We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourite places..........”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ambleside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Robinson's Place Farm
Ranked #57 of 103 Ambleside B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places..........”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a long weekend at 'The Robinson Place'. This must be our ninth or tenth stay and we still love the place. It is well priced, very clean and we are always made most welcome. Also, one of the best full English breakfasts you will get anywhere.
Vicky is a great hostess and never fails to make us laugh. The location is probably one of the best in The Lake District with perfect views down the Langdale valley. A very peaceful place to enjoy a cuppa and admire the views.
We'll be back for more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had an enjoyable 3 nights here. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast very filling, especially the porridge that Vicky made for us. Thanks so much, Vicky. This National Trust property is a very central location to stay when walking the Cumbria Way. We spent extra time here to explore the area. For evening meals it is a 1/2 hour walk in either direction to eat at great pubs. We usually went to New Dungeon Ghyll for our meal. Definitely would stay here again if we return to the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasthiker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happyhols
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Booked last minute and couldn't have found a more friendly place to stay, its not ensuite but this is reflected in the price, I would recommend this place to anyone. Amazing views too. Had a top stay in the beautiful langdale valley.

The lovely warm fire was an added bonus after walking up bow fell in the thick snow

Thanks Vicky :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravelling09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

In the Langdale Valley on't ledge on a fell
Robinson Place Farm - known so well
Listed building from 1692
Herdwick central, cracking B&B too

Incomparable breakfasts - eggs/sausages/ bacon
Neigh supermarket fare
You'll not need any mare
It'll set you up- come rain or shine
For a hike on the fells - a test sublime

Incomparable views of Langdale Pikes
Pike O'Stickle, Bowfell, Crinkle Crags and the like
Where bronze age axe men carved their spikes
Now folks travel for the Cumbria Way
And 3000 ft peaks overcome in a day

Incomparable homely return....all there.....
Open fire, fox on the stair -
And Vicky conducting the house's routine
Savvy, cajoling, Angel Dust clean
The Edmondson family's (and the Valley's) Queen

You'll be back! Malc & Mary

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Malc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Robinsons Farm and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is located in a beautiful valley. Our room was spacious and well appointed, bed very comfortable. Braekfast delicious and company enjoyable, we liked sharing our breakfast table with other travellers. Our Hostess was able to share the history of the house with us. Would recommend to all those who are looking for authenticity and value for money. Very pleasant walk to 2 excellent pubs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Being a National Trust accommodation our expectations were high. However, this can be best described as authentic but dated. Room was clean & tidy and the bed was the most comfortable of our holiday. The host was very welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast. All thats needed is a bit of an update. Nearest pub is 1 mile away thus adding a couple of miles to your days total.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowyman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
175 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My son and I recently stayed here and found the place clean and comfortable and extremely reasonably priced. The breakfast was prompt and absolutely delicious. I felt sorry for the health nuts (from across the Atlantic) on our table who turned their noses up at the cooked breakfast as it was SO good and the only alternatives are cereal and toast.
There are no ensuite bathrooms, and only two loos (which when all four rooms are full is undeniably inconvenient) and there is no tv, radio, phone signal or internet in any of the rooms, but as the previous reviewer says these are not necessary in this location and the price more than makes up for it.
Just one warning, as is common in the lakes area, the drive along Langdale is narrow and windy from Chapel Stile (lots of waiting for oncoming traffic) and the track to the farm has a very steep and acute angled turn onto it and is very potholed. Don't let that put you off though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ambleside
2.3 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale Hotel
Langdale Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oak Bank Hotel
Oak Bank Hotel
#3 of 14 in Grasmere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
The Old Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#10 of 12 in Ambleside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#1 of 2 in Elterwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elterwater Hostel
Elterwater Hostel
#1 of 1 in Elterwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Robinson's Place Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Robinson's Place Farm

Property: Robinson's Place Farm
Address: Great Langdale, Ambleside LA22 9JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ambleside
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 103 B&Bs / Inns in Ambleside
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Robinson's Place Farm Ambleside, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing