We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for families on a wet day”
Review of Wray Castle

Wray Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.38*
and up
Weekly Walking Tour in The Lake District from Windermere
Ranked #8 of 48 things to do in Ambleside
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mock-Gothic castle sitting on the Windermere shores, with turrets, towers and informal grounds.Wray Castle came to us without its contents so you will not see a 'typical' National Trust house full of paintings, furniture and antiques with an accompanying owner-family history through the ages. What you will see is a 'tired' but fascinating building with hints of its ‘grand’ past and plenty of signs of its varied history (a history that shows in its fixtures and fittings right up to the 1990s, including numbers on room doors and institutional paint-schemes). Make sure you join one of our free tours to get its full life story.If you've children to entertain you'll be pleased to know the rooms may be empty of grand possessions but full of kids having fun in our dressing up and story-telling spaces, perfect for a wet day in the Lakes! There’s plenty to do outdoors too, like rope swing, den-building and trails, in our family-friendly gardens and grounds.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for families on a wet day”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

A fabulous day for two families and grandparents. Lots to do and really friendly staff. Games in most of the rooms, not your average National Trust property though so check out the details before you go.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    375
    195
    118
    102
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for kids”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great for young kids, boring for teenagers. Every room has an over sized board game, and boat making with wood. £17.50 spent on a family ticket, would have been far better spent on the never ending appetite of two teenagers

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bagpuss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not your typical NT venue but very enjoyable”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Visited Wray Castle with my wife and 7 year old son and had a great time. It’s different from most NT venues because the emphasis is very much on child fun while the restoration work continues rather than protected heirlooms. There is loads for children and plenty of historical info for parents. The outside of the castle is very impressive and you have free access to the vast majority of the rooms, with something to explore in every one.To make the most of this place, take the launch from waterhead/ambleside and return via Brockhole – it makes an interesting travel experience for children when they visit a castle after a boat trip. We didn’t visit the grounds and gardens but we’ll definitely return on out next visit to the lakes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JosephsDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A great place to visit with or without kids.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Last year we visited the beautiful Allen Bank which the NT has left empty but full of atmosphere so we were looking forward to our visit to the house that pretends to be a castle. What a delight it was and how the imagination could indulge itself. We wandered round the rooms which were designated by theri original use. The morning room with the bay window set into one of the 'castle' turrets would have been wonderful for the lady of the house to write her letters in and direct the housekeeper.
The authenicity of the rooms has been clarified through the photographs taken by Rupert Potter and the subsequent watercolours made by his daughter, Beatrix.
We were unable to tour the grounds but there was plenty of space for picnics, croquet and fun.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnpatweybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oops”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The inside of the Castle was disappointing, we paid and then were told there was no furniture/pictures etc in the rooms, rather dull and boring warren of rooms, not many old features at all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet_A_R_124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wray Castle also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Wray Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing