We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food served in a relaxing atmosphere”

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 120 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is Ambleside's newest and most popular Thai Restaurant, nestled in the centre of Ambleside in the heart of the English Lake District just opposite Zefirelli's Cinema. Open since late 2011, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent food served in a relaxing atmosphere”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Loved the food - I had the coconut chicken curry which had a nice kick to it without being too spicy, and also the banana spring rolls with chocolate sauce which were fantastic! The waiter who served us was initially rather abrupt but we got a smile out of him by the end of the evening! Other than that, the staff were very pleasant and efficient. We found the restaurant had a very relaxing ambience and we weren't rushed at all between courses. To sum up - first class Thai food - highly recommended if you're in the area.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank metalminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    778
    383
    135
    61
    63
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Haydock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We turned up without a reservation and the manager found us a table upstairs the food was very good and tasty and we would return, why you may ask did they not get top rating - service and few errors which was rectified prevented this on this occasion but it would not stop us returning on our next visit.

Helpful?
Thank tomt1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Terrible food”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food is terribly sweet. Tofu Pa Tai without Tofu. Complained to the manager about it but never received a response about it. Will never go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely ambience”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ate there in March. We sat upstairs. Staff, service, amience - all excellent. Menu choice was very good. We had prawn crackers and chicken satay to start with. The dips were even good - (yummy). The main meal was also gorgeous as was the wine we chose. Even though the restaurant was very busy the service was second to non, waiters were very attentive. We will definately go again when we are in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RnK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A real taste of Thailand”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The menu could be written more shortly, as in the main it's the same dozen or so sauces (green curry, red curry, yellow curry, jungle curry, ...) with chicken, pork, beef, prawns, etc. We had prawn crackers and the starter platter and then tried a red chicken curry to see how they prepared a 'standard' Thai curry, but for the other two mains we tried the more unusual crispy pork belly with broccoli and the 'weeping tiger' beef.

This showed off the range of the chef's ability and we were impressed by the depth and freshness of the flavours he produced. The rest of the experience was also good. The staff were friendly and efficient and although the bulk of the room is laid out with tables there is also low seating for those wanting a more authentic experience. At £66 including drinks and tip this was a very good value meal and the restaurant is one we'd happily return to.

For the next visit we'd probably not have any starters and perhaps replace them with a fourth main, but only if we were very hungry, as three is probably enough even without the starters.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Arderyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing