We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Christmas Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Skelwith Bridge Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was our first ever hotel Christmas and our stay at Skelwith Bridge could not be faulted.
Excellent food, great atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff.
The room was adequate rather than large but was neatly appointed and more than warm despite the snow and ice outside.
The location is a car drive to any establishment or amenities but an excellent centre for both quiet and more ambitious walks. The scenery is breathtaking, this hotel really is in the heart of the Lakes,
One minor criticism is that the in-room TV and Radio selection could do with sorting; most hotels do this a little better. Oh, and the quiz was very difficult.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamian16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 413 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2011

I have stayed here many times and brought numerous friends and family. They have all come back for more. Excellent value, location, comfort, food and friendly staff make this a perfect winter walkers hotel. Roaring fires, comfy chairs, masses of tasty hearty grub and Thraites on tap, what more could you want.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dujia4shuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2011

My wife and I have just spent three nights at the Skelwith Bridge Hotel and although it isn't the most luxurious hotel in the world it must be one of the friendliest. There was always a lovely log fire as you entered the hotel with people sat comfortably around it. Our room although comfortable and spotlessly clean was a tad small, but offered everything that was needed for a short stay. The hotel is set in the most wonderful countryside and the view from our bedroom window was out of the back of the hotel but as everything was blanketed in snow wasn't half bad. The food was absolute quality, breakfast was plentyful and tasty, and the evening meals were full of variety. All in all we had a wonderful stay and most definately had great value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pete130356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

My wife and I visited the UK from the USA to visit family in Ovington, Northumberland for my wife's Father's 90th Birthday. To break our journey on our way back to Heathrow we booked 2 nights at the Skelwith Bridge Hotel not of course knowing we were destined to be trapped in the village in Northumberland by heavy snow.
Following very heavy snow over several days it was clear that we would not be able to get safely to the Lake District so with 2 days notice we had to cancel our booking. We were told we could not have our deposit refunded but it would be held for 12 months to allow us to rebook! I explained that living in the USA this was not very helpful and furthermore whilst understanding this policy under normal circumstances, say if we had just changed our minds about visiting, I did think given the extreme weather conditions that there should be sime flexibility. The answer was a big NO ITS POLICY. This sort of attitude reflects badly on this hotel and even if I have an opportunity to visit the area in future will not book here out of principle. One wonders if the manager Jenny actually watched the weather develop and how she thinks this position is a reasonable one.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank ggrant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We have just had the most fantasic 4 days at this hotel.
We visit here at the same time each year and this time hit the jackpot with Wall to Wall snow and sunshine. Ideal for our group of 14 walkers.
The heat from the hotel's open fire hits you as soon as you walk in, and the rooms are pleasantly warm.
Pick a room with a bath if you want a long hot soak after a strenuous day out on the hills and with a hot complementary cup of tea or coffee just gets you relaxed before the Dinner.
During our 3 nights every one of our party had a very tastey traditional Lake District meal. All the meals were cooked to our individual needs and served up piping hot, a good choice of desserts and unlimited coffee and chocolates in the lounge or in front of the open fire.
There is an inspiring range of wines which complement the good food perfectly and a similar choice of aperatives, beers and spirits.
We had a standard double room which was extremely comfortable and well furnished and always lovely and warm. Outside temperature was rarely above freezing during our stay.
The breakfast was excellent with a very good choice on offer which set us up for a day of hard walking.
What more could you ask for. ?

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burtoncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

really accommodating, staff lovely and friendly. Excellent food and service. lovely log fire! really friendly atmosphere. excellent for weekend break. brilliant drying room for wet walkers!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helvellyn2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

This is our third visit to this Hotel and it hasn't failed us on any occassion. We find it hard to get away and we are lucky this hotel will take a one night booking. The hotel is set on Skelwith Bridge by the River and some rooms have a view. The reception has a real fire which was going when we arrived. We have the same room on each visit which is a nice size with good size bathroom with large warm towels there is a small tv and tea and coffee the beds are so comfortable and everywhere is exceptional clean and sparkly. We usually book in for dinner and it has been consisently good served efficently coffee is taken in the lounge the staff are mainly European and are very sweet and polite if a little shy. There is a drying room availble for those wet days. Plenty of parking and a pub attached, we havent tried the pub yet. There are plenty of walks nearby and it is not far from Hawkeshead and Coniston water. This is a very comfortable hotel and we love it. One thing which puzzles us and irritates me are the pictures in the dining room which are of italy or France. The Lake district has superb scenery in every season which would make superb pictures, strange.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterbabyStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
2 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,272 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Ambleside, Lake District
2.1 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
509 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Fisherbeck
The Fisherbeck
#4 of 12 in Ambleside
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skelwith Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skelwith Bridge Hotel

Address: Skelwith Bridge, Ambleside LA22 9NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ambleside
#8 Family Hotel in Ambleside
Price Range: $129 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skelwith Bridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located just a short drive from Ambleside, away from the hustle and bustle is Skelwith Bridge. Informal gardens merging seamlessly with the surrounding countryside, real log fires in the winter months and a traditional welcome, Skelwith bridge Hotel really is "your home away from home" The hotel boasts 28 bedrooms, all en-suite and all retaining the character of the original building. We are pleased to offer single, twin, double and king sized rooms available for bed and breakfast or dinner bed and breakfast at fantastically affordable prices all year round. We welcome a whole host of families with children young and old, couples, singles and four legged friends too! The hotel is a fell walkers paradise with many varied easy and more strenuous walks from our doorstep! We even have a drying room available for those wet days ... not that we have too many of those in The Lakes! A host of attractions and other activities are just a short drive or bus ride away including sailing, cycling, mountain biking, fishing, bird watching, golf, shopping, bars and restaurants, the historic houses of Wordsworth, Beatrix Potter and Ruskin, the market towns of Keswick and Kendal, Grasmere and its world famous gingerbread, Take a cruise on the lakes with the steamers, the lakes aquarium at lakeside, traditional steam railway at Haverthwaite, Manicured gardens at Holker hall, and many more attractions too numerous to list! Our reception staff are always happy to suggest local attractions or walks and we have lots of information in our showcase at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Skelwith Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skelwith Bridge Ambleside
Hotel Skelwith Bridge
Skelwith Bridge Hotel Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing