We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lakes B and B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Lakes B and B
Ranked #8 of 105 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a excellent B&B. The room and en-suite spotlessy clean, the bed really comfy (just what you need after a long day sightseeing) the breakfast was delicious and Ola and Peter were so welcoming. If you are out for the day ask for a packed lunch - you won't be disappointed. There are also excellent restaurents within walking distance for an evening meal

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanho25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
131
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bere Alston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

By far the best B&B I and my wife have ever stayed in, the rooms are excellent ( there are only 2).
The food is second to none.
The hosts are just the nicest people you would ever meet.
The location is spot on.
As mentioned on other reviews the sandwich bar run by Ola is your fist and only stop for all your sandwich and snack requirements.
Will be going back soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Easyrw1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Spent a wonderful night in Ambelside at the Lakes B&B. This is the best B&B we have ever stayed in the accomation is 5* and the hosts Ola and Peter are so welcoming. The shop below the Filling Station is so convenient for picking up a picnic for a day trip. A great location for all you need to do in Ambleside and visting the lakes. The Lakeland bus tour stop is just round the corner. Thank you Ola and Peter we will visit again very soon. Clare & Eugene

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blue231811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed here for a weekend at the beginning of March and it was faultless! Lovely room, very quiet, comfy bed, beautifully clean - a big plus as far as I am concerned and the hosts Ola and Peter could not have done more for us. Breakfast was out of this world and Ola even ran to the shop to get some Flora, as my other half does not eat butter! I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The location is just perfect for town and getting to local restauarants. All in all we had a wonderful weekend and I cannot recommend this place too highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lolly2cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Don't be discouraged by the fact that this is above a shop! We were a little apprehensive when this property was booked by friends as it was fairly new with few reviews. We had nothing to worry about though as this is a well-run and friendly B&B. Ola and Peter were perfect hosts during our stay over the New Year. The rooms, location and breakfasts are all spot-on and they gave us sound advice on a couple of local walks.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveyg1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
237 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I was with my partner in Ambleside for the first time and stayed for 7 nights last week in this lovely B&B owned by Ola and John.

This 6 months old property is kept in excellent condition and has a convenient sandwich shop downstairs - the Filling Station. Conveniently located at Church Street, it is in the heart of town centre but away from the main roads (Rydal being one of them) and noise. Peaceful sleep assured.

The English breakfast served by our hosts always made our day.

Since the cost of B&Bs around Ambleside are pretty consistent, the Lakes with being newly renovated was the reason why we chose it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WilsonfromDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A lovely little bed and breakfast in the picturesque village of Ambleside. Our hosts were delightful, the rooms immaculate and the breakfast hearty. An ideal base for ventures into the hills, provided you have better weather than we did!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mboothncl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambleside hotels
0.1 mi away
Ambleside Salutation Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riverside
Riverside
#1 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Summer Hill Country House
Summer Hill Country House
#2 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ambleside American-style Compston House B&B
0.0 mi away
Easedale Lodge
Easedale Lodge
#3 of 105 in Ambleside
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lakes B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lakes B and B

Property: The Lakes B and B
Address: 12 Church Street, Ambleside LA22 0BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Ambleside, in the heart of the beautiful Lake District. The Lakes B&B offers mountain views and is only a 5-minute drive from Windermere, England's largest lake. A home-cooked breakfast is also provided each morning. Guests can enjoy mountain views from rooms which are decorated using natural colours and wood furnishings. They come equipped with a flat-screen TV/DVD as well as an en suite bathroom and free Wi-Fi. The Lakes B&B is just a 15-minute drive from Helvellyn Mountain, England's third largest peak. The hotel is located close to many woodland trails or picturesque walks, some start and finish at the hotel itself. We offer drying facilities and bike storage. We can sort out parking if you let us know you require it. We have a lovely sunny court yard for our guest to enjoy the sun. Free parking is possible but must be arrange at time of booking limited spaces. Motor bikes are welcome free parking for motor bikes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Lakes B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lakes B And B Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing