We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, relaxed and unpretentious”
Review of Brantfell House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brantfell House
Ranked #51 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was clean and very comfortable with a good shower. There was a lovely open view across the park and we were not troubled by road noise. Breakfasts were good and plentiful. The house is conveniently situated very close to the town centre. The owners were always friendly and helpful. We stayed for five nights and had no problem parking our car off road at the back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pakta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Brantfell House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 161 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great place to stay. We had two nights here and found the owners to be very friendly and exceptionally helpful - they can't do enough for you! The junior sute we had had a fabulous large bed, plenty of space for luggage, great powerful shower... the room was nicely decorated with new furnishings and had everything you could want. The room and bathroom were very clean. The breakfast was great, everything you could want; cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast, and every type of hot ingredient possible - cooked to order.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ll0ydie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My daughter recommended this hotel and we visited this weekend and even took the dog. From the minute you arrive you get the warmest of welcomes .
Our double room was huge, and decorated lovely. The bed was amazing , huge and comfortable, and I could quite easily have stayed in there all day.
The breakfasts, where do I start are fantastic , and even Jasper was cooked a cumberland sausage each morning.
Can't wait to go back !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeresawAtherstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Having never stayed in a guesthouse before we were not sure what to expect. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we couldn't ask for more. Warm, cosy, modern, clean rooms with comfy beds and soft pillows. Fantastic en-suite with great power shower, plenty of hot water and great fluffy towels. The extensive breakfast couldn't be faulted with everything cooked freshly to order. A short 5 minute walk to shops, cafes, bars, restaurants. Jane and Chris could not have made us feel more welcome and we would not hesitate to return. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Fab, Cosy, Clean, Friendly, and a shower and breakfast to die for. Chris and Jane could not have been nicer and I loved their 2 little dogs..A warm welcome awaits you at Brantfell House even when it is cold and wet outside,. Mick and I will definately be staying again. thankyou

Room Tip: We had room 3 and it was cosy and clean with a lovely view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We chanced upon this B&B when visiting the Lakes, and couldn't have been happier, the owners Chris and Jane were welcoming and friendly, and the rooms fabulous, beautifully comfy beds, a great power shower, location in the village, easy walking to a selection of great cafes, and to top it off, a wonderful cooked to order breakfast next morning. If I lived closer I'd go back regularly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gems151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Brantfell is an amazing find. Looking for a small but comfortable accommodation for a few days walking break in the Lakes I was given this recommendation. My job entails extensive overseas travel and stay in many of the better hotels around the world, but, frankly, this B & B can compare to any of them. Very professionally run by a husband and wife team who I can only assume have had years of hotel experience. Our room had been refurbished to a v. high standard. A kingsize bed with crisp linens, a fully marble tiled bathroom with a walk in power shower and the best quality Grohe fittings and lots of soft warmed towells - all so great after a long and tiring (also wet!) day's walking. Small touches such as a self service bar with chilled drinks, free wifi, quality toiletries in the bathroom ( I never remember to travel with shampoo and gels) made this such a pleasant place to stay. The breakfast however, surpasses many of the 4 and 5 star hotels anywhere. There is quite a difference with local produce cooked to order I discover. Fresh strawberries, rasberries, mango complimented home made mueslies and yogurts and it is a long time since I had tasted bacon like that from their local farm . Had we stayed longer I know I would have enjoyed the locally supplied haddock and kippers on the menu ( and doubtless spent less time walking!)

Room Tip: We loved ours at no 6 at the top! A view across the park and fells and very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakes Lodge
Lakes Lodge
#18 of 103 in Ambleside
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rothay Garth
Rothay Garth
#42 of 103 in Ambleside
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Norwood House
Norwood House
#41 of 103 in Ambleside
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Brathay Lodge
Brathay Lodge
#33 of 103 in Ambleside
275 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gables Guest House
The Gables Guest House
#56 of 103 in Ambleside
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melrose Guesthouse
Melrose Guesthouse
#14 of 103 in Ambleside
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brantfell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brantfell House

Address: Rothay Road, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range: $102 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brantfell House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brantfell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brantfell House Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing