We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Atelier - CLOSED

Atelier
Price range: $24 - $31
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Saturday evening with family and friends. The food and service were both fantastic. We will be visiting Atelier on our next visit to the Lakes in June.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Your Group were super. It was our pleasure to accommodate you all. Delighted that you were satisfied with everything, and that you are hoping to dine with us again.
Many thanks.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (625)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

426 - 430 of 625 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Wonderful food. We dining on a Saturday night - the atmosphere was vibrant but still felt personal. We had a lamb dish & chicken with risotto balls - this wasn't on the menu but the chef accommodated kindly. Both cooked to order using local ingredients – cooked to perfection and jam packed full of flavour. Pudding was equally as scrumptious. We will be returning again next time we’re in Ambleside to taste more of the menu!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MarkWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Many thanks for your very generous comments. Chef is only too happy to oblige, where/when possible, and is pleased to have accommodated you. Do re-visit and sample some of the other dishes.
Your recommendation is much appreciated.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Before setting out for Ambleside we were recommended to go further afield for restaurants. However having read the praise for Atelier on TripAdvisor, we decided to opt for that for our first meal out - and it was within walking distance of our lovely accommodation, no car needed.
The meal was a great dissapointment. One person chose the Mediterranean style cous cous with vegetables and ordered the chicken and chorizo to go with it (offered as extras).
The dish was flavourless. No hint of the mediterranean spices etc and was very if not totally lacking in salt. Unfortunately, the combined salt and pepper pot was fine for grinding pepper, but the shaker style top did not seem to let any salt through.
The red snapper with a veg tower was a little better in that the crushed potatoes at the base were nice as was the little bit of sweet pepper and bably leaf spinach? The fish itself was not great though. Someone at a neighbouring table requested lemon for her red snapper - having failed like us to get some necessary salt out of the salt pot.
We left without coffee or pudding, not wishing to try out any further dishes.
We had some red wine before/with our meal and were full of first night of holiday euphoria - ready to enjoy our first meal in Ambleside, but even under these circumstances we felt very disappointed and won't be back.
Decor was not great. Wall art a mish mash of styles - nothing very mediterranean or consistent about it and window display included a plastic orange or lemon plant - we can't recall exactly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank robbiejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Je suis desolee!!!!!!
Dare one suggest that your alcohol-induced 'euphoria' somewhat clouded your judgement of the evening? Or, perhaps, looking at your other dining choices, atelier was just not your cup of tea!
Anyway, let us look at your criticism. The Cous Cous is made with Chef's own blend of
ras-el-hanout - the classic North African spice mix. It is served with her own hand-made harissa, which is served in a separate dish so that the diner may adjust the spice to taste as THEY DO in the countries of The Maghreb. What can one say about SALT? Well most reputable establishments do not over-use salt as it is a PERSONAL choice, some like a lot, others do not. As for the grinder - even the Writer is stumped by complicated technology at times!!
Now to the fish. It was not Snapper BUT a rather smaller, and more tasty fish, Red Mullet. And once again there is this concept of personal choice/preference. The other diner had a penchant for lemon hence her request, which was satisfied. One only has to ask!
The Decor???? Not Mediterranean??? Inconsistent theme??? Once again it is all a matter of personal taste. BUT ALL of the paintings are of the Impressionist/ Post-Impressionist genre, depicting mainly Mediterranean scenes, the window display is littered with china, boxes etc collected by Chef and family from all over the Mediterranean. Not too sure where your criticism is coming from.
How wise of you to swiftly leave before trying anything else which did not meet with your exacting standards - the evening would have been a disaster not just disappointing!!
Should you wish to discuss any of the above, please, feel free to pop in.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We chose Atelier after reading the reviews on TA. We arrived early but that wasn't a problem for the staff and their warm welcome was a feature throughout. We were well looked after and we felt neither rushed nor ignored. Although the service was professional it also had the right amount of humour and friendliness which we appreciated.
We had the seabass and the lamb and shared the asiette of desserts. The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented and showed real thought and attention to detail.
We would highly recommend this special place and look forward to returning in July.
Thank you!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Chef and Staff are much obliged for this fabulous review. The compliments were gratefully received and welcomed. Extremely pleased all was to your liking. Thank you for the recommendation, and hope to see you in July.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful food, food we had scallops with black pudding on a cauliflower puree to start, the best lamb I've ever tasted, hubby had the steak which he said was lovely. Followed by white chocolate souffle, hubby had a trio of desserts which individually were lovely together amazing ... would probably share this in hindsight!! I would say make sure you visit this gorgeous restaurant if you are in the area!

5  Thank BiggestDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ethnamarie, Owner at Atelier, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Such a magnanimous review warrants a colossal THANK YOU.
Delighted that your evening was a success; that the food etc hit the spot, and the recommendation is welcomed.
Hope to see you again.
Ethna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atelier also viewed

 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing