We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great backpackers!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ambleside Backpackers
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great backpackers!”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed here for the Great North Swim. Very warm welcome by the friendly staff, room clean and good kitchen and rest facilities. Thoroughly recommended and a great location being very close to Ambleside centre. Would definitely stay here again and loved that a light breakfast was provided!! First backpackers i've stayed in in the UK and a great example :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sawshark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    24
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
5
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eaglescliffe
Level Contributor
273 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Last minute opportunity to go climbing. The Backpacker is great, good rooms, good location, clean & tidy. Adam on reception was very helpful

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGY-Eaglescliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Friendly staff, free tea, coffee and internet with breakfast included! The way all hostels should be!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherplanetwithyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcatle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Stayed here for the 2nd year running and can only say it is amazing.

All you want after being out walking or mountain biking is somewhere warm and friendly. You get all this and more here.

We had a private room for the 3 of us and managed to use the kitchen facilties each night without any overcrowding. The ability to get as much free tea, coffee and milk was great too.

In the hostel the showers are fab and the common room with its warm fire and comfy sofas are great too.

Keep up the good work David and the team !!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScouseMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Hi there, last year I stayed there for two nights in a double room, bigger rooms with 4 or more beds are available too, but check online. The small rooms can be booked upfront if you contact the manager. Rooms are simple as it is not a hotel and is really more for people exploring the Lake District, thus only stay there to eat & sleep. Kitchen is well equipped, but you more or less need your own food. Staff very friendly and even welcomed us after opening hours. Its a good sleep as its very calm in Ambleside, just lovely.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mh_dlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish Sea
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Staying here with a group of friends at a weekend. Bedrooms were OK with clean linen. Only a washbasin in the room, but we were fine with that. Shower room is basic, with limited changing facilities, but piping hot water.

Kitchen facilities were good - you can bring and cook your own food if you wish. You can help yourself to the cereals, toast and tea & coffee provided.

Parking was a bit of an issue - you have to find this on street somewhere. We couldn't use the small car park next to the hostel.

A good stay for the price.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostintheirishsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed there for a couple of nights recently and had a great time. Facilities at the hostel are good, a kitchen for preparing food and a large dining room, place overall was clean and beds were comfertable. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Only complaints would be the lack of toilets/showers and the floors being so squeaky, it's impossible to move without making a racket which makes it hard to follow the no noise after 11 rule. On street parkings not so great either.

Overall a handy place to stay, easy walk into town with loats of places to go nearby, I would recommend Amblesides only club in sportsters bar as an interesting place to try.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john_hepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.6 mi away
YHA Ambleside
YHA Ambleside
#1 of 24 in Ambleside
384 reviews
4.7 mi away
YHA Hawkshead
YHA Hawkshead
#3 of 3 in Hawkshead
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Glen Rothay Hotel
Glen Rothay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rydal
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,190 reviews
3.3 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Backpackers

Property: Ambleside Backpackers
Address: Iveing Cottage Old Lake Road | Iveing Cottage, Ambleside LA22 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ambleside Backpackers Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing