We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside Backpackers
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Big kitchen, cosy lounge, super clean and quiet bedrooms. The staff were very friendly and the views from upstairs are wonderful!

Thanks for a great relaxing stay. No more hotels for me this is a much more relaxing way to go on holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatemouse89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

5 of us ventured up from Bath for a week in Ambleside - we could not have been happier with Ambleside backpackers hostel

I've made a list of my favourite things:
1) Free Tea, Coffee and Breakfast - A lovely bonus, how lovely it was to whip up a big pot of tea and sit around the fire in the lounge after a long walk :D which brings me to number 2..
2) The Lounge: Cosy and clean, but also massive and enough sofas for everyone to spread out and sit, read, watch telly and nap (that was me!) after a long day without being on top of each other. The fire was cosy and there was a nice little library going on.
3) Showers: on the womens side the two 'curtained' showers were hotter than the white plastic doored ones - but they were clean and hot. Bliss after a trip to the top of Loughrigg Fell in a hailstorm....
4) Kitchen: fab, huge and full of every piece of a equipment you could need: we cooked up a variety of things every night and enjoyed cooking in such a big kitchen.
5) Beds: comfortable and cosy bedding. Nice and clean. We were in a 6 person dorm with sheleving, a sink and a view to die for :)

Can't recommend the place highly enough. Just Lovely!

Thanks Again!
Sarah Robinson

Room Tip: We were in room number 4 - the views of the surrounding hills were fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SRobinson142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Whilst lacking the Lakeside location of the currently closed YHA, this is an excellent budget option in Ambleside. The hostel is a 5-6 min walk from the town centre and the only possible complaint is the lack of parking, it's a bit of a lottery.......The rooms are clean, relatively spacious and the common spaces are well maintained. The kitchen is excellent, little touches like providing tin foil, cooking oil etc that make a difference and a decent cereal and toast breakfast which is included in the (ever so slightly high) price. There is a free computer, Terry who was working was friendly and polite and I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great location, good welcome and very hospitable. Friendly staff have good knowledge of local area to recommend food etc... Clean rooms, good showers, comfortable beds and relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having decided to spend New Year’s in the Lake District the 6 of us headed to stay in the Ambleside Backpackers for 3 nights. Though on arrival it was tipping it down outside, we were given a really warm welcome. The accommodation was great, with the 6 of us in one room, and it was the perfect location to explore the surrounding area and get onto the fells. The amenities are great and it features a brilliant communal Kitchen with a light breakfast (toast, cereals, tea, coffee etc) to help ourselves to which I thought was a lovely touch, and plenty of space to cook for yourself.

The lounge is lovely and a great place to sit and chat and meet the other residents, which provides a brilliant atmosphere. The staff were brilliant and were friendly, helpful and indeed knowledgeable of the area. All in all a brilliant place and a great way to spend New Year – we will be back many times no doubt!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Non3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

+ves
Good location
Nice hostel with a good atmosphere created by the owner/staff.
Good recommendations for local food/beer/walks
Warm
Nice Showers

-ves
Slightly squeaky beds.
Sheet sleeping bags
have had more exciting breakfasts for a hostel at this price (just some croissants would make it amazing for me)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_Skomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

When your lasting memory of a hostel is the signage and notices placed within the hostel, its probably because there is something wrong with the hostel and frankly its difficult to put your finger on what is wrong.

Its clean, its quiet, its exceptionally well furnished, its perfectly located for Fell-walkers, there's free cereal, toast and tea and coffee, plus a free computer and WIFI. Features wise this hostel is perfect. But I can't stop thinking about the signs and notices there were just so many of them.

They varied from being witty and entertaining (such as how to get hot water in room 1) to making you feel like you had your mother nagging you constantly or that the staff were sick of answering the same questions over and over.

This kinda makes you loathed to ask anything and instead you wonder around looking for a sign to answer your question instead of a person. And when you have to create an A3 poster for every room explaining how to make the bed, its probably safe to conclude you need to sort out less complicated bedding.

Basically I think all these notices just were so impersonal as to make me feel like I was an unwelcome burden. I know there are some obligatory Health and Safety notices, but the list of rules and directives were just endless.

One final critique, parking is exceptionally limited.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iveing, Owner at Ambleside Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Sorry the signs got you down, I actually thought we did pretty well to balance common questions information, and we are still very happy to provide helpful information person to person when required. In fact one of our main plusses according to our visitors book is how helpful the staff are.
We will review them to see what can easily be taken down without compromising guest help.
The car parking is always a problem in Ambleside -however we have just put up (another) a notice showing where free parking can be found near the hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
4.7 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
501 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,435 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 12 in Ambleside
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Backpackers

Address: Iveing Cottage Old Lake Road | Iveing Cottage, Ambleside LA22 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range: $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ambleside Backpackers Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing