We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great cottage in great location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ambleside, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris B
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great cottage in great location”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We've just returned from a 4 night break at Woodbine cottage and couldn't fault it in anyway. Five of us stayed in total (4 adults + 1 child) and it was a perfect size for us. The kitchen and living room are a great size as well as being comfortable and well equipped. Everything was clean and tidy, beds comfortable, good decor, high quality fittings in bathrooms and amazing views from master bedroom. Shops are a quick walk away but we were left biscuits, tea, coffee and milk by the owners which was a lovely touch. As well as shops being a few minutes away you also have 2 pubs and a butchers literally a stones throw away - the butchers in particular is great so make sure you do a big fry up at least once with bacon, sausages, black pudding and eggs all from the butchers ( getting hungry now!). There isn't a parking space by the cottage but you have a very narrow road outside the cottage which was fine for loading / unloading the car ( it is narrow with stone walls either side but a ford mondeo with wing mirrors folded in fitted through fine). You also get a parking permit which we picked up from Sykes in Windermere on the way and this works out really well as there is a car park about 50 metres away from the cottage that this enables you to use as well as multiple other car parks across all of the lake districts so if you're travelling about this can save you a small fortune in pay and display charges!
Highly recommended and we'd definitely return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cohenfami...
israel
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in this cottage for 7 nights. it is well located just 2-3 minuts walk from the center of ambleside but still in a quiet area.
the cottage have 3 bed rooms at the upper floor, two with a twin bed and one with a bunk bed.
the ground floor have nice sitting area and kitchen.. there is nice fireplace.
the cottage is well equipped and maintened.
the only minuses that we found was the fact that the cottage dont have privete parking (parking tag in the main parking lot is supplied by the owener) and there is no free wifi.
we are highly recommending this cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: parking
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUTTON IN ASHFIELD
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Staffordshire
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
alyson t
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“newly and tastefully decorated, modern kitchen and amazing bathroom and en suite”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We took our daughter, and my parents for a 3 night break to woodbine cottage, Ambleside. The cottage was very clean, newly decorated with lovely bedding, the kitchen was well equipped. Very centrally located, only a few minutes walk to the centre of Ambleside. We would definately go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mollymolv...
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An outstanding cottage that i didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and my family stayed at Woodbine cottage for a week and i must say it was totally perfect. As soon as i walked through the front door, i fell in love with the place..it has such a warm welcoming feel to it. the whole house has been tastefully renovated to a very high standard, fixtures and fittings were of the highest quality, even down to the utensils/ cutlery etc. The beds are sooooooo comfy...i can go on and on about the quality, it was just amazing. The location also is perfect, it is literally two minutes walk into the beautiful village of ambleside, where you are spoilt for choice on tearooms, restaurants, shops and pubs..it was great to have a few vinos without having to worry about driving home!! My favourite thing was wakening up to the beautiful view from my bedroom window!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing