We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stop by pub”
Review of Golden Rule

Golden Rule
Ranked #1 of 6 Nightlife in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Golden Rule, tucked away off the main road in Ambleside, is a traditional and unchanging multi-roomed pub in the heart of The Lake District with a reputation that spreads around the world. Ever popular with varied mix of local residents, visitors from near and far, the young and old, walkers, climbers, mountain bikers, artists and writers, the Rule is just the place to have a drink and a chat.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great stop by pub”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife & I stayed in Ambleside for a week in June & enjoyed a couple of drinks here on three occasions sat out in the beer garden which is secluded & quite well used. The condition of the beer here is really good the landlord is obviously proud to present his beers in tip top condition.

You will have to drink & enjoy the pub along with locals which in the main is ok I am sure they are bread & butter to the pubs economy, however & this is a comment for the landlord to take note of & is by no means a critic of the pub itself.

'One afternoon I noticed a woman a couple of benches away having a drink & a smoke with her pipe smoking husband obviously locals, the woman I noticed having 8 cigarettes only managed to get one tab end in the ashtray which at all times was just inches from her elbow 5 of these tab ends were just thrown to the ground & stamped out the other 2 were just flicked into the wall & still the said ashtray was there at hand all the time, I would think the landlord would be fully justified to have a word with this woman & point out the facilities available for the disposal of cigarette butts.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    54
    8
    2
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We've called by 'The Rule' several times over the last 4-5 years and always made to feel at home by staff and drinkers alike. Its a very warm and inviting place, with lovely pics and proper pub tables and furniture. The beer is excellent - very well kept and a good range of spirits too. The pork pies and scotch eggs are the real thing ... delicious and very more-ish!!!!!. Its well worth the little climb to find this 'Secret Gem' tucked away - in summer you can sit outside or in front of a lovely fire when the weather isn't as good as we would all wish! Its very clean and very fairly priced ... well recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lorraine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A proper pub that I wish was my local”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner and I partly chose our recent rental cottage based on how close it was to the Golden Rule, as the prospect of having such a great pub right on our doorstep was too much to resist. This pub is what it's all about - proper beer, a real fire, dogs and people all mixing together, having a nice drink and a chat. The staff have never been anything but friendly and helpful in all the years we have been visiting the Rule and pub itself is full of character and lovely and cosy after a hard day's walking. Don't know what the recent fuss has been about as those reviews do not come close to the pub we visit or the people we see there. I only wish that it was my local so I could visit it more often.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank burn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good ales, warm fire”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A very friendly warm traditional country pub, keeping it simple and concentrating on providing a excellent ambiance and a varied choice of cask ales and even a local larger which was crisp and inviting.
The idea of 3 1/3s of a choice of ales for the price of a pint was a nice way to sample the varied cask ales on offer, an excellent little pub for all you hardened drinkers

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ZoeandGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Good Old Fashioned Pub”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'd describe the Golden Rule as a "proper pub' there are no wide screen TV's blasting out the latest sporting event. No music to inhibit conversation with the person sat next to you. No food being served, which means it is not attractive to families with unruly noisy children running around. In fact just what you want in a pub, set over several small rooms, the main bar area has a log fire, an array of books and newspapers to read, there are a selection of real ales, plus excellent Guinness and nice wines. Would highly recommend for anyone who enjoys a quite read, good conversation and a relaxing atmosphere. The pub seemed popular with visitors and locals alike, making everyone feel welcome. The bar staff when we visited were very helpful, cheerful and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank milligan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Rule also viewed

 

Been to Golden Rule? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing