We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely fresh food, good portions”
Review of Daisys Cafe

Daisys Cafe
Ranked #9 of 118 Restaurants in Ambleside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food, good portions”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited Daisy's a couple of times whilst staying in Ambleside- once for breakfast and once for lunch. Both times we were really impressed- lovely soft fresh sandwiches packed full of fillings and a 'pick & mix' approach to breakfasts was a great idea. Plenty of choice, friendly welcome and tasty food- would recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NatalieDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    149
    33
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great breakfasts at Daisy's. They do a choice of 5, 8 or 10 items which was perfect for us. Freshly cooked, good ingredients and fantastic real bread for toast. Seems to have a permanent queue of disappointed people putting their head around the door only to find it full. On a wet morning makes up for not being able to get out on the hill.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good value, dog-friendly Lake District cafe”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It was good to find a cafe in the centre of Ambleside which welcomed dogs inside, especially as it was raining (hardly uncommon in the Lakes!).

Everything we ordered was very tasty and came in generous portions at a pretty reasonable price (I think - my sister was paying!). We had soup of the day (leek and potato) with a toasted sandwich and one tuna/mayo baked potato and one with corned beef and coleslaw. All very nice.

The cafe was not very large and would probably be full on nicer days and at busier times of the year. Also the toilets at the top of a steep staircase, so not disabled-friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John and Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice brekky”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Nothing fancy, basic breakfast cook up. No cereals or mueslis on offer but hot meals were nice. Counter service only.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mattymeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“great amount of great food”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

we come across this resturant when i came here when on my holiday with my aunt and uncle we had not read any reviews about this resturante but very pleased we went here for lunch, very much enjoyed this resturant, extremely friendly staff, the food was amazing and alot was served on my plate which i was very full afterwards. I had a lasangne, homemade chips and salad when it was being brought to me i was amazed it looked lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank che f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daisys Cafe also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 

Been to Daisys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing