfell House

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $104 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brantfell House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Brantfell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantfell House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing